We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$130
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/02/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
US$118
View deal
eDreams
PricelineUS$118
Booking.comUS$118
Hotels.comUS$130
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (691)
Filter reviews
691 results
Traveller rating
308
206
81
43
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
308
206
81
43
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cairngorm travel coach parties coach tour lairds buffet dining room christmas break staff were all friendly ghillies bar lovely hotel buffet breakfast haggis course dinner excellent value for money beans short break couldn't do enough from start to finish
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 691 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2021

The location is smashing set in the village of Kinguisse , facing a lovely park - quiet location - plenty of car parking , really easy to find and just off the main route into the Highlands - a great place to break a journey.
The reality was poor - the Hotel itself is dated - the common areas badly in need of a face lift - even a few flowers would have been welcome - the room was very basic - furniture dated - bathroom from the 1980s - with a wobbly floor.
Breakfast was adequate - the serving staff - headed by a tall middle aged Gentleman who appeared to have lost his sense of humour and had no interest in the guests in terms of a welcome or a smile. The two young male waiters displayed zero interest in the guests and one had a huge pair of black gloves - like something you would use to clean drains. This Hotel has so much potential in looks - ,location etc but the staff and the dated rooms are doing their best to supress its real personality - surely the Highlands deserves much better than this?

Room tip: ask for an upgrade - if one exists
Date of stay: July 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 1981Lillian81
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 July 2021 via mobile

Last minute getaway. Absolutely stunning place to have a hotel. The hotel itself is quite dated but I loved it! It’s cosy! It’s nice to see a bit of character.
What makes this hotel is its staff. Reception staff couldn’t be more helpful and so friendly.

Our room was front facing on the first floor. Lovely room. Clean and tidy. Bed was very comfortable.
No noise could be heard during the night with the room facing the road. Really loved our room! Booked superior deluxe.

We had dinner and drinks in the bar - as said previously - service is really quite slow. Although the sign says not to order at the bar, we did on more than one occasion as we would of been waiting until tomorrow for someone to take our order.
Food was ok, both ordered fish & chips. The batter a little to greasy for my liking.
Breakfast was good. Quick service.

Lovely location. Hotel was fab! Would definitely recommend.

Plenty parking around the hotel including their large car park.

Room tip: Lovely walk behind golf course.
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 685jennad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 July 2021

Signage outside lacking - had only noticed that there was a restaurant when walking past on a previous occasion. Would not have noticed driving through the town. Did not sit outside as tables were dirty and uncleared from previous customers. Customers not greeted at all on entry or directed to tables. Waited for 10 minutes before going to the bar to find some menus ourselves although staff were not particularly busy, just oblivious. Two male servers were pleasant enough, but poorly trained. One had face mask under nose whilst serving - pointless. Waitress was better but her main job seemed to involve turning away custom at 5 past 2 ‘we stop serving food at 2’ - really? in a sizeable hotel in a tourist town with limited competition on a Friday in July? Unfortunately all too typical of Scottish hospitality mentality - and I live here. One customer who had clearly phoned ahead was turned away and was furious, another got as far as ordering drinks before being told food service had stopped. Table next to us sent back their meal which didn’t inspire confidence. Food was mediocre, shrivelled peas obviously spent too long in the microwave and crisps had gone soft. A shame because the room was pleasant and it had the potential to be really good. Manager really needs to get on top of their job.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Visitor137
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 July 2021 via mobile

The table service was very poor, 15 minute wait for drinks. Then half of the drinks were wrong. Very understaffed. The food seemed overall good but overpriced. The burger was overcooked and had enough mayonnaise to make a whole pot of coleslaw. Would not recommend.

Room tip: Maybe try Kingussie golf club up the road from this place.
Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Roam03296632828
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 July 2021

We were a large group of 8 with 3 children. The service was ridiculously slow and when the food did come one meal was missing. They said they would comp that but then argued over the bill when we went to pay. The only good point was the lovely waitress with the dark curly hair (sadly did not catch her name) who was very friendly and who sorted the bill immediately.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Lauren O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews