We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Old Manse Hotel(Pickering)
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$183/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eleven Westgate(Pickering)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
17 Burgate(Pickering)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmont B&B(Pickering)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
93
12
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
93
12
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstea gardencakesteam trainlittle gembabbling brookorchard roomtrains passtea roomhelen johndawn chorusgreat hostswelcoming cup of teaquiet lanefresh milklittle touchescomfortable bedcontinental breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2018

The house is set in a very quiet tranquil location just 15 minutes walk outside Pickering, ideal for the North Yorshire Moors Railway. The staff are friendly, providing excellent food in a beautifully decorated house. The bedroom is freshly decorated with special touches such as fresh flowers and amazing homemade cake.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank paul_haine7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pidgeon57, Owner at Lowther House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2018

Many thanks for your lovely review. We hope we can welcome you again at some point in the future.

Helen and John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

We visited today at the end of our walk for tea and cakes having walked passed last Easter and remembering how lovely it all looked. The cakes were very tasty and the gentleman who served us was very welcoming. The gardens are beautiful with a view of the steam trains. We will certainly visit again the next time we pass to sample some other cakes.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Josam_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, Owner at Lowther House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Thank you for calling back this year, and we are happy that you found us open and you enjoyed your visit after the walk. Hope we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018

We called in for lunch after a beautiful countryside walk with the family. The sandwiches were lovely and the table was set perfectly with beautiful china tea sets. The sun was shining which made it extra special. Many thanks to the friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Yorkshireteaforme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pidgeon57, Owner at Lowther House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2018

Thank you for your lovely comments. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again.

Kind Regards

John and Helen White

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018

stopped 2 nights as part of Britstops. Great location, friendly and dog loving hosts (always good for us) and a lovely breakfast. Very close to Pickering and easy access to the Yorkshire Moors and just 20 miles or so from Whitby and Robins Hood Bay. Recommended

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Grant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, Owner at Lowther House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Hi Grant, very glad we could accommodate you for 2 nights and that you enjoyed your visit both to Lowther House and the North Yorkshire area. Hope next time you have an opportunity to visit this way you will have better weather.
Safe Travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

We found this Guest house using Booking.com. It’s only small but very nice and cosy. Pickering is a short walk along the road, which runs parallel with the North Yorkshire Moors railway. Steam trains pass close to the property, so there is plenty to see through the windows!
A well cooked Breakfast is included in the price.
Bedrooms are very well decorated and the beds are extremely comfortable.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, Owner at Lowther House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, fortunately the weather was kind to you unlike the guests the previous weekend.We trust that yu got away on your next adventure safely and enjoying the warmer climate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews