We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$113
FindHotelUS$113
EtripUS$113
Agoda.comUS$102
StayForLong
Snaptravel
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
47
9
8
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
47
9
8
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beer garden scallops friendly and welcoming staff red onion nespresso coffee machine weekend break the general manager fabulous food pie off street parking this lovely hotel good size breakfast menu fresh milk cooked to perfection second visit first class
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2021 via mobile

Great wee hotel. Staff are friendly and welcoming, rooms are comfortable and clean. The food is outstanding. The duck starter and venison main was 'November on a plate'! Steak on the 2nd night was one of the best I've ever had. Majority of the food items are locally sourced; menu reflects this and is changed daily to suit local sourcing. The amount of walk in trade for tables, given time of year and week we stayed, indicates that the hotel is building a reputation for excellent food. Breakfast was excellent and set us up for the day.

Whilst the staff were very friendly and helpful, they could do with a little more training in catering/waiting skills. Not a big criticism but inexperience amongst some was noticeable.

Rooms, snug and bar have been recently refurbished to a very good standard. I assume that this is ongoing work as the restaurant area was clean and tidy but very old school Scottish traditional. Hallways, reception and exterior was a little bit tired and needs refurbishment. Car park area/entrance to it needs resurfacing.

Overall, would highly recommend staying at the Garth Hotel as the food and accommodation was excellent, providing an excellent base for a visit to the Spey area. If the refurbishment is continued and completed over the next few months, then this will be a regular visit by us for short breaks. Well done to the management and staff at the Garth Hotel.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank KeithM65
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 November 2021 via mobile

I arrived late having not had dinner, both Peter the General Manager and Jason the head chef were both still around and couldn’t do enough to make sure I was catered for. These guys are truly going above for their guests. Highly recommend this hotel snd food is out of this world. Next time I’ll be bringing the family. Keep up the amazing work guys.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Traveler1985kouz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 November 2021

Lovely place with a real authentic feel. Tastefully designed and decorated. Warm atmosphere. Nice menu. Food quality and presentation excellent. So far so good. The waitresses are plentiful, willing and friendly. However, they really would benefit from having some proper restaurant training. Setting a table and then spraying and wiping it is not the right way to do things. 5 waitresses asking you if everything is OK and having to say.Can we have salt please ? Where is our wine please ? The salt cellar you gave us is empty can we have another ? My water glass is dirty - please can I have another ? Setting tables is a professional art - it is not a haphazard attempt to put random things on a table that may or may not be clean and or empty or....cleaning comes first too. You don't clean around things....Such a shame it really affected a great kitchen and what should have been a lovely experience.

Date of stay: November 2021
Thank TrekkingWhiteTiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 November 2021 via mobile

We recently celebrated a 40th Birthday Party here and it was brilliant! I contacted reception prior to our booking to drop of some decorations that Ann kindly sorted and organised without any bother. We ate in the restaurant and had the pleasure of being served by Harriet which was an absolute star who was very attentive and we enjoyed her sense of humour keeping us laughing all night. The food was the highlight of the evening with every dish cooked and presented to a very high standard, best scallops and salmon I have eaten to date, everyone else in our party could not fault the food and there were a few treats throughout the night from Team Garth. The manager Pete came over later to introduce himself and to make sure that we were looked after well (and with a wee gift) which I thought was a nice touch. I can not recommend this Hotel highly enough, this is definitely our go to place for drinks and food as we live locally and we can not wait to celebrate more occasions with you. Thank you for an unforgettable night, keep up the good work and we will most definitely be back!!!

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank mariaanpita
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter Macnab, General Manager at Garth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2021

Wow! Many thanks for the lovely review Mariaan - we just love hosting special celebrations here at the Garth! It is so nice to hear that Harriet looked after you well, and of course you enjoyed your evening meal. We are very proud of our very talented brigade of Chefs, and we could not agree more that it is nice to have such an offering on our local doorstep. We shall see you soon for more laughs and memories. Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2021 via mobile

Our second visit and won’t be our last.
This little hotel welcomes our dog as much as it welcomes us.
Lovely room, friendly and helpful staff and food to die for. The chefs at breakfast and dinner give you something to look forward to - using local produce.
While the hotel itself does not have any recreational facilities, it’s great as a walking or exploring base.
What’s not to like?

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank scotslassiestirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter Macnab, General Manager at Garth Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2021

Well hello there scotslassie! It is great to hear that you enjoyed your second first as thoroughly as your first! We are very proud of our approach towards our furry little friends, and our reception team love nothing more than welcoming the whole family to the Garth. Many thanks for your kind words towards our staff, the rooms, and of course our food. We are extremely passionate about local, sustainable produce. We are constantly seeking to improve the hotel, and if there are any recreational activities you would like to see present, please do feel free to give me a call at the property to discuss further - without such feedback, it is extremely difficult to move the hotel forward! We hope to welcome you to the Garth again soon, Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews