We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food only!!”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The George Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Wedmore B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 26 May 2017

We've not stopped at the George hotel but we have had a couple of meals there ,the food is some of the best we've had anywhere without a doubt ,it's nice old style oldie world sort of pub/ hotel ,a lot if not all the food is sourced locally where possible service is good and the staff are helpful and friendly ,prices well considering the quality of the food it's well worth paying a little bit extra ,on a summers evening there's nowhere better .

Room Tip: All rooms should quiet as it a small village .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beerhound123, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2017

Many thanks for your great review.
Glad you appreciate the local sourcing and quality.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2017

We were greeted and served by a very new member of staff who had little support from her colleague who was flitting around. The food was lovely but there was no atmosphere in the restaurant where the fireplace was full of ash, nor in the bar area which we moved to after finishing our meal.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank londoner109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beerhound123, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Thanks for the review.
As you have made no direct criticism of the member of staff I fail to see the issue in her being new?
Fireplaces tend to be full of ash by nature of having fires in them.
We pride ourselves on our "Green" efforts and try to use wood. If you google the way a wood fire should be made its on a bed of ash not an empty grate.
Most reviewers even those critical tend to compliment the atmosphere.
I'm afraid I find your review rather pointless not really accurate and a little unfair.
Anyhow I'm sorry we failed to meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2017

A small family group, we booked ahead for an evening meal. If you like lively/noisy bars then this one will suit you fine but the restaurant is another matter. Candlelight rooms can be romantic but here it was just a half light. The Wooden tables were ok but the wooden chairs had no cushions and by the end of the evening my rear was suffering all over.

However, all this can be forgiven if the food is good. It wasn't. I opted for a simple ham, egg and chips. The ham was ok, the eggs were good but the chips were poor. Some of my colleagues ordered steaks grilled rare. They all arrived overcooked. Green beans seemed to be the only vegetables on the menu. The waiting staff were very pleasant but obviously part-time school age and not too experienced in the skills of waiting on tables.
I don't think we will be returning any time soon.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beerhound123, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Terribly sorry you didn’t enjoy your time with us as most customers do. Perhaps if you’d mentioned it at the time we could of done something to help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2017

We stayed for a night to break up the journey from Cornwall back to London but didn't want to leave!

We had a lovely warm welcome when we arrived into the cosy pub entrance, with its roaring fireplaces and comfy sofas. The bar team couldn't have been friendlier. They had told us in advance that due to it being Sunday they wouldn't be serving a full menu for dinner but they booked a table for us at the Indian restaurant next door and even went back after we arrived early to bring the reservation forward for us. The bar itself is really well stocked with a good choice of local ales and ciders, a great selection of whiskies and interesting wine list.

Our room for the night was beautifully decorated and extremely clean and comfortable. They'd even gone to the trouble of turning up the heating for us so it was lovely and warm when we arrived.

And to top it all off one of best breakfasts we've had anywhere...we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kirstmcpesch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beerhound123, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2017

Thank you. Very pleased you enjoyed your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2016

New to the area, popped in for lunch ... great bar area with good selection of ales etc ... real fire going in the restaurant area ... good selection of food ... helpful staff ... prompt service ... free wifi ... will return!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Germaine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beerhound123, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2017

Many thanks. Look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wedmore
0.1 km away
The Swan
The Swan
#2 of 6 in Wedmore
202 reviews
2.2 km away
Poplar Farm
Poplar Farm
#5 of 6 in Wedmore
24 reviews
331.3 km away
No photo provided
The Wheatsheaf
#21 of 28 in Holt
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Church Street, Wedmore BS28 4AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wedmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Wedmore
Price Range: $159 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beautiful ' George Inn Wedmore', is a stunning 16Th-century coaching Inn, sitting in the heart of the historic village of Wedmore. The interior is a fusion of both old and new but with an overall contemporary feel.Drive into the car park though our historic archway. As you enter the bars you will be greeted with open fires,local ales straight from the cask and an amazing selection of continental lagers and wines.Our Chef sources local and sustainable products and offers a culinary delight fit for any pallet. Our rooms offer affordable luxury and are all en suite.Our ethos is to make every trip to the George a relaxing experience, Drink,Eat,Sleep,Enjoy ! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
George Cheddar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing