We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (391)
Filter reviews
391 results
Traveller rating
64
111
112
46
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
64
111
112
46
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lack of plug sockets sea view pavilion car park rooms are basic single room seaside hotel friendly hotel overlooking the beach one night stay tea and coffee making facilities fantastic location family room lovely breakfast town centre full english short break entertainment
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 391 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

The Fairhaven Hotel is worth more than its 2 star rating.

The hotel has had some refurbishment by way of new carpets in the bedrooms and some redecoration since our previous visit.

The bedrooms are nice and bright and the bathroom and shower was excellent with lots of piping hot water.

The dining room staff are very efficient and the full English breakfast was an excellent start to the day.

The hotel is no more than 100 yards from what must be the be finest sands on the South Coast.

My only criticism is that during our stay the World Cup was on and it was difficult to watch the games on the very small TVs in the room, but that's me being picky.

Try the Fairhaven, you will not be disappointed

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank tosalet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

There are many things about this hotel that deserve a better rating
My friend and i went here as part of a coach party so my expectations were not high as the price paid for 4 nights was low so i cannot comment on individual guests
the place is a maze of rooms we were in room 54 at the back of the hotel up two stair cases and a few more steps at the top( there is a lift) we got lost on a daily basis but had cracked it by day 4, the room its self was basic but clean the bed were comfortable quite soft and the shower worked fine we bought bottled water to fill the kettle and our own tea and coffee as those provided were poor quality, the room faced a brick wall and a fire escape but that did not worry us we had to have the window open as the weather was warm and the seagulls and town clock were noisy hardly the fault of the hotel though
The lounge area is nice with some comfy leather chairs to sit with a drink.
Now to the dining room experience our meal was at 6pm each evening and we as a party were seated in one room there was another coach party seated in another room it was quite regemented but maybe this is the only way to deal with so many people there was a choice of 4 starters ,main dished and desserts i have to say portions were generous and the food was nice but the whole thing felt a little like school
The breakfast had a bit more of a relaxed approach with choice of cereal porridge or fruit juice followed by cooked breakfast all table service no buffet here! 8am to 9.30am
in the evening there was bingo a small book of three pages followed by a singer in a downstairs bar that was rather hot but the weather was very warm the same staff worked the bar as in the dining room and the breakfast
we went out in the evening so i cannot comment on the entertainment but those that went seemed to enjoy it .
so finally the staff worked extremely hard and were very pleasant despite the usual moaners in any party yes the hotel is dated and needs a refurb but whatever we asked for was given (extra pillows and parmasan cheese for my pasta ) with a smile
you get what you pay for in this life and we didnt pay a lot
one last thing the location is absolutely the finest it is directly across from Weymouth beach with donkeys,beach cafe with benches to rest fab!
would i go again ? as part of a party maybe but as a individual my expectations are a little higher
Footnote: there is a very nice self catering apartment for hire that has had a major refurb next to the steps of the hotel which the hotel are happy to tell you about seems ideal for famiies or those with a disability

Room tip: choose a low floor if you have any mobility issues many stairs
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank mollymop50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

In a pinch we needed to book something fast. The room was overpriced for what I can only describe as less than basic. Basic would mean you can at least count on hot water but what we got was a trickle of lukewarm water to shower in. Basic means having decent curtain but the curtains at the fairhaven couldn't even block out the 4am light. Furthermore, the club downstairs was extremely loud and the windows on this place are so ancient that you can hear people's conversations. The rooms are dated and the beds are not comfortable. The place is also like a maze to get through. And to cap it all off, service at breakfast was seriously lacking. The server brought us cold toast that was already hard from sitting, the food was greasy and the couldn't even spring for fresh tomatoes on a Sunday. Nope, we got canned tomatoes warmed uo. Will never go again!

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sambee413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

We had a sea view room which was large. There is a bar/ club underneath playing loud music until midnight. The curtains don't stop the street light or daylight. They only give you soap bars, no shampoo or shower gel. The room cannot be deadlocked. Breakfast is from 8 till 9.30, even at the weekend. There is no wifi. I would find this acceptable for £80 per night but not £117.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hazel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

After hearing some good reviews on the fairhaven hotel me and my partner stayed there for two nights! Managment were unhelpful we requested there be more milk be put in our room after leaving two poxy cartons and they said they had none left...We also witnessed a rude manger belittling one of the customers in full view...It was disgusting and the mangers were unprofessional...Don't stay there there are far more friendlier welcoming hotels in the area...

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Darren E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews