We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Brunswick Hotel(Shanklin)
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$126/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Aqua Hotel(Shanklin)
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$75
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Braemar Hotel Shanklin(Shanklin)(Great Value!)
US$72
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
US$70
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$102/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Clifton(Shanklin)
US$158
US$124
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Avenue(Shanklin)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (336)
Filter reviews
336 results
Traveller rating
301
23
3
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
301
23
3
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschristine keithmini fridgeisle of wightlittle extrassewing kiteverything you could possibly needexcellent hostslovely guesthouseother guestssea frontold villageevening mealfriendly atmospherewarm welcomeplenty of choicequiet locationbreakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 336 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Lovely guest house, the rooms are spacious, very clean and airy with little extras in the rooms and a very comfy bed which I had trouble with getting up in the mornings ! Keith and Christine made us very welcome, going that extra mile with a balloon table with decorations and chocolates for Lorraine's Birthday at breakfast which was a nice surprise for her. The breakfasts were amazing and with plenty of choice to set us up for the day out on the superb beach or to explore this lovely island. The Swiss Cottage Hotel is very central to Shanklin beach and the very quaint little shops and plentiful restaurants Thank you Keith and Christine for a wonderful 8 days and hope to see you again soon.

Room Tip: Rooms are all excellent and the location is quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Hi Lorraine, Sylvia & Eddie
So glad you had a wonderful time for Lorraine's Birthday and yopur stay in general.
Love to see you again when ypou over in the future.
Happy Xmas
Keith & Chris
xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

the B&B was brilliant very clean rooms breakfasts amazing we celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary there they made it very special for us balloon table decorations and an arch. we will recommend. The little extras in the rooms were welcomed like a fridge in the room with complimentary drinks. The hosts Keith & Christine were amazing very helpful nothing was too much trouble. If we were to go back to isle of Wight we would return there. Excellent time.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Hi Sharon & Robert
Thanks for a lovely time to celebrate your 40th Wedding Anniversary with us.
Hopefully next time you will book direct with us instead of going thro a booking site where we lose 15% commission but hey ho!
Happy Holidays
Keith & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

me & my family spent for 4 days at this lovely guest house,the rooms were lovely clean,christine & keith are friendly,great food,great host,we will come back to the isle of wight,we will stay at swiss cottage,because it great guest house,we didn't want to go home,we wanted to stay at swiss cottage.

Room Tip: rooms were really clean,we stayed at the front of the property,with the sunrise,it was really quite as well,we like it that way,
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizzie782013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Thanks Birdies and glad you enjoyed your short stay with us!
Look forward to your next visit
Kind Regards
Keith & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

We had yet another wonderful stay with Keith and Christine at The Swiss Cottage, Shanklin. This hotel is just so great and Keith and Christine once again went above and beyond. Great rooms, great food, great hosts... cant wait to come back again! Thank you!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank TheJeevesys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Thanks for your great little review!
We do hope Martin gets better soon after damaging his leg!
Hope it didn't ruin the holiday too much for you all?
Glad you got home safely!
Luv Keith & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

Christine and Keith turned out to be the most perfect hosts. Nothing was too much trouble with any request being cheerfully met wherever possible. The hotel beautifully maintained being clean and comfortable. The food was excellent with any request being met without problems. Anyone who gets up at 5.00 am to go to the supermarket deserves our praise and thanks. Well done Christine and I hope your brother has managed to create some lovely paintings of Steephill Cove. Thanks for the tip about the crab lunches.Hope the bowls is going well Keith.

Room Tip: Take advice from Leith or Christine as they will give you honest impartial advice
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank donnyboy2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

To John & Maureen
Thanks for a lovely time and glad you enjoyed Steep Hill Cove and the Crab Lunch!
We always aim to please
Kind Regards
Keith & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews