We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mannin Hotel(Douglas)
US$158
US$154
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arrandale House & Apartments(Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ascot Hotel(Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Regency Hotel(Douglas)
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (407)
Filter reviews
407 results
Traveller rating
150
162
65
20
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
150
162
65
20
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself servicecoach tripgb toursnational holidaysgrand ukisle of mancoach partysteep stepssea viewmeal timesevening mealbuffet styletiny liftsea frontvictorian hotelwalking difficultieshalf board
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 407 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2017

First impressions are that it is a bit "tired". A good welcome from our tour guide Jane, who proved to be excellent. Our room 305 was very good with lovely views of the bay.
The first supper was disappointing as they had obviously paid no attention to my request for Gluten free. However that was done for the following three nights. Management never made any contact

Room Tip: Room 305good sea view. Despite being by the road it did not disturb us
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merrycroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear Guest, may we thank you for your review. We are surprised regarding your comment that you felt the property looked 'a bit tired' given that we maintain the external and internal areas to a high standard of appearance and guest comfort. That said, we of course appreciate and respect your feedback and also apologise if a Gluten Free meal was not immediately available on your first night dining with us. We are pleased to note that this was quickly addressed and hope that overall you enjoyed your stay. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

My other half asked me to add this review as I booked him & a friend a room here last minute this year for two nights pre TT practise week while he was waiting for me to join him in our pre booked holiday cottage. Midway along Douglas promenade & easy to find my husband says the twin room was an ample enough size for two blokes, lovely & clean & breakfast served the next morning was full English & just the job to set him up for a days riding around the island.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Fortchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

This isn't the first time I have stayed here.
Its ok for its money, the room I had was very clean and I had a fantastic sea view.
The only issue I had was, my room was on the 3rd floor (314) this isn't the problem, the problem was if I had my windows open, someone on the first floor was smoking out on their balcony and the smoke was coming into my room.
The Hotel has a No smoking rule so this shouldn't have happened.
The other issue I had was when in bed, if someone was walking down the corridor past my room (314) there is a hallway door, this bangs against the wall right next to the headboard every time...I didn't get to sleep till the last person had gone to bed...About 01:0..not happy. In the morning I told the receptionist my issues and she did apologise but that was it really!
Would I stay again...yes but I would ask for a different room.

Room Tip: Stay away from room 314! but ask for a sea view room...They are fantastic
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Numpty2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear valued guest, may we first of all thank you for taking the time to leave us this review. We are naturally dismayed to learn of the unfortunate actions of other guests and also that there were certain elements of your stay that you feel that we too, could have been improved upon. Rest assured we will look into the issues you have raised and address them as may be necessary, including the offending hallway door near your room. We do hope to host you again in the future so that we may prove our usual high standards to you. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017

I stayed with my sister for 4 nights
Room clean and had comfortable beds, there is a step up to the shower, that is my only grumble, which is nothing much
Wifi in the bedrooms
The lift is small for the number of guests
Breakfast self service, plenty of choice, breakfast cereals, fruit and the cooked breakfast
Dinner at night was also self service, plenty of choice, roast, casserole and fish every night with plenty of potatoes and vegetables, the same for starters and dessert
I was surprised to have self service carvery at night, but it was fine, you just waited till the que had gone, plenty of food for all
The tables cleared very quickly

Room Tip: Small lift, for the size of hotel
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 537Irene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear guest, may we thank you for choosing the Rutland for your recent Isle of Man holiday and for taking the time to leave us this very kind review. We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you both back in the near future. Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

Ok,
So it's a bit of a maze inside but I assume years ago this hotel would have been several guest houses and it's been converted into one big hotel.
That being said we found the room without a problem as signage is very good.
Check in was faultless and the receptionist was very polite.
We had a sea view room over looking Douglas bay and the Promenade, great view!
Our room was spotless and well equipped for what we needed with plenty of towels, there's nothing worse than having to ask for items when you get to the room.
Breakfast is the usual buffet style and had a full selection of fruits and juices, cereals and full cooked breakfast.
All the staff we encountered were very polite and courteous.
All in all a very pleasant stay.
I'm sure we will be back.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Man9570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkDWilson, Managing Director at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Dear valued guest, may we thank you for taking the time to leave us this extensive review. We are always looking to improve the standard of service we offer our guests, therefore your constructive observations are greatly appreciated. For Breakfast as you noted, we provide a primarily traditional English / Manx offering as this suits the majority of our guests, but we are of course always happy to provide a selection of continental items should these be requested. We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and are particularly grateful for your kind words regarding the high level of customer service as provided by our excellent team. We do hope to see you again some time in the future when you next visit our lovely Island. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews