We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 13th visit”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shanklin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Swiss Cottage Shanklin
Ranked #9 of 51 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 18 September 2017

I have just returned from my 13th stay at Swiss Cottage and, as always, it was great.
Keith and Christine are first class hosts and you always feel welcome. I have also found on my visits that it seems to attract nice people who get on well together in my experience.
The rooms are spotless, the food is excellent.
I shall be returning next year.

Room Tip: All rooms are good in my experience and I have stayed in nearly all of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alanwS5605NQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Cant Keep Away Can You!
Cheers Alan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017

Lovely guest house, the rooms are spacious, very clean and airy with little extras in the rooms and a very comfy bed which I had trouble with getting up in the mornings ! Keith and Christine made us very welcome, going that extra mile with a balloon table with decorations and chocolates for Lorraine's Birthday at breakfast which was a nice surprise for her. The breakfasts were amazing and with plenty of choice to set us up for the day out on the superb beach or to explore this lovely island. The Swiss Cottage Hotel is very central to Shanklin beach and the very quaint little shops and plentiful restaurants Thank you Keith and Christine for a wonderful 8 days and hope to see you again soon.

Room Tip: Rooms are all excellent and the location is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Hi Lorraine, Sylvia & Eddie
So glad you had a wonderful time for Lorraine's Birthday and yopur stay in general.
Love to see you again when ypou over in the future.
Happy Xmas
Keith & Chris
xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

the B&B was brilliant very clean rooms breakfasts amazing we celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary there they made it very special for us balloon table decorations and an arch. we will recommend. The little extras in the rooms were welcomed like a fridge in the room with complimentary drinks. The hosts Keith & Christine were amazing very helpful nothing was too much trouble. If we were to go back to isle of Wight we would return there. Excellent time.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Hi Sharon & Robert
Thanks for a lovely time to celebrate your 40th Wedding Anniversary with us.
Hopefully next time you will book direct with us instead of going thro a booking site where we lose 15% commission but hey ho!
Happy Holidays
Keith & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

me & my family spent for 4 days at this lovely guest house,the rooms were lovely clean,christine & keith are friendly,great food,great host,we will come back to the isle of wight,we will stay at swiss cottage,because it great guest house,we didn't want to go home,we wanted to stay at swiss cottage.

Room Tip: rooms were really clean,we stayed at the front of the property,with the sunrise,it was really quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizzie782013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Thanks Birdies and glad you enjoyed your short stay with us!
Look forward to your next visit
Kind Regards
Keith & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

We had yet another wonderful stay with Keith and Christine at The Swiss Cottage, Shanklin. This hotel is just so great and Keith and Christine once again went above and beyond. Great rooms, great food, great hosts... cant wait to come back again! Thank you!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank TheJeevesys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Thanks for your great little review!
We do hope Martin gets better soon after damaging his leg!
Hope it didn't ruin the holiday too much for you all?
Glad you got home safely!
Luv Keith & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
0.8 km away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
877 reviews
4.8 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
945 reviews
0.7 km away
Rowborough Hotel
Rowborough Hotel
#1 of 51 in Shanklin
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel
#7 of 51 in Shanklin
344 reviews
0.4 km away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#4 of 51 in Shanklin
494 reviews
17.1 km away
North House
North House
#1 of 5 in Cowes
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swiss Cottage Shanklin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swiss Cottage Shanklin

Address: 10 St. Georges Road, Shanklin PO37 6BA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Shanklin
#1 Best Value Hotel in Shanklin
#4 Luxury Hotel in Shanklin
#6 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin
#10 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Price Range: $46 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swiss Cottage Shanklin 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello There, We are now filling up fast so hurry up and contact us as we are 70% full for our 2017 Season already! The Swiss Cottage is the Pride of Shanklin and has been consistently voted in the Top Five with 96% or 5/5 Satisfaction for being one of the best in the Hotel category for Shanklin & the whole of the Isle of Wight. We have now won three Trip Advisor Travelers Choice Awards in 2011/12 & 2013/14 and 2016/17 aswell as Certificates of Excellence in the past 6 years running since 2012 to 2017. We have also been awarded a much sought after Green Leaders Gold Level Award in 2014, 2016 & again in 2017 for being Environmentally Friendly re our Towel, Linen, Lighting & Recycling procedures, so we would like to Thank all those who have abided by our simple guidelines to help us achieve this Award. In October 2014 we were voted the Best B&B/Guest Accommodation on the Island and were also placed in 4th Place as Highly Commended in the prestigious Tourism's The Beautiful South Awards. So why not check us out and read what everyone is saying about us! We are continually updating and keep the place clean and modern by putting in new comfy seating on the decking area, touching up the rooms and improving the place even more for your comfort. Although it only has 8 en suite bedrooms, our guest accommodation has that personal touch that many of the larger Hotels doesn't provide and is run by Keith & Christine the Owners. Whether it is B & B or Half Board we have tried to cater for everyone's needs whether single, double, friends or families, (sorry NO Children under 10 years of age or babies/infants and no animals as we have pets of our own), a safe environment for females and groups, in our comfortable modern bedrooms and bathrooms that we have converted in this old 1866 family home. (Unfortunately we do charge a Single Supplement in our School Summer Holidays and also slightly higher rates over our popular Bank Holidays & Festival Weekends). We have tried to think of everything for you, from Flat screen TVs, DVD, CD Players, Sky, Free WI-FI, fans, mini fridges and much more to make your stay a pleasurable one! We also arrange discounted Car Ferry crossing for you with Red Funnel or Wightlink. Unfortunately due to our continuing popularity, we no longer take one/two nighters as minimum stay is 3 nights as we now specialize in short breaks of 3/4 nights and a weeks holiday to ensure you see as much as the Island as you can. All of the above has transformed this property into a 4 Star plus with a coveted Silver Award for Service, Cleanliness and Hospitality and also a much sought after Breakfast Award for our full and varied Breakfast. We know and are realistic that after reading all our wonderful reviews, there are always some people out there who will come to try shoot us down, nick pick everything and will try our patience, leave rooms in a state, go against our guidelines and generally be unruly, so if you are one of them we ask that you go elsewhere as we only happy to accept friendly respectful guests here, who want to enjoy themselves with us. We may meet as strangers but all our guests leave as friends. A Home from Home but don't forget to bring your slippers! Kind Regards Keith & Christine ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Swiss Cottage Shanklin Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing