We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bang on!!”

The Huntsman of Brockenhurst Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 62 Restaurants in Brockenhurst
Restaurant details
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Tried this gastro-pub on Wednesday night after a day in Southampton as it was too wet to cycle. We were lucky to get a table as once seated it filled up very quickly. It seems a very popular place for the younger set but we more mature trendy people fitted in fine! We ordered beer roasted chicken for me and my husband beer battered fish and chips as he was famished. Both were really well presented and very tasty. I would have liked a few more carrots in my dish and maybe one floret of green but that's my opinion. You could order extra sides. With one pint of ale and a tonic water we had change out of £35 which for the quality of food, service and a lovely setting we thought it was bang on! Would recommend and would return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Oibee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnMaher, General Manager at The Huntsman of Brockenhurst Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Oibee

Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted you enjoyed our food, service and we appreciate the recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you agan soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (811)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 811 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

With our husbands away we decided to eat Out for supper. Great friendly pub with a lively atmosphere, young staff and great menu choice. We both chose pizza and salad. The pizzas are really tasty think italy rather than one of our chains.
Definite recommendation

Thank EllieRoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnMaher, General Manager at The Huntsman of Brockenhurst Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Ellie

Thank you for the review and the lovely comments about our pizzas, we appreciate your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Food is always lovely and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The huntsman has a lovely garden, perfect for summers evenings

Thank Vikki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnMaher, General Manager at The Huntsman of Brockenhurst Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Vikki

Thank you for your review and the lovely comments, we are awaiting the sun to shine to have our lovely guests in the garden enjoing the surroundings. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Having sat down in the restaurant area, we didn't feel that it was our kind of place. and i don't mean that in any way nasty to the Huntsman, but from outside the period building façade was let down by the interior. and as nice as it was i felt it was a shame to remove the history of the building but there were period features left in amongst the different materials used to appeal to maybe a younger clientele. But my disappointment waned as the food was Fantastic and i would definitely return. the staff were attentive and polite. so please don't take my review the wrong way, very good food and friendly staff, and i am sure décor appeals to so many other customers, please visit and make your own mind up.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kwieca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnMaher, General Manager at The Huntsman of Brockenhurst Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Kwieca

Thank you for your review and of course you are entitled to your opinion so thank you for sharing it with us, we are delighted you enjoyed your food and service and we do hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

This restaurant boded well, funky industrial chic, glowing pizza oven, friendly efficient service, but my rump lamb was extremely chewy and fatty and a paltry amount for £16.95 with a grey tasteless potato terrine. My daughter's aubergine dish was oily and unpleasant, the sausage and mash was passable, but not v tender sausages and our coffees were terrible, my father couldn't drink his and had to rinse his mouth with water! We did complain, but no discount was made on the bill; we didn't feel confident in taking up their offer of a complimentary pudding. On the plus side - friendly waitresses, nice ambience and a good pizza, according to my son.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ge0rgina27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnMaher, General Manager at The Huntsman of Brockenhurst Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review we are sorry you had a poor experience on this occasion, if possible please can you contact me privately on info@thehuntsmanofbrockenhurst.com to discuss further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Huntsman of Brockenhurst Restaurant also viewed

Brockenhurst, New Forest
Brockenhurst, New Forest
 
Brockenhurst, New Forest
 
Brockenhurst, New Forest
Brockenhurst, New Forest
 

Been to The Huntsman of Brockenhurst Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing