We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$83/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Rocks(Dunbar)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Folly(North Berwick)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (369)
Filter reviews
370 results
Traveller rating
266
77
19
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
266
77
19
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuperior roombeef medallionsparty nightcomfortable bedcooked to perfectionwould highly recommend this hotelone night stayexcellent hotelsmall barfamily run hotelcompliments to the chefon arrivalmain courseeggs benedictcourse dinnertown centrebreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 370 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2018

I stayed just the one night, out of season and it was very pleasant. My room was lovely, the Scottish breakfast was excellent, the staff were polite and helpful and it's a few minutes walk from the sea.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank tiddlypiddly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip M, Owner at Dunmuir Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2018

Dear tiddlypiddly,

Thank you so much for writing your lovely review of your nights stay with us, We delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018

The staff were so friendly and nothing was too much trouble, and although my room was compact but homely. The food was amazing I have to say i would definitely stay here again.the hotel is located near to the sea which can be easily accessed for evening walks and also not far from Main Street.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank traceyrhodes20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip M, Owner at Dunmuir Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Dear Tracey....

Thank you so much for taking the time to place your review and pleased to read your enjoyed your stay with. I was delighted to read your feedback about the food and that you felt it was amazing - I know that Paul and his team in the kitchen we be very please to hear this and I will share your feedback with them.

I noticed you had booked on of our compact rooms - maybe next time we can tempt you to a large superior or even deluxe room on your next stay

Hope to see you again very soon

Kind regards

Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018 via mobile

Only stayed one night but found the staff very friendly and attentive.
The room was very clean and had a hair drier, iron and ironing board.
Particularly liked the shortbread with the tea and coffee.
We did not eat in the restaurant, hence the 4 stars.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank Wayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip M, Owner at Dunmuir Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2018

Dear Wayne...

Thank you so much for your great review and we pleased to read that you enjoyed your - maybe next time we can tempt you to eat on our Award Winning restaurant and get that "5" star!

Hope to welcome you back soon

Kind regards

Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018

Not 5 stars because of a helipad, golf course and Michelin starred restaurant but because it aims to be a small family run hotel with good rooms and restaurant, which it does well. The proprietor, Philip, seems to be always on hand and is helpful. We were welcomed and taken to our room on the second floor, which was spacious, had a view of the sea over the neighbouring houses and had everything we needed. There is a small bar also frequented by locals, which was cosy and informal. The restaurant punches above its weight, always a good sign in a small hotel. The chef, Paul is said to have infused the menu with Spanish influence. The cooking was excellent with plenty of choice, well presented and prices reasonable. Starters included pheasant terrine, prawn and crayfish tian; mains include their signature dish of beef medallions, also lamb shank, not to overwhelming, a fish of the day option and lobster when available. Haggis in various forms including in batter but not too heavy. Six wines by the glass and a fair wine list of 29 bottles from £15.50 to £35 and Piper Heidsieck NV for £49.
All in all a great stopover for the weary traveller.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ArthurDagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip M, Owner at Dunmuir Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Dear Arthur

Thank you so much for your amazing feedback and comments. We are absolutely overwhelmed by your feedback and really appreciate you taking the time to place your amazing review

I do hope we can welcome you back soon

Kind regards

Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

Lovely hotel, nice staff, fantastic breakfast and a REALLY comfortable room, we both had an amazing night’s sleep. The shower caused Me some confusion and references reflection I was probably wrong to let of verbal steam. Sorry folks maybe I was a bit hasty. The breakfast was brilliant, pleasant room, relaxing atmosphere. There was a nice touch with the jugs for fruit juice. Again really comfortable night’s sleep. The bar had a great selection of malts and other things. Nothing was too much trouble. If we have reason to stay the night in Dunbar again we’ll be staying here for sure.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ben T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip M, Owner at Dunmuir Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Dear Ben....

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your amazing review and I really do appreciate your comments especially those about your shower - I know that Bekki who you spoke to will be pleased to read your feedback and we were delighted to read that you had a comfortable night and that you both enjoyed your stay.

I do hope when your next in the area we can welcome you back

Kind regards

Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews