We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great”
Review of Ye Olde Six Bells

Ye Olde Six Bells
Ranked #4 of 120 Restaurants in Horley
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Ye Olde Six Bells in Horley is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Reviewed 30 November 2017

We have eaten here on several occasions whilst staying overnight in B&Bs in Horley before flying off to foreign climes and have in the past had good meals here, but sad to say that the meal we were served on our last visit was awful. We ordered the rib-eye steak but it was more like gristle on a plate and over cooked. It was also quite cold as the fire was left to go out but there were still many customers there. The desserts were okay but had to choose from a limited list as they ran out of some on the menu and our coffees were not very hot, we will think twice about going there again.

Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Ye Olde Six Bells, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2017

Hi Lisa O, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. We would like the opportunity to address your concerns. Please reach out to us directly at yeoldesixbellshorley@vintageinn.co.uk when you have a chance. Thank you, and we look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,870)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 1,872 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2017

A little Haven from the hustle and bustle of Gatwick Airport, we were recommended Ye Old Six Bells by a friend who goes there every time he has a stopover in London and we decided to do the same and I have to say we were not disappointed. I went on the website and booked a table and then on arrival from Guernsey in to Gatwick we jumped in a taxi which took us straight to the pub. We were greeted by the very lovely and friendly Jenni who we asked if we could bring our table reservation earlier as we had arrived earlier and after a bit of banter where she was pretending to check the diary she said of course you can. We went and sat by the open fire with our bargain drinks (coming from Guernsey where they can be pricey ) this was a welcoming change . The menu was excellent with something for everyone’s taste and very resonably priced , they even did a smaller pudding with a coffee which we could not resist and the lovely Jenni even arranged a taxi to take us back to our not so characterful hotel at Gatwick , all in all we had a fab time and will most definitely be going back the next time we stay at Gatwick , Thank you Jenni and the rest of the staff for making us feel so welcome ❤️❤️❤️

1  Thank Sheena1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Ye Olde Six Bells, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Reviews like this give us motivation and help us ensure we provide high-quality care. Thank you, and have a fantastic day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

Super food and service for a wonderful reunion with old friends. Superbly situated just around the corner from my favourite airport Bed and Breakfast.

1  Thank flyinggranny2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Ye Olde Six Bells, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Flyinggranny2017, your wonderful feedback and rating mean a lot to us. We're looking forward to your next visit with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017

We have eaten here a few times, with the most recent visit being in November. We had a very friendly waitress and enjoyed our meals. It is such a delightful old pub and felt very cosy on a cold dark night. Booking a table is recommended and easily done via the Vintage Inns website. We will be back!

Thank I_Luv_Hols_64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Ye Olde Six Bells, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

I_luv_hols_64, thank you for your kind review; we are happy to pass along your comments to the team here at Ye Olde Six Bells!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

Eaten here on many occasions but I found my last visit rather a disappointment! We waited quite a while before anyone spoke to us we had booked a table and had to actually approach a member of staff to ask where we were seated. The meal it self was quite 'nice' chicken and thyme pie and it arrived quite quickly. Our plates were taken but we were never offered a dessert or coffee and had to ask for our bill - again it took along time to attract the staffs attention.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Ye Olde Six Bells, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2017

Hi Fiona B, we appreciate your honest review. We set a high standard for ourselves, so we are disappointed to hear that your experience with us was not a positive one. We would like the opportunity to find out how we can better assist you in the future. If you are willing, please contact us 01293825028.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ye Olde Six Bells also viewed

 
Charlwood, Horley
 

Been to Ye Olde Six Bells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing