We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stags Head
Nearby Hotels
The Burn How Garden House Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$153
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$268
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Ryebeck(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$171
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$146
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$213
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Linthwaite House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$238
US$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Windermere Hydro Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$143
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$258
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cranleigh Boutique(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$156
US$151
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (379)
Filter reviews
379 results
Traveller rating
73
109
74
44
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
109
74
44
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfriendly pubpay and displayfull englishfamily roomtea and coffee facilitiescouple of nightsfour poster bedmacdonald hotelweekend breakthe location is perfectsuitelake
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 379 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2018 via mobile

Visited this pub on mon 19/2/18 with my wife daughter and her boyfriend after a boat trip on the lake we thought we might be a little bit late for lunch but the manageress asked the chef and he said no problem .we ordered 2 scampi 1 cheeseburger 1steak and ale pie ,we were not disappointed the food was absolutely brilliant the manageress very hands out on served our food very quickly would def. recommend this pub give it a go marks out of 10 10/10

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank jonfitjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

Booked this hotel as a group of four friends wanting a base for a day / night out in the Lakes. The rooms are functional nothing special but certainly fine for a night or two. The bar downstairs is good and the “club” in the basement was hilarious- very old school. I am 41 and it was fine yes lots of youths but some older people too. Ideal base for enjoying time out in bars locally maybe pick elsewhere for quiet romantic getaway. Breakfast was superb.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Stephaniedawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

Not luxury by any means. Hotel rooms basic and a bit dated, clean. Our room backed onto the back of the hotel which was very noisy with some ventilation unit. There were tea and coffee facilities and the bed was comfortable.
Cleaning and breakfast staff very friendly making a good impression on the hotel as a whole. Good cooked breakfast.

Some staff drank at the end of the bar after their shifts, getting drunk and hogging the open fire! Wouldn’t usually bother me but when you check in to a hotel in Lake District you want an open fire after a cold walk. We could get close due to the staff not clients !

Friday night was live entertainment which was very good.
The nightclub is horrid don’t enter unless you are under 25! Bar staff rude, Dj rude, bouncer friendly ! That’s a first.

I liked this place and didn’t like it all at the same time. The location is perfect, breakfast and cleaning staff made the place. I thought it expensive for what it was.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank cobby81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2018

We booked here for a friends birthday party at the next door restaurant, booked for convenience more than anything else. We were a little nervous having read the recent reviews but went with an open mind, very glad we did. we had a nice warm welcome when we arrived and booked in slightly early, room was of a good size, clean, comfortable bed and nice modern bathroom. we had lunch on arrival, basic pub menu good sized portions, well cooked. breakfast in the morning much the same, nice full english with good quality ingredients. all the staff were friendly and helpful.
The website warned of noise from the pub and on site night club but while we were aware of it it didn't really bother us. The gin might have had something to do with that though lol .
we paid 15 pound to park on the near by pay and display, which seemed a bit steep until friends staying in the MacDonald hotel next door ( for a much higher rate) told us their onsite parking had cost 20 pound !!
All in all a pleasant stay we had every thing we needed, and would choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: higher floors have less noise from the pub, but there is no lift
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

We got to Windermere Wednesday 10th I booked a room at this pub a couple of nights , normally good at researching but not this time , it was a big birthday so just wanted to escape for a few days .. well I think I would rather stayed at home 70s wood chip wallpaper no sleep for 2 nights from the piss heads shouting outside the pub at each other and it stays open till 1am.
The rooms look nothing like the pictures it was clean but very basic , on the plus it was a stones throw from the lake the only other plus point I would have said the breakfast apart from this morning most of mine was burnt ... so unwary traveller unless you want a George and Mildred type room DO NOT BOOK IT !!!!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank jancarroll68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews