We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Engine Inn(Cartmel)
US$103
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grange Hotel(Grange-over-Sands)
US$157
US$152
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cumbria Grand Hotel(Grange-over-Sands)
US$230
US$224
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Bay Villa(Grange-over-Sands)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Corner Beech House(Grange-over-Sands)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Birchleigh Guest House(Grange-over-Sands)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hampsfell House Hotel(Grange-over-Sands)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
64
15
5
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
64
15
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily roomgreat dogbreakfast was excellentbreakfast roomtea and coffee facilitiesquiet locationenjoyable stayattending a weddingsmoked salmonshort staylovely roomsea viewgeraldinegrangepromenadelakesestuary
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2016

This was one of the best stays I've ever had anywhere ever. The personal service was second to none, nothing was too much trouble. We were given a lift to the skydive centre for the skydive we had booked as we were unable to get a taxi. After a surprise proposal and a little too much celebrating we slept in and missed breakfast. This was then offered and served to us way past midday by a very understanding hostess. Can't recommend highly enough. The owners are kind and helpful and accommodating. A++++++

Stayed: March 2016
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
topgordino, Owner at Somerset House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2016

Thank you Claire, best wishes to you both.

Regards,
Geraldine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

Just returned from a weekend break in Grange with friends. We stayed here at Somerset House after spotting it on TripAdvisor.
So glad we decided to pick this homely guesthouse. A lovely welcome from our host Geraldine on arrival. She spent time advising us on places to visit and where to eat out locally, which was very helpful.

Whilst out in the town on our last night we had fancied getting a taxi to a more rural pub but couldn't find a taxi number (although there were plenty on the board back at the guesthouse, we'd just neglected to take note! )
On mentioning this to Geraldine the following morning, she said we should have come back to Somerset House and she'd have given us a lift!
If that isn't going the extra mile I don't know what is!

The rooms were very comfortable indeed. Clean and spacious. Beds very comfy also.
Lovely breakfast in the morning with plenty of choice.

The area is beautiful too. We visited Ulverston and Arnside, both very picturesque, even more so when the sun came out!

I would have no hesitation in recommending this little gem of a place if you're planning a visit to Grange over Sands.
More than certain we shall be returning here to stay in the near future.
Thanks Geraldine for a wonderful stay.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2016

Very comfortable room, in a well established family run B&B.

Excellent breakfast. Would definitely recommend and revisit

The house is about a third of a mile from town centre, and very easy to find,

Try the Royal Oak at Lindale , about 2 miles for an excellent pub meal

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank senrab156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2015

Good location, walking distance to shops and station. Room and bed were clean and comfortable with good shower facilities. Room was warm and generally quiet. Good selection for breakfast and generous servings. Found the hosts very friendly and accommodating. I stayed for a week and would recommend as a good choice when visiting the Lake District and surrounds.

Stayed: November 2015
Thank TuraTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2015

Grange-over-Sands (or Grange-over-Grass to be more accurate) certainly has its charms and this B&B is centrally located in the town. Our room was small and the adjacent shower room a tight fit, but it was well appointed and clean. Pity about the notices around the walls, including one threatening an £80 fine should you smoke in the room. Breakfast was of good quality, in a bright dining room, served in an efficient but friendly manner. Takes dogs, which is a bonus. All in all, a pleasant two-nights’ stay.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
topgordino, Owner at Somerset House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2015

Thank you for the review and we are delighted that you enjoyed Grange. Regarding the notice about smoking, we are a non smoking establishment and whilst many smokers respect this , we have had the odd few who flout it. If you had arrived and I had put you into a room which obviously smelt of smoke, you may not have been happy with this. Also, we advertise ourselves as non smoking and we could be accused of misrepresentation. We also run the risk of not being able to re-let the room even if we had guests arriving to accommodate it,, running the risk of upsetting guests who had pre-booked the room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews