We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The restaurant that the local choose to visit frequently.”
Review of La Belle Auberge

La Belle Auberge
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Castagnede
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 20 March 2018

All you would hope for in a traditional french rural restaurant.
Service is very polite and friendly.
The Menu du Jour inexpensive, well thought out and carefully prepared.
Nice ambiance.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hampshireoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

We had tried to get a table for lunch the previous day, but they were fully booked. At that point we booked for the following evening. They open at 7.30pm and you arrive then or a tiny bit later and the table is yours for the evening as they close fairly early. There is ample seating inside, but this was a gorgeous evening so all the seating was in their beautiful sun dappled garden complete with a bruiser of a black cat that wanders around hopefully. He is resident there and has his dinner at 7.15pm so just tries his luck.
The menu is pretty varied and there is plenty to choose from including a good value deal whereby you get to choose 2 small plates, a main and a dessert. My husband was in his element here and had oysters, then crayfish (possibly, seafood knowledge is limited) followed by a steak. He loved every mouthful. I opted just for a main and had quite possibly the tastiest omelette ever. Garlic mushrooms in a large fluffy omelette, still with the right amount of runny egg. This came with chips that were amazing.
There were lots of desserts to choose from and we chose profiteroles and a chocolate mousse and split them between us. Not enough superlatives for how delicious these were.
The whole evening was a lovely experience, the service, location, food, cat, wine.
I would have gone again, but we ran out of time on our holiday.

Date of visit: August 2017
1  Thank CustardV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

Best place in France so far for eats, Incredible food at fantastic prices. A must visit for anyone, truly magnificent.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank Nicholas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

They do a set menu at lunchtime and evening ( which is quite rare) , so you will find a lot of local French people eating there as it is not expensive . They have an extensive a la carte menu , but often I am tempted by the set menu, that I do not bother . Also the set menu includes wine and coffee , so you can soak the fantastic atmosphere without costing a fortune

Date of visit: May 2017
1  Thank Aquitainerod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017

The restaurant is a little way out of Salies but well worth a visit. Large portions of well-cooked food - including a great fish soup. Very friendly service.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Belle Auberge also viewed

Salies-de-Bearn, Bearn
 
Salies-de-Bearn, Bearn
 

Been to La Belle Auberge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing