We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (319)
Filter reviews
319 results
Traveller rating
118
105
52
29
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
105
52
29
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lounge bar four poster bed dining room st magnus cathedral great bar central location comfortable bed bit dated business trip traditional hotel friendly hotel large room local produce stayed here for nights high standard meal orkney
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 319 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We arrived in Kirkwall mid-afternoon and had booked the Orkney Hotel as it was central to Kirkwall, not the cheapest but neither the most expensive.

The reception staff seemed to know little of the checking in system nor procedure but we eventually got to our room, it was tired and cold, so were we, we switched on the wall heater and went out, we ate elsewhere just to see a little more of Kirkwall. We went to bed after a drink at the bar which had friendly enough staff.

Slept well but with all the moisture sucked out of us by the wall heater... Breakfast was ok, felt like it had been sat a while, again pleasant young staff and radio 2 irritating my ears whilst we ate..

Checkout was a bit of a farce with different staff who appeared to know as much as those that checked us in..

Overall, it was overpriced for a tired looking hotel, we'll not be rushing back...

Room tip: See what else is on offer since its not great value for what it is..
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heymrdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

As part of our trip to the Northern Isles, we booked into The Orkney Hotel for one night having got the ferry from Lerwick to Kirkwall. The ferry arrives at Kirkwall at 11pm and was a little late on this occasion due to bad weather(which made for an interesting feww hours on the ferry!!) However, late check-in was not a problem and they were waiting for us on arrival. Breakfast in the morning was very good and that was about as much as we saw of the Hotel as it was fully booked for the next few nights.
The room was excellent and we would've liked to have stayed for longer.
Kirkwall itself was busy as a very large cruise liner was in town, so loads of tourists around, although the local shops obviously welcomed this influx of trade.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andymac_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

Would like to give more than a four but am afraid I can't. Discovered this bar well into our holidays and really liked it. The food in the bar is very good quality pub food and we enjoyed both meals there. But the meals are why we can't give more than 4. First night we lost track of the time before we realised that we had been waiting over 45 mins for our meal, a wee wait after asking we were told that our meal had been given to someone else and been eaten !! The bar man offered us the meal for free if we were prepared to wait which we did and enjoyed the meal although it was now to late for dessert. We devided to give The Orkney a try for a second night and again everything was good although it was a streach to describe the clouttie dumpling as such, I have 57 years experience eating clouttie, and it had been in the micro a but too long. This is a lovley, very comfortable bar in the centre of Kirkwall, wee bit difficult to find maybe but a must if you visit. Also as a malt whisky drinker this bar is heaven around 600 whiskys ranging from £2 a nip to nearly £200 a nip. Will head for this bar first next time in Kirkwall.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

We booked a table for 4 and had an excellent meal. The menu choice was very good - mostly local produce. Could not fault the meal. Even though the restaurant was busy we still had good service and didnt have a long wait for our meal.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobf222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

Lovely place to stay. Bit dates but clean and comfortable. All staff were really friendly. Very central for staying in Mainland. Fantastic Gin and whiskey menu. 700 whiskies and over 100 gins. Choice of local wine and gin.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Daphne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews