We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gilsland Hall Hotel(Gilsland)(Great Value!)
US$58
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Book now, pay at stay
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$97
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bush Nook(Gilsland)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
20
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had a great time staying for 6 nights while walking Hadrian's Wall. The b&b was nicely situated, not too far from the wall, but perfect for doing several days of walking.Breakfasts were super, with lots of fresh fruits. Christine and Peter are excellent hosts!!
We certainly would like to return one day...
Paul &Jeanet from Emst, the Netherlands

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jeanet k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine L, Owner at Old School House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Thank you for your review Jeanet and so glad that you enjoyed your stay. I hope that Woolfest lived up to expectations. Happy spinning!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is a wonderful B&B - spacious, clean and comfy room, excellent breakfast including lots of home-made and local high quality produce. Christine is a very friendly and helpful host and there is a pub nearby serving good evening meals. A great place to stop on our bike ride from Lands End to John O'Groats.
Thoroughly recommended!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine L, Owner at Old School House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Thank you for your review Martin and many congratulations on finishing LEJOG and raising so much money for bowel cancer research. You were both such an inspiration and it was great to meet you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Old School House in late October 2013. We were looking for a place that was convenient to some of the more well-known parts of Hadrian's Wall, and this particular place came up in our internet search. Our host, Christine, was most accommodating when we first contacted her on the phone; we were going to be arriving late (8pm) and it was no trouble for her to meet us at this time. Given we hadn't had dinner either, there was the added bonus that the only pub in town was at the corner of the same street, only 100m or so away.

The room was spacious, comfortable, tastefully decorated, and quiet. So much so that we decided we'd stay an extra night (when the original intention was to stay for only one).

The breakfasts were delicious. Cereals and muesli, accompanied by yoghurt, and fresh fruits. And then a cooked "English" breakfast after that, with most of the produce locally sourced. It was a great way to start both of our mornings, whilst looking out over the meadows without other buildings in site.

We'd have no hesitation in recommending this place to anyone, and we hope we can go back one day. Places like the Old School House are what makes the B&B experience memorable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GM_1112013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I agree with all the other comments. Just the perfect place to stay and relax after a long walk. The breakfasts were yummy- smoked salmon and scrambled eggs! The rooms- clean, modern and bright. The shower was possibly the best shower I'v had in my life! Wonderful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JO W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I cannot say in words how wonderful this place is. Christine and Peter are friendly and welcoming, the house is gorgeous and the location is breathtakingly beautiful. The calm atmosphere is balm to any tired soul. And the food? Just totally scrumptious. The chocolate eggs and hot cross buns were a thoughtful added extra, as were the homemade cakes in our room and spreads at breakfast. An amazing place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews