We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coffee and cake”

Uphill Wharf Cafe-Bar
Description: Family run Cafe-Bar. Relaxed and unique setting set in the hillside at Uphill Wharf. Home cooked food Restaurant licence, Marshfields Ice cream Dog friendly. Indoor and outdoor seating areas
Restaurant details
Description: Family run Cafe-Bar. Relaxed and unique setting set in the hillside at Uphill Wharf. Home cooked food Restaurant licence, Marshfields Ice cream Dog friendly. Indoor and outdoor seating areas
Reviewed 29 June 2018

We have called in several times for coffee and cake when walking out from Weston along Uphill beach. The coffee is good as is the gluten free courgette and avocado cake, and if the weather is good you can enjoy sitting outside. It is a pleasant place to stop when using the cycle route between Weston and Brean.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank k r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelythLloydEvans, Owner at Uphill Wharf Cafe-Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

thank you for your review and so glad you love walking in Uphill and visiting us on your way. hope we see you again soon .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

Lovely staff, very helpful and cheerful. The coffee is very good but the cakes are not cheap at £3 a pop and were stale. Such a shame as the cakes were always lovely and fresh, but this time really let the cafe down.

Thank Doryislost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelythLloydEvans, Owner at Uphill Wharf Cafe-Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

I can only apologise if the cakes were not up to our usual standard . We get in regular deliveries and there is no excuse for this.
Most of our cakes are are priced at between £2 and £3 which compares with other cafes selling similar products and are priced below some other local establishments

Glad you enjoyed the coffee and I do hope we see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018

Booked to have a family of 12 have breakfast at the Cafe and we had a great time. The food was fantastic with massive portions (the yolks of the eggs were bright orange and so it showed how fresh and free range they were) and it was accompanied alongside great quality coffee and lovely service.

I have read some of the reviews and I have to say the team and management were always there with any requests we had and nothing seemed like too much trouble.

As someone who has eaten in a lot of places all over the world, I was really impressed by the food at the cafe. It has a lovely feel and ambience to the place and we will be heading back for lunch and afternoon tea soon!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jijwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelythLloydEvans, Owner at Uphill Wharf Cafe-Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

thank you for your lovely review - we pride ourselves on giving great service with high quality and fresh food. The eggs are sourced locally for example and we often have comments as to how great they are. Our Coffee too is locally sourced and roasted and we have struck up a good partnership with the supplier and he regularly comes to see that we are doing a great job. Lovely to see you and hope that you are able to call again soon .Delyth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

Came for lunch with my sister as we keen to return and see the improvements the new owners have made. It was nice to see towels for dogs and a bookcase with books sold in aid of charity and magazines. Seating area much improved plus decor, including toilets which used to be very basic. We had a very enjoyable lunch and coffee and cake. Staff were friendly and obliging. We will both visit in future with family and friends having avoided for a while due to attitude and rudeness of previous owners.

Thank David g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelythLloydEvans, Owner at Uphill Wharf Cafe-Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Thank you David for your kind review. I was particularly pleased that you thought our staff were friendly friendly and obliging. we hope to see you again soon
Delyth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

This place looks fairly ordinary from the outside. It is a real gem once you enter. Run by Phil and Delyth and their resident dog. The menu is varied, the decor nautical themed, open & airy. Most definitely dog friendly, doggie towels and treats provided. Also dog-free eating zone. Local artists' work for sale. Spotless toilet with sensor flush. They have only been in six months. They are full of ideas and will be a real asset to the community with their charity projects. We wish them well.

Thank danielle570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DelythLloydEvans, Owner at Uphill Wharf Cafe-Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review and so glad you like all our ideas! We very much see ourselves as a part of the community and enjoy sharing a few moments with visitors from near and far. Lottie (our dog) also loves seeing the other dogs and feels very much at home here. We have just installed some bicycle racks so have a secure place for cyclists to lock their bikes. Hope to see you again soon Delyth & Philip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Uphill Wharf Cafe-Bar also viewed

Weston-super-Mare, Somerset
Uphill, Weston-super-Mare
 
Milton, Weston-super-Mare
Worle, Weston-super-Mare
 
Locking, Weston-super-Mare
Hutton, Weston-super-Mare
 

Been to Uphill Wharf Cafe-Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing