We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$77/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Rocks(Dunbar)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (370)
Filter reviews
370 results
Traveller rating
266
77
19
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
266
77
19
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuperior roombeef medallionsparty nightcomfortable bedcooked to perfectionwould highly recommend this hotelone night stayexcellent hotelsmall barfamily run hotelcompliments to the chefon arrivalmain courseeggs benedictcourse dinnertown centrebreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
219 - 224 of 370 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2015 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in this hotel recently for my birthday weekend. Its situated in the lovely coastal village of Dunbar, 30 mins from Edinburgh, which suited us perfectly! Away from the hustle and bustle of the city, perfect for a quiet, relaxing, 'kid-free' night.
The hotel itself is clean and inviting. The staff were polite and helpful. The room was small but apt. We had made dinner reservations for that night. Unfortunately, the restaurant let this place down. Although the food was very tasty and beautifully presented,the restaurant was small, compacted and very noisey! My husband and I were glad to head back to our room for peace and quiet! Unfortunately, this experience would put us off returning to what otherwise, is a lovely hotel.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank LibbyG0212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip M, Owner at Dunmuir Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2015

Dear LibbyG0212,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the hotel and we were very pleased to read that you found the hotel to be clean and inviting and thank you also praising the staff.

I was however very concerned to read your comments that you were disappointed with the 1902 Grill Restaurant - the room itself.

We are a small family hotel and the building itself restricted the size of the grill when we refurbished and re-opened the hotel last year. I would agree it is not a large area with only 30 covers and is designed to have a modern and contemporary feel which has won much praise as I am sure you will have read.

On a busy night the grill can be buzzing and yes can be loud with the atmosphere of happy diners enjoying their evening and I am sorry it was not to your taste. On a positive note I was delighted to read you enjoyed the cuisine and the presentation of the food.

I am so sorry that because we were busy and it would seem we had particularly noisy night, that this will put you off staying again.

Thank you again

Sincerely

Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile

Got this as a voucher deal. Was great value for money. Staff in the family run hotel were very friendly, room was nicely decorated and very clean.we enjoyed a delicious dinner and breakfast certainly didn't disappoint.

The little town and harbour are only a short distance away if you fancy a walk

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank Glasgow_travel_bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip M, Owner at Dunmuir Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2015

Dear Glasgow_travel_bug

Thank you so much for your amazing review of the hotel. Your kind comments about the your bedroom are very much appreciated.

We were also delighted to read your comments about dinner and breakfast and that we did not disappoint.

I am also pleased that you managed to explore our wonderful wee town and found the harbour - Dunbar and the surrounding area has so much to offer and hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2015

Room was lovely comfortable and warm, service was excellent in the dining room and bar, food was delicious and beautifully served. The night porter "Kevin" was so kind and helpful, and was there with a smile serving breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip M, Owner at Dunmuir Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2016

Dear Joyce,

Thank you so much for you great 5* review. It was a pleasure to welcome you to the Dumuir and we were delight to read that you had an excellent stay with us.

Thank you also for highlighting the service from our team members and for singling out Kevin our Night Porter for your praise - he was absolutely delighted to read your review and as with all our team members as they take a keen interest in our guest feedback Kevin could not wait to show the review to us and the rest of the team.

I do hope we can welcome you back soon

Kind regards

Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2015

We stayed here with friends, 10 out of 10 across the board rooms were cosy and clean to a high standard ,food was to die for absolutely FIRST class . The staff were very friendly and helpful, and big THANK YOU to the night security ( Kevin ) he is brings a lot to the hotel very friendly very helpful and very easy to talk to ,overall an all round guy .we will be back. Mr & Mrs Downie

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip M, Owner at Dunmuir Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2016

Dear Michael D,

Thank you so much for your amazing review of your stay. We were delighted to read your comments and thank you for singling out Kevin our Night Porter - he is a superstar and such an ambassador for the hotel.

I do hope we can welcome you back soon

Kind regards

Philop

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2015

My husband and I stayed one night for dinner, bed and breakfast and we weren't disappointed. Room was lovely, cleaned to a high standard with good selection of toiletries. Staff so friendly and helpful - and the food? Exceptional! Great choice with wonderful flavours and many of the ingredients locally sourced. Fantastic! Would highly recommend this hotel and we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mentalmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip M, Owner at Dunmuir Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2016

Thank you so much for your lovely 5 star review and I do hope we can welcome you back soon

Kind regards

Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews