We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rainbow Motel
Nearby Hotels
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Braxmere(Tokaanu)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tokaanu Hotel(Tokaanu)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
12
10
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
12
10
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot poolsdrying roomnew zealandannspamotelunitaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 29 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed for only one night, and wish I had had more time here. My room was very clean and a generous size (unlike some accommodations which although modern, are fairly tight, especially bathrooms). The lady in charge gave me a free-standing lamp for the double bedroom so I could read in bed. I really enjoyed the hot water here. There are four pools in a rustic old wooden bathhouse, with the bore gurgling and spurting nearby. Three of the cubicles were enclosed, but I liked the pool on the far left which was open to the fields and views of Mt. Tauhara in the distance. A friend living in Turangi called in next morning to bathe when there was a big frost, and it was lovely to immerse ourselves in the really hot water and watch the steam rising from the pool and the melting frost as the sun came up. We even picked grapes from the grapevine growing outside the pool. One of the pools did not seem to be in use as it was very murky with floaties in it and did not appear to have water flowing through it. I would definitely stay here again, with better planning, and would make use of the kitchen facilities, as I love the Tokaanu/Turangi area with its lake, volcanoes, fabulous scenery and hot water abounding.

Room Tip: Worth the money to stay here, for 24 hour pools and kitchen facilities.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

By no means the Ritz ! It was more like a batch/ donga than a motel. Could do with a paint job and new mattress. If you are on a Trout fishing trip and are happy to rough it then this is it but could be a bit cheaper. Had the full kitchen amenities which is good but not much comfort in the lounge seating side of things.
Best part is the free thermal hot water pool though the surrounds inside are in need of a clean up. plus the entrance could be a bit more spacious and not so steep. Hard if you have a disability with walking.
Owner very friendly and loves to chat!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cruisedontsnooze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had a lovely stay at this motel. The owners are very friendly and will do anything to help with your needs. The pools are great, especially if you have tackled the Tongariro Crossing! We had a one bedroom double which although old was beautifully presented and everything worked! The room was very large and comfortable. The TV was a little small and needs updating to a flat screen but this is being picky. The motel is in a great spot to explore the National Park and the Tongariro River etc. The free wifi was good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

After a long day of hiking the personal hot pools at Rainbow Motel were a pleasant surprise. Combined with the warm hospitality this was the perfect place to stay. Stayed in a 2 bedroom suite that was clean and spacious. Staff helped with local restaurant information too.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank DMAtractorlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Everything you would expect from a motel, that has a few years on it's back - all being on the positive though:-)

The couple that run the motel, where excellent in offering tips, guidance and even arranging bus service to and from Tongariro National Park.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews