We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
98
12
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
98
12
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cake tea garden steam train little gem babbling brook orchard room trains pass tea room helen john dawn chorus great hosts welcoming cup of tea comfortable bed quiet lane fresh milk little touches continental breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2016

I cannot tell you in words how amazing this place is, we were treated to tea on arrival and our dog was welcomed.

As we drank tea a Steam Train rolled by and was such an Amazing sight, the rooms were clean, comfy beds with gorgeous bedding, clean Fresh towells and tea and cake in the room, They even made croissants from scratch in the morning as my Husband asked for some!

The Breakfast options were huge and very generous servings

Wonderful setting , Amazing people

We would highly recomend

Room Tip: Beck view room is gorgeous!
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francesca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lowtherfriends, Owner at Lowther House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2016

Hi Francesca, Thank you for a wonderful review, so glad you liked our little piece of Eden, pity your visit was so short, you will have to come back again. Don't forget to bring Brian, and your husband.
Good wishes
John & Helen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

This is such a beautiful place to stay delightful owners amazing hot chocolate beautiful scenery you wouldn't be disappointed it's tucked away from all the Hussle and bussell it's a little gem try it you will go back for sure

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank juliatarantino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lowtherfriends, Owner at Lowther House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2016

Thanks for visiting us even on chilly days.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Just had a wonderful two nights stay at Lowther House. The breakfast was excellent and plenty of choice. The owners are both very friendly and helpful and everywhere was spotless and clean.
Beautiful tea gardens with a little stream running along the length of the delightful gardens. Little touches like fresh flowers on the outside tables made it so delightful.
My husband loves steam trains so he was in his eliminates watching the trains passing by the house and gardens.
Will be back again for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LINDA N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lowtherfriends, Owner at Lowther House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2016

Thanks Linda glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Stayed for one night for a local motor sport event. The B&B stands off the pubic road but is very easy to find and well signposted. The setting is idyllic offering views towards the North Yorkshire Railway and the B&B also has its own tea room and garden. The welcome was very friendly and bedroom well appointed including an especially delicious piece of home baked cake. My start in the morning was quite early at 7am and my hosts could not have been more accommodating getting up to make sure I had a good breakfast before I left including home made bread for the toast. I have no problems recommending Lowther house and look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a peaceful night then this is the place to stay
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EdgarAllen03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lowtherfriends, Owner at Lowther House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2016

Glad you enjoyed your brief stay, next time make sure you stay a little longer and take advantage of our lovely garden and all that the local area has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Arrived after a long day walking to a lovely slice of homemade coffee and walnut cake and the most delicious cup of tea. The room was spotlessly clean and the bed extremely comfortable. The food is delicious - you must stay for dinner as it is fantastic and very good value for money. The garden is very tranquil and the location fantastic, especially when the steam trains come past! The owners are very friendly and cannot do enough for you but at the same time are relaxed and not overbearing. This is one of the nicest places that I have stayed and that is down to the owners and their attention to detail.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 10Amanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lowtherfriends, Owner at Lowther House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2016

Hi Amanda
Thanks for the very nice feedback, very glad you enjoyed yourself and the recommend for dinner, we do enjoy doing these for our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews