We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
No24 Ventnor(Ventnor)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$244
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St Maur(Ventnor)
US$126
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$219
US$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Leconfield(Bonchurch)
US$118
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Koala Cottage(Ventnor)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (376)
Filter reviews
376 results
Traveller rating
238
86
31
18
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
238
86
31
18
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsespresso machinesea viewwell stocked mini barboutique hotelin seasonstudio suitetop floorhighly recommend this hotelromantic weekendwalk in wardrobefront of housegood sizeoff the menuhead cheffabulous viewscomfy bedporridge
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 376 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

Nice location and views. Paid for a bathroom view and just had nice tiles! No designated parking! Room was dusty and the invertible mirror had ‘clean me’ drawn onto the opposing side which had been missed!! Restaurant was nice....service slow though and minuscule portions !! £28 for a tiny tiny main!!! Local area was nice though. To be fair hotel was a nice place but when accomodation for 2 and food comes to over £600 for 2 nights questions need to be asked.....make your own decisions! Staff friendly btw.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

We stayed at the Hambrough over the New Years break, having booked a luxury room facing the seafront. The room was generous and nicely furnished, however the bathroom was let down by not having a shower attachment to enable me to wash my hair! Unless I showered - no way possible to get my locks sorted!
The highly rated breakfast was a disappointment. The bacon was over cooked and tough on both days. Asking to have the grilled tomato replaced with baked beans - not possible! Mind you on day 2 it was... 1 egg, 1 grilled tomato, 1 slice of black pudding, a tablespoon of mushrooms and 2 rashers of bacon - that was it. Not impressed!
We hoped to have a bite to eat as a late lunch from the bar menu - there was none.
I must admit - I was disappointed in what initially looked a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SueHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017

This was our second time staying here (last time was three years ago) and it was just as good as we remembered. Four nights. We treated ourselves to a studio suite (room 1) last time, and did the same this time (room 2 - ringing the changes; even better room layout and bathroom). The balcony view out over the harbour is stunning, room clean and excellent decor, free water bottles appreciated plus Nespresso machine. The only negative element about the room is that you can hear the creak of floorboards above when someone upstairs is moving around; especially noticeable on a morning! The breakfasts here are exceptional in quality, and with great variety, too, amongst the cooked offering (e.g. kippers and poached egg, smoked salmon and scrambled egg, porridge, boiled eggs and soldiers...) alongside the usual fry-up. An excellent cold table of pastries, granola, yoghurt, juice (fabulous juice), etc - everything so fantastically fresh. We are now total devotees of this place. Parking isn't guaranteed directly outside the hotel, but the very nearby (about a minute's walk) Winter Gardens have parking that the hotel uses, and that's free. The location is perfect. Last time, the restaurant was closed, but it had recently reopened when we went this time and we ate in one evening: beautiful flavours and quality of produce in small portions (divided views at our table: fine by me, less fine by my companion). The only problem is lack of atmosphere, though the setting is super. So we ate out the other nights (at certainly the same quality, and quite a bit cheaper).

Room Tip: If you want to splash out on luxury, one of rooms 1 or 2 on the first floor is a suite with balcony.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2017

A great location for our group this week (Nov 17). Staff friendly, rooms large with dream views. One excellent meal prepared by their young but very talented head chef ,Luke Taylor, where we went for the 5 course tasting menu.

However, Parking is a problem as was the meal on the first night which was slow, cold and not served together. The rooms were big but some of the furniture was dated and faded. On arrival the fridge had an almost empty bottle of wine and no coffee, although this was rectified. The biggest problem was the noise from the roof, if there was any wind it sounds like the roof is about to depart the building and gave us little sleep on the last night. The problem only seems to be found in rooms 4 & 6.

Room Tip: not 4 or 6
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

Had lunch here for a birthday celebration, the food was amazing! Would highly recommend. We had a Sunday roast which was a risk as normally nothing beats a home roast but this did. Well done The Hambrough.....

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Fionasquire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews