We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Osborne Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Bay Dilkhusa Grand Hotel(Ilfracombe)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$96
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sandy Cove Hotel(Berrynarbor)
US$135
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$64
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Carlton Hotel(Ilfracombe)
US$115
US$112
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$91
US$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Imperial Hotel(Ilfracombe)(Great Value!)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
The Darnley Hotel(Ilfracombe)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palm Court Hotel(Ilfracombe)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveller rating
173
74
31
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
173
74
31
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa family run hotelfantastic weekendturkey and tinselmince piescoach tripbit datedbar managerevening entertainmentcoach partyvaried menunight porterbreakfast was includedowners and staffon arrivalnothing is too much troublecentral heatingweekend break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 293 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2018

We had a turkey and tissue week the staff we so help full food was so good bedroom clean every night they put on something for us and made sure we all had a good time it a lovely place but wood be better in the summer as most of the places were shut but will go again as it look like there so much to do

Stayed: December 2017
Thank Suejordan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

Shouldn't have really watched 4 in a bed before arriving at this hotel. If it wasn't for the staff (especially Kirsty) it could have been a lot worse. Amazing food but that's where it ends.
I opened the draw on the dressing table and the front came off in my hand and to access the sockets we had to pull the dressing table out as a piece of wood blocked them off completely. The hook was broken on the back of bathroom door and the shower over the bath was virtually impossible to use unless you sat in the bath.
The bathroom windows were sealed shut so no chance of escape if there was a fire in the room.
The hotel foyer smelt of stale smoke and wafted in every time somebody smoked outside (mostly the owner) and somebody else came through the revolving door. The lift was a site to behold only allowing 2 at a time and I struggled with the door aged 48 having to help all the over 70's every time. Lovely carpet on the walls too.
Thank goodness the trips out more than made up for the hotel and definitely won't be staying there again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Boldwyn56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
osborneIlfracombe, Owner at The Osborne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Many thanks for your positive comments on the staff & amazing food. With reference to the numerous negative points you have placed within your review we are very surprised that you did not feel the need to report any of the above to the reception or the Hotel Management during your stay. Best Wishes The Cox Family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017 via mobile

Have just spent 5 Fantastic nights here turkey and tinsel break and from the second we walked in this hotel that atmosphere, friendly staff and of course the Gorgeous dog Dolly all one big happy family would recommend this hotel will definitely be going back and last but not least a very big thank you to Nick for your hospitality which was second to none xxx

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

On arrival at the hotel we were met by Nick, a very warm and friendly welcome. Our cases were taken off the coach and the next time we saw them was outside our rooms. Tea, coffee and warm mince pies were awaiting us, very nice they were. The staff at this lovely family run hotel were exceptional, nothing was too much trouble. I am gluten free, the chef made sure that my menu for the evening meal was as special as everyone else’s. (Not just melon of fruit salad) chocolate fudge cake, profiteroles and apple tart and custard. In the morning they put gluten free cornflakes on the table ready for when i came down. The bedrooms were very nice, clean and warm which is important when most of the party are elderly. The evening entertainment was fun and everyone could join in. Overall we had a fantastic weekend and I would like to thank Nick and all his staff for looking after us. I will definitely be returning with Colin and my dog Snoopy.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
osborneIlfracombe, Owner at The Osborne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Dear Jackie
It was lovely to meet you and your group and we are all so pleased that you enjoyed your Turkey & Tinsel weekend break at our Hotel. We do have a very comprehensive menu for our guests and Stuart is always flexible to meet special dietary requirements. Many thanks for your very kind words on the facilities, entertainment & staff.We would very much welcome the opportunity to see you, Colin & Snoopy back at the Osborne Hotel in the future. Best wishes Nick Cox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

We arrived at The Osborne as part of a large party, although we travelled individually by car to meet with the rest of the party. Both Francis on reception and Nick the Manager were really helpful and got us parked up safe and secure on site. We had hot drinks and mince pies in the bar before checking into our rooms and from that moment we had a fabulous time. The hotel is a little like stepping back in time but nothing wrong with that. We had a small room on the 3rd/4th floor but it was clean and the bed was very comfy. We were a little cold at times but there was a heater to supplement the central heating so we were as cosy as we needed to be. The bathroom was spotless and plenty of hot water and a super shower. We were there for 3 nights and the evening entertainment was excellent. Nick called the bingo, very entertaining and then we had Martin on keyboards the first night - he was superb and we had a brilliant night. The next two nights we had Alan on his guitar and we all had a real good sing song. Bar prices were reasonable (bottle of Merlot £16). The restaurant staff could not do enough for you and the food was lovely - not the most adventurous menu but fabulous food. Judith ran the restaurant and nothing was too much trouble. We had 3 course meals in the evening and the main courses were excellent eg roast beef with all the trimmings and vegetables - could not fault it. The breakfast menu was very comprehensive and again the full English breakfast was cooked to perfection.

In the hotel room was an information book on the family and all the information you could want about facilities and things to do in Ilfracombe. Worth reading. We met Sandy, Nicks Mother who took over the Hotel over 40 years ago with her husband. It is a real family run Hotel and we would go back again and indeed hope to as there is a lot of North Devon we would like to see. Look forward to going back and wish the family and all at the Hotel best wishes.

Room Tip: All rooms are en suite but vary in size - ours was small - suggest you speak to the Hotel when you book and tell them what you want
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lynneq t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
osborneIlfracombe, Owner at The Osborne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear Lynne
It was such a brilliant weekend and all the staff would like to thank you for being such a wonderful group we have thoroughly enjoyed you staying with us.
The organisation that was provided from Shirley was first class from start to finish.
My brother Stuart (Chef) and his team will be pleased to hear you found the food to be
excellent and cooked to perfection. The entertainment program is a real strength of our Hotel and we have some great nights which I am really happy you and your group enjoyed.
We are a family run Hotel and have been here for over 40 years and as a family we really do focus the Hotel on guest experience, service & enjoyment. We would welcome the opportunity for your group to return back to us again in the future and wish you all the best for the future. Best Wishes Nick Cox

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews