We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (699)
Filter reviews
699 results
Traveller rating
301
255
95
30
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
301
255
95
30
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brend hotels across the bridge lovely hotel sunday carvery old bridge deluxe room tarka trail waiting staff breakfast was excellent town centre comfortable bed enjoyable stay stayed for two nights short stay night stay weekend break full english
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 699 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2018

The Sunday Carvery on he 23rd September was excellent, huge choice of vegetables Turkey, Pork and Beef and all the trimmings. Hot and tasty even though we ate after 2 o`clock as the relatives were caught behind a tractor on the motorway and were a little late.
A dirty fork and soft drinks bottle were under the table near my chair and feet which showed a lack of attention to detail, a waiter thrust a dirty table cloth, into arms of a junior and another waiter managed to drop some of the crocks, with a great crash as he was on his way towards the kitchen. Unfortunately, these things let this Hotel down, which was a great pity.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Wallagel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Social Media at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving us a review here on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your carvery lunch and thought we had a great selection of vegetables & meats.
I apologise for the things you encountered whilst you were here, however, I hope this doesn't deter you from wanting to return again in the near future.

Once again thank you for leaving us a review.

Kindest Regards
Becky Inch
Social Media

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018

Stayed here for 4 nights at the end of July, with a Shearings group holiday.
Comfortable room, good food and all the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.
I'd thoroughly recommend it.
Convenient for the town centre and buses to nearby places.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank caroldmeeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Social Media at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving us a 5* review here on Trip Advisor.

I am thrilled to hear you found your room to be comfortable.
I am also pleased to hear you found the staff to be friendly and helpful.

Once again thank you for leaving us a lovely review, and we hope to welcome you back to The Royal Hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Becky Inch
Social Media

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018

The hotel is not bad , the room and the bathroom were very small , beds good but far to much noise caused by the weddingparty and birthdayparty.The hotel is situated at walking distance of the town centre and iT is a pretty town.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marinus932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Social Media at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving us a review here on Trip Advisor.

I apologise that you found your room to be small and that you found it too noisy from a party downstairs. I hope this doesn't deter you from staying with us again.

Kindest Regards
Becky Inch
Social Media

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Beautiful old hotel, great location & staff. One of our rooms (double) was roomy & comfortable; the other (single), just 2 doors down was cramped & stuffy, with gouges in the door jamb and a non-working security lock. When we opened the windows for air, we saw that the exterior sill was crumbling. Fortunately, the staff happily changed the room.

Room tip: Ask to see the room you will be staying in before settling in.
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AnneEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Social Media at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving us a review here on Trip Advisor.
I am pleased to hear you thought the staff were great.
I apologise for the issues you encountered, we are currently undergoing a refurbishment. I am however glad we were able to change your room for you.

Once again thank you for leaving a review. We hope to welcome you back to The Royal Hotel again in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Becky Inch
Social Media

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

We stayed for five nights at The Royal in September. The bed was really comfortable and the staff very good. Our room was on the second floor but there is a lift which we only used for the cases when we arrived and left. Our room was a deluxe double, nicely decorated with sloping ceiling and river view from the side window. We felt it would be a standard room if not for the river view. We would certainly stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2018
1  Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrendHotels, Social Media at The Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for leaving us a lovely 5* review here on Trip Advisor.

I am pleased to hear you found your bed to be comfortable in your room, and also that you found the staff to be very good.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Royal Hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Becky Inch
Social Media

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews