We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of Rainbow Motel

Rainbow Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rainbow Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tokaanu
Reviewed 28 January 2015

Unless you are motivated by decor, this motel should tick most of the boxes. It is modestly priced, clean, comfortable, with large well equipped rooms. It is situated in the midst of spectacular scenery, and offers its guests complimentary use of the geothermally heated spa baths (some of which were very warm indeed). The host couple, Bob and Ann are wonderfully warm salt-of-the earth kiwi hosts who make you very welcome. In winter this would be well placed as a base for skiing on nearby Ruapehu. The downside is that if you want to eat, you either bring your own food and use the fully equipped kitchen, or you drive the 5km to Turangi and buy food there. As I indicated the decor belongs to an earlier era ... but in a location like this, who cares?
I shall definitely revisit when in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms furthest from the road are quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BHarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed for only one night, and wish I had had more time here. My room was very clean and a generous size (unlike some accommodations which although modern, are fairly tight, especially bathrooms). The lady in charge gave me a free-standing lamp for the double bedroom so I could read in bed. I really enjoyed the hot water here. There are four pools in a rustic old wooden bathhouse, with the bore gurgling and spurting nearby. Three of the cubicles were enclosed, but I liked the pool on the far left which was open to the fields and views of Mt. Tauhara in the distance. A friend living in Turangi called in next morning to bathe when there was a big frost, and it was lovely to immerse ourselves in the really hot water and watch the steam rising from the pool and the melting frost as the sun came up. We even picked grapes from the grapevine growing outside the pool. One of the pools did not seem to be in use as it was very murky with floaties in it and did not appear to have water flowing through it. I would definitely stay here again, with better planning, and would make use of the kitchen facilities, as I love the Tokaanu/Turangi area with its lake, volcanoes, fabulous scenery and hot water abounding.

Room Tip: Worth the money to stay here, for 24 hour pools and kitchen facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

By no means the Ritz ! It was more like a batch/ donga than a motel. Could do with a paint job and new mattress. If you are on a Trout fishing trip and are happy to rough it then this is it but could be a bit cheaper. Had the full kitchen amenities which is good but not much comfort in the lounge seating side of things.
Best part is the free thermal hot water pool though the surrounds inside are in need of a clean up. plus the entrance could be a bit more spacious and not so steep. Hard if you have a disability with walking.
Owner very friendly and loves to chat!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cruisedontsnooze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had a lovely stay at this motel. The owners are very friendly and will do anything to help with your needs. The pools are great, especially if you have tackled the Tongariro Crossing! We had a one bedroom double which although old was beautifully presented and everything worked! The room was very large and comfortable. The TV was a little small and needs updating to a flat screen but this is being picky. The motel is in a great spot to explore the National Park and the Tongariro River etc. The free wifi was good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

After a long day of hiking the personal hot pools at Rainbow Motel were a pleasant surprise. Combined with the warm hospitality this was the perfect place to stay. Stayed in a 2 bedroom suite that was clean and spacious. Staff helped with local restaurant information too.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank DMAtractorlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tokaanu
7.6 km away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
0.6 km away
Braxmere
Braxmere
#1 of 1 in Tokaanu
110 reviews
0.0 km away
Tokaanu Lodge Motel
Tokaanu Lodge Motel
#1 of 1 in Tokaanu
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Motel

Address: State Highway 41 | Rd1, Tokaanu, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Tokaanu
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tokaanu
Price Range: $114 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rainbow Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Rainbow Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing