We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service!”
Review of The Sweet Shop

The Sweet Shop
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Aberdovey
Certificate of Excellence
Description: At The Sweet Shop we make all our ice cream on site using fresh Welsh cream and milk. In the main season we offer over 20 flavours on a variety of Antonelli Brother cones in various sizes including gluten free ones! However we are not a restaurant, and are not sure how we came to be listed as such - we tried to get Trip Advisor to remove us because we do not want visitors to be disappointed when there are no tables and chairs but they wouldn't. The Sweet Shop is a cute but tiny shop specialising in take away ice cream, old fashioned sweets and chocolates!! We are also a seasonal shop and shut between October and March.What we lack in size we hopefully make up for in great, Welsh ice cream and we look forward to welcoming customers old and new!
Restaurant details
Description: At The Sweet Shop we make all our ice cream on site using fresh Welsh cream and milk. In the main season we offer over 20 flavours on a variety of Antonelli Brother cones in various sizes including gluten free ones! However we are not a restaurant, and are not sure how we came to be listed as such - we tried to get Trip Advisor to remove us because we do not want visitors to be disappointed when there are no tables and chairs but they wouldn't. The Sweet Shop is a cute but tiny shop specialising in take away ice cream, old fashioned sweets and chocolates!! We are also a seasonal shop and shut between October and March.What we lack in size we hopefully make up for in great, Welsh ice cream and we look forward to welcoming customers old and new!
Reviewed 27 September 2018

We stopped here to get some ice creams before going for a walk along the beach. The girl serving in the shop was lovely and friendly. The selection of ice cream on offer was excellent too!
A great little shop - excellent customer service and quality produce goes a long way!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 141jeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

After a lovely day out in aberdovey we decided to have ice cream and oh my god it was good! I had rocky road which is just chocolate with fudge and marshmallow and I was easily the nicest chocolate ice cream you can get! Great service with moderate prices, this place will definitely need a revisit!

Thank Puglover1344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amkwales, Owner at The Sweet Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Hi there and thank you for your great review of the shop and our ice cream! We held a competition last year to design a flavour and Rocky Road was the winner - it continues to be really popular and we are pleased you enjoyed it so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

One of my granddaughters has a peanut allergy we explained this to a young man
and he was amazing so obliging. He went and fetched a new ice cream from the fridge at the back of the shop and a new cone he also used a new glove.How wonderful was that. The ice cream is Fantastic. Excellent.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank T17ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amkwales, Owner at The Sweet Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2018

Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review for the shop and it is particularly nice to read that you found our staff so helpful - Patrick on this occasion. Allergies are very difficult to cope with as a customer of course and also as a food outlet and we always try to do our best - thank you again for commenting on this and we are delighted you enjoyed your ice cream too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

stopped here on the way with friends having had a Sunday roast. They highly recommended the place and they weren't wrong. Loads of choice but not so much that it was overwhelming and friendly staff. My only complaint - I wished I'd known about the half and half option before i'd ordered! A lovely location and even on a grey day it was great to look out at the boats and to people watch while enjoying the icecream. Even if there's a bit of a queue, it's well worth it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Katherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amkwales, Owner at The Sweet Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your ice cream - we were sorry you didn’t know about the half and half option - we offer it if customers are struggling to decide but after reading what you have said maybe we should have it on the board - so thank you for bringing it to our attention.
We do hope that the sun shines if you are visiting again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018

Excellent ice cream with friendly efficient service. Would definitely recommend the praline, honey and peanut butter ice creams I tried!

Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amkwales, Owner at The Sweet Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Thank you for writing such a lovely review and we are very pleased that you enjoyed our ice creams. Your comments about the service are much appreciated too. We hope to welcome you back again soon to try some more flavours!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sweet Shop also viewed

Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park
Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park
 
Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park
Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park
 
Aberdovey, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to The Sweet Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing