We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveller rating
117
105
52
29
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
105
52
29
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lounge bar sky sports shopping street four poster bed dining room st magnus cathedral great bar comfortable bed central location no elevator bit dated business trip traditional hotel large room local produce stayed here for one night high standard
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 318 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2017

Myself and my partner booked a meal ,upon arrival we ordered our drink and were told by the loud waitress that she would go for it when she had enough orders in, got our starters ok bot waited 45 mins for the main course, turned out the loud one had not given the kitchen our mains order, the other waitresss was very pleasant and professional and sorted the mess out, the food was very good and I would go here again just get shot of the loud usless waitress job sorted.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thorr978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2017

Lovely Christmas Meal in the restaurant tonight. Very enjoyable. Loved the chocolate trifle. Mmm Our group numbered 15 and we are delighted. The hotel is looking very festive and welcoming which is a bonus too.

Stayed: December 2017
1  Thank kenneth351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017 via mobile

The hotel public rooms are fairly nice and the bar area is well presented. Receptionist was really friendly and helpful and went out of her way to give directions to a local eatery after their own restaurant had ceased serving. Bar staff was a little dour and gave me a slight lecture for trying to order a large glass of red wine! Apparently this was not acceptable, and only 175ml glasses are served!!
Breakfast was disappointing and having ordered poached eggs on white toast I waited nearly twenty minutes before being presented with two white ‘rocks’ on dry unbuttered brown toast! Rooms ok but small, especially the bathroom and the shower was cramped. Overall nothing special, and the only highlight was the helpful receptionist.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank wns_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

We arrived in Kirkwall mid-afternoon and had booked the Orkney Hotel as it was central to Kirkwall, not the cheapest but neither the most expensive.

The reception staff seemed to know little of the checking in system nor procedure but we eventually got to our room, it was tired and cold, so were we, we switched on the wall heater and went out, we ate elsewhere just to see a little more of Kirkwall. We went to bed after a drink at the bar which had friendly enough staff.

Slept well but with all the moisture sucked out of us by the wall heater... Breakfast was ok, felt like it had been sat a while, again pleasant young staff and radio 2 irritating my ears whilst we ate..

Checkout was a bit of a farce with different staff who appeared to know as much as those that checked us in..

Overall, it was overpriced for a tired looking hotel, we'll not be rushing back...

Room Tip: See what else is on offer since its not great value for what it is..
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heymrdj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

As part of our trip to the Northern Isles, we booked into The Orkney Hotel for one night having got the ferry from Lerwick to Kirkwall. The ferry arrives at Kirkwall at 11pm and was a little late on this occasion due to bad weather(which made for an interesting feww hours on the ferry!!) However, late check-in was not a problem and they were waiting for us on arrival. Breakfast in the morning was very good and that was about as much as we saw of the Hotel as it was fully booked for the next few nights.
The room was excellent and we would've liked to have stayed for longer.
Kirkwall itself was busy as a very large cruise liner was in town, so loads of tourists around, although the local shops obviously welcomed this influx of trade.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andymac_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews