We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old School House B&B
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$232
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pinegrove Hotel(Carlisle)
US$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crown Wetheral Hotel(Wetheral)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveller rating
20
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 20 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2015

Christine made me very welcome, and my room was perfect. The room was of high standard, very clean with a large shower room. Breakfast was excellent, with wide choice available. All home made bread and marmalade, yummy!

Piano in breakfast room and they had a wide selection of books available and Christine has good local knowledge. Excellent pub only a very short walk away.

All in all, the best b&b I have stayed in, would definitely stay again. Highly recommend a visit.

Stayed: August 2015
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine L, Owner at Old School House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2015

Thank you very much for your review Claire and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay despite the suffering after walking 26 miles along Hadrian's Wall for Macmillan! You are amazing and congratulations on doing it and still managing to get out of bed the following morning!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2014

We visited the Old School House amid a whirlwind of train rides across England and France. Our visit to Hallbankgate was both a trip highlight and a peaceful retreat.

Chris and Pete are knowledgeable, kind and generous hosts:
- Securing bike rentals so that we could explore the area, including Hadrian’s Wall.
- Providing first aid when Josh lingered amongst nettles for the first time.
- Cooking and sharing lovely meals, a hearty home-cooked lasagna and a lakeside picnic.
- Providing good trip suggestions (Keswick did not disappoint!)
- Sharing their beautifully decorated home: a comfortable bedroom, an excellent shower, a relaxed dining/piano room

We hope to return and would not hesitate to recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine L, Owner at Old School House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2014

Thank you so much for your review Angela and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you can come and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We were near the end of a 7 week trip when we arrived at the Old School House and had clearly saved the best to last! Christine and Peter are excellent hosts, and such interesting people - we could have stayed much longer! We've stayed in lots of places where everything was great - but here, everything was special - the people, the views, the atmosphere, the homemade bread, the fresh fruit, the room........ you get the idea! Even our bicycles were well looked after! Highly recommended and we are looking for an excuse to return!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LJOld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine L, Owner at Old School House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you so much for your review Liz and it was great having you to stay - I think that you and John are pretty interesting too! Hope we see you again. Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had a great time staying for 6 nights while walking Hadrian's Wall. The b&b was nicely situated, not too far from the wall, but perfect for doing several days of walking.Breakfasts were super, with lots of fresh fruits. Christine and Peter are excellent hosts!!
We certainly would like to return one day...
Paul &Jeanet from Emst, the Netherlands

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jeanet k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine L, Owner at Old School House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Thank you for your review Jeanet and so glad that you enjoyed your stay. I hope that Woolfest lived up to expectations. Happy spinning!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is a wonderful B&B - spacious, clean and comfy room, excellent breakfast including lots of home-made and local high quality produce. Christine is a very friendly and helpful host and there is a pub nearby serving good evening meals. A great place to stop on our bike ride from Lands End to John O'Groats.
Thoroughly recommended!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine L, Owner at Old School House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Thank you for your review Martin and many congratulations on finishing LEJOG and raising so much money for bowel cancer research. You were both such an inspiration and it was great to meet you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews