We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,987)
Filter reviews
1,988 results
Traveller rating
132
287
378
356
835
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
287
378
356
835
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 1,988 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2018

Rainwater ingress (room 425), there is no mention that Maloney’s is adults only, photos give the impression of an American style diner, paying extra for use of the pool, no wifi, scruffy public areas.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that doesn't let in rain
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john5306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

My lovely hubby came home from work today and said book a night in Southport. I did, but made the big mistake of booking the Scarisbrick. We have stayed here before but probably the last time was about 15 years ago and BOY have things changed! Hotel was scruffy, our deal included dinner...….but you MUST eat by 6 and the food was awful. Liver and onions...for gods sake....who eats that. Chicken legs or thighs and various other awful delights. We paid £134 on arrival at 5pm and had checked out by 7.30pm after sampling the dinner. We preferred to put the whole thing down to experience than to stay and chance the breakfast. Sooooo disappointed. Hard earned money wasted. Southport in general seems to be taken over by foreigners or down and outs. When we gave our door key back at Reception the girl didnt even question WHY which really says it all.

Room Tip: Ours was a SUPERIOR room so God knows what an inferior room was like.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank liverpool_liz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

Cons
Noisy area
Couldn’t open my window fully but was too noisy anyway.
Tv didn’t work.
Pros
Clean and tidy
Clean towels every day and room cleaned every day.
Breakfast was hot and tasty.

In short, clean and tidy. Yes, decor is tired but as it was only a bed for a few nights we weren’t that worried. Cons were actually not hotels fault as they can’t police noisy people outside. The hotel is in a centrally location near to the town and the beach so no complaints there.
Would I recommend? Yes but only to those friends who are accepting that it’s not 5* and you get what you pay for.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Liblou1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

My wife booked the first Saturday in August through booking.com. The first problem was parking, or a lack of it, and whilst I waited in reception a man who came in on speck was gored a room twenty pounds less than we had paid for ours. There was no wi fi, no information regarding breakfast etc ( to wit, we arrived down to breakfast at 9.20 on Sunday to realise it had shut at 9.00. Really? 9.00am on a Sunday?) The hotel was downright grubby. The shower didn't work. The tv didn't work and when I came to turn off the bath taps it took me all my strength to do it. We paid 90 quid to stop in a very undesirable room in an undesirable hotel and to cap it all, we didnt even get breakfast.
The most important thing to bear in mind however, if your considering this hotel, it's part of the Brittania hotel group. We have experienced a hotel from this group before and we didn't realise this was another. These hotels are something from the dark ages.
Michael

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank michaelcollins59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018

The hotel is a beautiful old building and it is such a shame at the state it is in. We were allocated a room on the side but had to move because it did not have the correct number of beds. The room we were given was at the front. It was tired and old, but the beds were very clean. We were awoken by fire alarm and then fighting in the street. The room stunk of cannabis. Do not go to this hotel. It should be closed.

Room Tip: Don't think there is a good room.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews