We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Thai food in the lakes”

Jintana Thai Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$17
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Jintana Thai Restaurant is nestled in the centre of Bowness-on-Windermere in the heart of the English Lake District. Open since 2004, the restaurant offers diners a relaxed, friendly environment in which to enjoy our freshly prepared authentic Thai Cuisine. Decorated with imported Thai furniture, artwork and artifacts, our dining area provides the perfect setting to enjoy our wide selection of meat, seafood and vegetarian dishes, each of which is freshly prepared to order by our team of experienced Thai chefs. Jintana Thai Restaurant is perfect for couples, and also for families and large parties, with its cosy and intimate surroundings everyone is welcome. As soon as you step inside, you are greeted with a warm welcome by our staff dressed in traditional Thai costumes.
Reviewed 7 July 2017 via mobile

This restaurant is just up the hill please make sure you walk past the House of Siam and visit this jewel of a restaurant!

The staff were incredibly friendly and were very happy to accommodate requests. The food though really shone through, portions were well sized and we all thought it was the best Thai we'd had in the UK. It's a must visit for us next time!

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Goggins22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

265 - 269 of 1,569 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

The food is simple, almost authentic and tantalising. The menu is sufficiently large for a debate. The restaurant is small but the ambience is great. It's a bit warm in there unless the airconditioner is on, or it's the spices that are playing up. The service is precise and swift. Thai Jungle Curry and Goong Pao prawns are highly recommended. Cost for a couple approx £30.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank msunando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

Fancied a change so chose this restaurant.

There is a good menu with plenty of choice ad good value.
The food was tasty and well cooked.
Staff were friendly and helpful.

We enjoyed it so much went back again.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

We wanted to have Thai food and based on the reviews, expected it to be good. The restaurant had a very odd atmosphere and the staff appeared to not really want to be there. One waiter was surprised that I liked my main dish! The food was OK, but based on our experience, I would have preferred to try the other Thai restaurant.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

We are in Lake District for the second time and this time we wanted to try something different so we went to this Thai restaurant. The atmosphere was great with good interior design, but the service was terrible, from staff and I guess the manager. She seems to be in a rush and wasn't very polite.
At one time she tries to open a bottle of champagne and the cork shot up the roof and bounced off, almost hit us in the head.
We ordered a few different things including a chicken curry and chicken satay, like other comments the chicken was completely dried out. The platter was very salty also.
The overall experience was not good, we expected more from them as they have 3 restaurants within the Lake District area.
Not recommended at all

Date of visit: June 2017
1  Thank acjm2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jintana Thai Restaurant also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to Jintana Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing