We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Richmond Hill Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$126
US$121
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Richmond Gate Hotel(Richmond)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Lensbury(Teddington)
US$122
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bingham(Richmond)
US$156
US$146
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge London Teddington(Teddington)(Great Value!)
US$32
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Kew Gardens Hotel(Kew)(Great Value!)
US$148
US$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Premier Inn London Richmond Hotel(Richmond)(Great Value!)
US$77
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Red Cow(Richmond)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,669)
Filter reviews
1,669 results
Traveller rating
625
500
312
148
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
625
500
312
148
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrichmond hillthe riverlovely hotelchristmas partythrough secret escapeshealth clubleisure centrejunior suitecourse dinnerbooked this hotelcar parkingcomfy bedafternoon teasandwicheswedding receptionlovely roomtown centre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 1,669 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I am not in the habit of writing bad reviews, that you will see from my profile. If somewhere is in the habit of giving bad service they generally can’t be bothered to improve but for the sake of anyone wanting an honest opinion I have taken the time to write this!

If the Richmond Hill Hotel said this on their website would you book?!

‘Book a luxury king size deluxe room with king size bed (2 single beds pushed together for our flexibility) and come and stay in a room where your sleep will be lit up with hideous blue lighting from the bathroom that you will have no idea how to switch off. We can ensure you have the worst nights sleep possible as despite lots of customer feedback on this awful design feature we have done nothing about it. We are still having meetings about how to overcome this problem of having something put in the room to advise you how to switch it off. Whilst you are awake you can spend the night checking the bathroom again and again to see where the hell the switch could be. Then after your night of sleeping on two single beds in an advertised king size bed our friendly and patronising receptionists will be there to welcome you on checkout by saying you were advised on check in if you needed anything to call Reception you should have called.

Don’t forget before you enjoy your awful nights sleep to have a drink at our zero ambiance bar which is set up as the overflow tables for breakfast in nice lines, 2 up right chairs at one table, you know the dated look that you wouldn’t expect from a bar in Richmond.

Also included in your room rate is a delicious breakfast in our restaurant. After that awful nights sleep you can’t wait to choose the breakfast of your choice from our menu and have it served up like you expect from a 4 star hotel in Richmond. ( ok what I really mean is a canteen buffet breakfast but hey you get the idea of this hotel, by now you wouldn’t expect anything less!)

If the marketing team actually wrote the website with the words two single beds pushed together, canteen breakfast would you book?! No neither would I and I wish we had gone somewhere else.

I’m not normally in the habit of writing bad reviews as I said at the beginning but after speaking to different management on 3 occasions their attitude stinks, they couldn’t care of my experience and were not interested on offering anything to soften the blow of a pretty awful night away for a special birthday.


Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank shirleybacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane T, General Manager at Richmond Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Shirley,

I am sorry we failed to meet your expectations for your stay with us at the weekend. It is unfortunate that you did not reach out to the management team during your stay to share your dislike of the accommodation offered. This would have allowed us the opportunity to offer an alternative room or show you the bedside switch to turn the blue light off.

We were unable to offer you a satisfactory solution following conversations at the Hotel and subsequent phone calls. "Softening the blow" and demanding a full compensation are two different requests.

We understand that you did not enjoy your time with us and for that we are truly sorry, however we feel your review is not reflective of the Hotel or the comments you initially made regarding your stay. I think we should let our other reviews speak for themselves.

Kind regards

Diane Tapner-Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our stay at the Richmond Hill Hotel was delightful. We just stayed the one night but were made to feel so welcome, we shall certainly go back. Our Austrian receptionist, Nadine, was very helpful and kind and our room, which had just been refurbished, was beautifully done and we slept soundly. The hotel is conveniently located - the theatre was within easy walking distance, as was the river walk and also Richmond Park. We would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane T, General Manager at Richmond Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Maria,

Thank you for such positive feedback, we are delighted you enjoyed your time with us. Nadine is a lovely team member and an asset to the front desk team, I am delighted she enhanced your experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon,

kind regards

Diane Tapner-Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First class. Room was stunning. Location is wonderful - on the hill overlooking the Thames. Our dinner in the evening was delicious and they do a mean Vodka and a Mojito. Staff are the friendliest I've experienced. Thanks to all there. A bit of luxury. Missing it.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank skymountainmedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane T, General Manager at Richmond Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback, the team enjoyed sharing your comments. We hope to welcome you back again,

Kind regards

Diane Tapner-Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for a couple of nights and was lucky enough to get one of the Georgian wing refurbished rooms, very nice indeed. Spacious room with very good decor, only downside was no mirror / socket outlet for my wife’s hairdryer, this is certainly required.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Malcolm024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane T, General Manager at Richmond Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Malcolm,

Thank you for your feedback , we will look to include your observations when we roll the Georgian rooms scheme out across the remaining rooms in the Summer.

Kind regards

Diane Tapner-Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

I recently organised a conference at The Richmond Hill Hotel for my firm. Given that everything was organised over email, from the lunch, meeting, private dinner and accommodation along with all our requirements, the feedback from the participants has been excellent! Great venue, great food and well organised and the day ran smoothly. Would definitely recommend the hotel for future events. Just sorry I didn't get to go along and experience it all for myself!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank maria19692018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diane T, General Manager at Richmond Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Maria,

Thank you for your feedback, I am pleased that we interpreted your event well and your team enjoyed their business meeting with us.

Hopefully you will come and visit in person soon,

kind regards

Diane Tapner-Evans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews