We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round”
Review of Windsor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Windsor Hotel
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2017

A very friendly greeting lead to a great stay. We got upgraded to a larger room which is always nice and it was very clean with a pleasant smell on entry. The free drinks of tea, coffee and water were a nice touch and the breakfast provided plenty of options.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Windsor for 4 nights in a superior room with a sea view. It was a great room, very clean and spacious with a double bed, 3 chests of drawers and a wardrobe. I have never seen so many hangers in a hotel wardrobe before, plenty to hang up a good selection of clothes for a week. The en-suite bathroom was one of the nicest I've come across with a huge shower and a large, very useful chest of drawers containing a hair dryer. The towels were changed every other day and were large, soft and fluffy. There was also an iron and ironing board in the bedroom.

The hotel has an excellent position just across from the stony beach. The beach further along is wider and sandy and is only a 5 minute walk away as are numerous good restaurants.

All the hotels in this strip are tall narrow buildings so they have lots of stairs in them, we were 4 flights up which gave us a lovely view but if you find stairs a problem, which some of the guests did, its best to check where your room is before you book.

The breakfast was fine, my only quibble was the sausages which I didn't feel contained any meat! The bacon was of good quality though and the eggs were always well cooked. There was always plenty of toast and cereal on offer as well as yogurts and fresh strawberries. Lovely, friendly helpful hosts helped to make it a great holiday.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

I stayed at the Windsor B&B in Weymouth for four nights in July and I had a thoroughly pleasant stay.
The full English breakfast each morning was a delight and the room was clean and comfortable offering amazing ocean views and all the necessary amenities.
The hotel is central to downtown Weymouth and nearby to many pubs and restaurants.
If you're looking for a B&B in Weymouth definitely consider booking a room at the Windsor.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank DeanK_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

My partner and i visited the Windsor for a short break,and would definately go back again.
The breakfast was great,the hotel very clean,and the room we had was brill,with a lovely sea view. And the husband and wife who ran the place were very friendly,and kind to us both.
The only down side is that parkng is pretty bad. Tony the owner gives you directions to some side roads to park,but they can be pretty full too. And i picked up a parking ticket when i brought my car round to pack my car out to leave.
Parking in Weymouth could be better for such a lovely seaside resort. And this would encourage people to return again and again.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Shaun S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skibumweymouth, Owner at Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2017

Thank you for your review, we do appreciate it. Parking can at times be more problematic and it was a bank holiday weekend so very busy but you did get a space. Traffic wardens have to allow 5 minutes even if parked illegally but if it was only while loading then fight it and they can contact us to confirm it. Good luck, regards Seonaid & Tony, The Windsor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017 via mobile

Just had a one night stay with my partner which we had an amazing time massively influenced from a great stay at The Windsor.

Very welcoming, amazing sea view from our room, the room itself was perfect clean and tidy.

Breakfast choice very good you had the cereals, yoghurts juice etc we went for the full English which was very tasty and not greasy.

Top marks for great service would highly recommend staying at this hotel lovely hosts, great location, great views and it was clean and tidy. Will be staying here again without a doubt.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.5 km away
Best Western Weymouth Hotel Rembrandt
1.1 km away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#15 of 22 in Weymouth
20 reviews
11.9 km away
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
The Ilchester Arms Hotel
#2 of 4 in Abbotsbury
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
501 reviews
3 km away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#20 of 22 in Weymouth
1,117 reviews
0.6 km away
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
#13 of 22 in Weymouth
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel

Address: 22 Brunswick Terrace, Weymouth DT4 7RW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Weymouth
Price Range: $63 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windsor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windsor Hotel is the closest hotel to the beach in the whole of the resort without having to cross a road. Ideally located for all local amenities just 5 minutes stroll along the promenade to town, train and bus terminus. Ideal for families, the young and the young at heart. All we ask is that our guests RELAX and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Weymouth, Dorset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing