We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food”

Manx Gourmet Burgers
Ranked #150 of 347 Restaurants in Isle of Man
Restaurant details
Reviewed 9 August 2017

We ate here twice in 5 days and both times it was delicious , you choose your burger , chicken or steak and then choose 2 sides from the menu curly fries, onion rings, corn on the cob or coleslaw . It is all cooked fresh and doesn't take long at all. My husband would highly recommend the gammon as he always goes for this but the piece of gammon he got here was massive. The staff are very polite and do a great job .

Thank Diane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HEHotels, Manager at Manx Gourmet Burgers, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Dear Diane T
Thanks so much for the great 5 star review.
I'm pleased you enjoyed the freshly cooked huge choice of dishes along with side orders and that the staff were helpful too.
Hope you come back again soon.
Regards
Neil Gray
Business Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2017

can be pricy, may need to have patience with service when peak time as it does get busier. allows visitors to take their time to enjoy meals. varied choices of menu cateres for vegetarians as well.

Thank prabhulaldamji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HEHotels, Manager at Manx Gourmet Burgers, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2017

Dear prabhulaldmji
Thanks for your review. With all meals cooked to order from an extensive variety of around 100 dishes for less than £13 each, I think we offer amazing value. That also includes 2 side orders so a very big filling meal for £13 - I think most people would agree is offers good value and a wide choice too. There can be a small time delay at busiest times, but with fresh food, I'd be happy to wait for a great tasting meal!
Thanks for your feedback.
Regards
Neil Gray
Business Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

This was a real disappointment after reading reviews and choosing the restaurant for an evening meal. We ordered a chilli burger, served with sides of coleslaw and corn and a regular burger with fries. Both burgers were extremely dry, with the only "juice" coming from the chilli burger from the chilli dressing on the top. The sweetcorn was charred from the grill and was hot and tasty at first, until part way around which did not have grill marks and was cold, so cold it seemed as though it was frozen corn that was barely defrosted. We called over the waitress who didn't seem shocked when we told her but took it away and brought back another piece. We each had a half pint with our food with total cost a little over £26. We told the waiter that had seated us that the burgers were poor and he apologised. Definitely not worth the money, especially when Douglas has such a variety of restaurants. Maybe it was a one off but we wished we had chosen somewhere else to eat after our experience.

Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HEHotels, General Manager at Manx Gourmet Burgers, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017

Dear Carole M
Please accept my apologies for your experience last week.
It really does sound like this was not our usual standard, and having dry burgers and cold corn is not acceptable. I will ensure your feedback is shown to the small team in the restaurant for their feedback, and they try harder to maintain the quality at the level that ensures we receive such positive feedback as you hopefully have seen on previous reviews. I hope you do decide to try us again in the future as I'm sure the normal quality will have resumed.
Best Regards
Neil Gray
Business Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

The basement of The Empress opens in the evenings for burgers and grills and the food is excellent, as are the staff. Bit gloomy inside but there are seats by the windows. Three vegetarian burgers and plenty side dishes to choose from.

Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HEHotels, Manager at Manx Gourmet Burgers, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Dear Helen J

So glad you had a great dinner and rewarded us with 5 stars.
With a choice of so many meat, fish and vegetarian options plus many many sides, we offer great value and hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Neil Gray
Business Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

This is lovely place to visit. The price is a little on the high side but the burgers are all hand made and the taste is second to none.

Thank lady487
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HEHotels, Manager at Manx Gourmet Burgers, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2017

Dear lady487
Glad you enjoyed the visit and the 4 stars.
We think we offer great value for a large burger with 2 sides and for only around £12-13 and hope you do decide to return soon.
Regards
Neil Gray
Business Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Manx Gourmet Burgers also viewed

 
Douglas, Isle of Man
 
Douglas, Isle of Man
 

Been to Manx Gourmet Burgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing