We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Huntly Arms(Aboyne)
US$83
US$81
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Boat Inn(Aboyne)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Struan Hall(Aboyne)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveller rating
292
23
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
292
23
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleisure centreswimming poolbeautiful groundstaster menuafternoon teahealth clubthe cottagesputting greenexcellent foodvery special placethe main hotelvegetable gardenscottish countrysidebefore dinnerpacked lunchsurrounding countrysideother guests
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 318 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We went here for lunch in the conservatory, overlooking the terraced garden. The food is excellent, especially the venison casserole. Minor point is that they could have served, or offered, a few pieces of fudge with the coffees.
The gardens are beautiful. We don’t know how good the hotel facilities are but apparently they have recently won an award. It is well worth the one hour trip from Aberdeen. Reservation is essential.

The place has an interesting history. It was once the country house of Alexander and Lady MacRobert. Alexander started as a cleaner but at the end of his life he owned 8 cotton mills.
The couple had 3 sons. The eldest was a commercial airline pilot who lost his life in a plane crash. The two other sons were RAF pilots. They also died young as they were both shot down during the Second World War. A memorial can be seen in Old Aberdeen, just off the Highstreet.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Godefridus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Douneside, General Manager at Douneside House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear Godefridus,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent visit to Douneside. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We have won several awards recently, one being AA Hotel of the Year, Scotland 2017/2018.

Please contact me directly when you return, so that I can make sure that we have the fudge ready!

Kind regards,
Marcel

Marcel Wassen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018 via mobile

Everything about our stay at Douneside House was perfect. The room was lovely, the grounds beautiful, the food outstanding and the staff friendly and helpful. It made our wedding anniversary really special; we'll definitely be back again.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank tinkerbell49_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Douneside, General Manager at Douneside House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear Tinkerbell49_11

Thank you for choosing Douneside to celebrate your wedding anniversary. It was great to have you with us and I am pleased to read that your stay was just perfect. I can't wait to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,
Marcel

Marcel Wassen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

Stayed here for 2 nights at the weekend. It is the most beautiful hotel, well maintained and although our room was on the small side it was immaculately decorated and dressed. The gardens are stunning as are the views.
Dinner was delicious if a little on the small side for our tastes.
Will definitely return at some point and will be recommending to friends. A real find!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry1258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Douneside, General Manager at Douneside House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Dear Terry1258

Your review is The Best! Thank you very much for it. Of course Douneside is an old building so no rooms are the same please ask us about the different options when you intend to return so that we can run through the different rooms. Word of mouth is so crucial to us, thank you for your recommendation. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Marcel

Marcel Wassen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2018 via mobile

I along with seven friends came here and was totally very impressed with the locality.The house has been very tastefully refurbished to a high standard.
We were warmly welcomed and shown to our table and soon had our "individual " cake stands set in front of us, Wow was the word used!!
We all tucked in to the array of goodies and our waiter when faced with some of our "doric" expressions was rather puzzled! !!
With some translation he came with bags for us to take home what we were unable to eat.
All quite full we all strolled round the beautifully kept gardens and enjoyed the stunning scenery.
A truly wonderful experience for a special occasion.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank CAIRNDAIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Douneside, General Manager at Douneside House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Dear CAIRNDAIE

Wow is the word that I would use too, to describe your recent review! Thank you.

It is great to read that you had a wonderful experience and that (with Doric translation) you were able to take with you what you could not finish!

Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Marcel

Marcel Wassen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018

We stayed at Douneside for the duration of our short first visit to Scotland. Wonderful staff, beautiful grounds, and fantastic dinners. Our quaint cottage had an expansive backyard view that I could see being a huge asset for warm evening BBQs--I believe BBQ equipment is available on request. We had dinner two of the evenings we were there at the hotel's restaurant. Although we had our 11 year old son with us, this would also be a perfect romantic evening. The three-course table d'hôte set menus were innovative and very delicious. My only regret is we did not have time to take advantage of the onsite health-spa until our last evening, which as exceptionally clean and well maintained. We definitely cannot wait to make a second visit to Douneside.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Amelia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Douneside, General Manager at Douneside House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Dear Amelia C,

Thank you so much for your glorious review.

The grounds here are indeed a fantastic asset and you are right, barbeques are available on request. Chef was delighted to read that you enjoyed to the food. Hopefully it will not be too long before we will see you return.

Kind regards,
Marcel

Marcel Wassen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews