We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the best Sunday Lunch I have EVER tasted!! 😋”
Review of The Merry Monk

The Merry Monk
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Isleham
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Tucked away in the Cambridgeshire fens, The Merry Monk started life as three cottages in the 17th Century and from there became The Red Lion Public House until 1992 when it was renamed The Merry Monk. Roaring log fires for cosiness during the winter months and a garden rounding off a gorgeous country restaurant offer perfection for enjoyment throughout the year.Our focus at the Merry Monk is a casual and inviting atmosphere.
Reviewed 1 May 2022

Lovely surroundings, lovely atmosphere, amazing front of house team and fabulous food!
Everything was cooked to perfection and the portion sizes were really generous.
We went with our children and their grandparents and everyone loved the delicious food.
Thank you for such a lovely and enjoyable experience. ❤️

Date of visit: May 2022
Thank 210katrinad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (497)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 497 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2022 via mobile

Three of us enjoyed a very pleasant lunch in a sunny setting. We were greeted in a warm and friendly manner. Our service was friendly, professional and well-timed. So, we were not rushed and thoroughly enjoyed a leisurely lunch. All of us enjoyed all our meals, each of which was well-proportioned, well-presented and flavoursome. A good wine list! We were pleased to find ‘proper’ napkins and an appropriate attention to detail.
A most enjoyable experience and we will return.

Date of visit: April 2022
Thank Jaysee47
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 April 2022

Sunday lunch is Sunday lunch so I cannot really comment on their creativity, The service is good but it helps to know the layout when booking a table ,rejecting the first offer we eyed a better one to be told that was always held for a regular but in fairness we got an acceptable alternative.
The lunch was a not cheap but OK sunday lunch but no higher than that in that the sirloin, delivered rare as requested, was somewhat tough (I prefer rib) and the yorkshire pudding very run of the mill and more potatoes at the expense of some of the other vegetables would have been welcome. The pudding too was OK,
We will try again but would not come back for lunch

Date of visit: April 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 364tilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 April 2022

First time I have taken my parents but as always a great atmosphere and delicious food. Thank you.
Recommend the chilli squid or pork Neely and hens egg for starter.
New menu since last visit - Coley was very nice.

Date of visit: April 2022
Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 December 2021

Absolutely stunning setting!! The food was perfectly presented and delicious. The waiting staff were friendly, knowledgeable and professional. Nothing was too much trouble even for our slightly fussy eaters.
We cannot wait to return, highly recommend this beautiful restaurant in Isleham.
Thank you for restoring faith in us as to how a restaurant can be perfectly executed.
Frankie, Mark and family

Date of visit: December 2021
Thank Francesca T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed The Merry Monk also viewed

 
Isleham, Cambridgeshire
Soham, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Merry Monk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Singapore. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.