We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and quiet place on Grantown-on-spey run by the family”
Review of Ravenscourt House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ravenscourt House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2016

Very quite place and good size neat and clean room. Breakfast is made to order and is delicious. Both Cathy and Calum are excellent hosts and looked after us well..Only drawback is it has no lift and if you are staying on higher floors bringing up the luggage is a hassle.

Room Tip: Both Cathy and Calum are pretty good host.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hemu54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

Very spacious bedroom at the front of the hotel with comfy bed and nice bathroom. It is a lovely older building with 2 nice public areas and lovely restaurant for breakfast (which is excellent by the way!)

The owners are very friendly and the service excellent.

Nicely situated a very short stroll to the centre.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RavenscourtHouse, Owner at Ravenscourt House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2016

Hi James

It was great to have you both here and really glad you enjoyed the room and visiting the Open in Inverness. Thank you for your comments about the breakfast and the dining room/conservatory.

Thank you for your lovely review! We would love to see you again if you are ever in the area.

Calum and Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2016

We choose to stay in this small quaint town over the town of Inverness on the advice of friends who had done this circuit before and were very glad to done so. Ravenscourt is a brilliant B&B in the most picturesque part of the town and a one minute walk from the town high street and the Spey river. The hospitality of the couple owner Kathy and Calum was beyond belief. They opened up their kitchens for our group which incidentally had four strict vegetarians out of eight. The rooms though a little dated are clean and reasonably spacious.The only weird part was that the wash basin was in the room instead of the bathroom. The owners are in the process of shifting them to the inside in due course, we were told
Would absolutel love to go back.

Room Tip: First Floor is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AnujFca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RavenscourtHouse, Owner at Ravenscourt House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2016

Thank you for your review, we really enjoyed having you here to stay and meeting you all. We are very happy that you enjoyed staying here. We have now been here a few months and have a plan of works to renovate various aspects of the house. As you mention, we have plans in place to update the rooms and move any wash basins that are in rooms.

We enjoyed spending time with you all and are also glad you enjoyed your meal out.

We would also love to have you back and would extend a warm welcome if you visit Scotland again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2016

We spent three nights at this lovely B and B. Kathy and Calum made us very welcome. The breakfast was amazing, plenty of choice and the hot dishes were really good, I would particularly recommend the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon. Our room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. The B and B is about 5 minutes walk from the town, so very convenient for a meal in the evening without having to drive. Overall, an excellent B and B, would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The superking size bed was fantastically comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhiteSatin99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RavenscourtHouse, Owner at Ravenscourt House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2016

Hi,

Thank you for your great review, we're pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Ravenscourt House and your recommendation of the Smoked Salmon and Scrambled Eggs is very much appreciated :o)

We look forward to welcoming you back when you're next back in the Cairngorms

Warmest regards,

Calum & Kathy Maxwell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2016

A great weekend get away. Calum and Kathy made us very welcome and helped with some great suggestions of places to go and things to see. They house is very well appointed and the bed was excellent. We will be going back for a longer break soon.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReblinMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RavenscourtHouse, Owner at Ravenscourt House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2016

Hi Karen and Nick,

Thank you for the wonderful review. It was a pleasure having you stay and we're glad the trips out were good, hopefully next time we'll get to give you some more ideas of what the Cairngorms can offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.

Warmest regards,

Calum and Kathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grantown-on-Spey
5 km away
Tigh na Sgiath Country House Hotel
0.3 km away
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
Garth Hotel & Restaurant
#5 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
323 reviews
0.7 km away
The Craiglynne Hotel
The Craiglynne Hotel
#7 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 km away
Muckrach Country House Hotel
Muckrach Country House Hotel
#2 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
569 reviews
0.2 km away
Grant Arms Hotel
Grant Arms Hotel
#3 of 9 in Grantown-on-Spey
774 reviews
12.6 km away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenscourt House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenscourt House

Address: Seafield Avenue | Morayshire, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Grantown-on-Spey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range: $149 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ravenscourt House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an 8 room family-run guest house with two lounges, conservatory and honesty bar. Within two minutes of the centre of Grantown-on-Spey and within walking distance of restaurants. Wifi in all rooms. Within close proximity to whisky and castle trails. Ample free parking on site. Good sized comfortable rooms, including a family suite, doubles, triples and twins. Some rooms are available for single occupancy. We will always do our best to make your stay a great one. Calum & Kathy ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Ravenscourt House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravenscourt Hotel Grantown On Spey
Ravenscourt House Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing