We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC”
Review of Rainbow Motel

Rainbow Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rainbow Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tokaanu
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

WOW. Our hostess was friendly, and helpful. Plenty of WI Fi. Hot mineral pools were brilliant varying in temperature from boil ya wine to Ahhhhhhh bliss. The bed was like sleeping on a cloud. AND Only a three minute drive to town

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Cherie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2017

OK so the motel units are only average but they're clean and spacious, the beds are comfortable and the folk who run the place are friendly and helpful. Its the hot pools that you're here for, and they're great.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henro2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Very old, and old furniture. Depressing surrounding. The hosts were very kindly and also the bed was alright. You can hear the neigbours talking and follow their conversation. And If they replace their chair you can hear it very loudly. You can also hear the cars on the road. The windows have a lot of rips, so it was very cold

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank herma440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2015

Booked 2 nights, was a mistake.Motel is small and run down.Room was like a fridge, no proper heating other than 2 old water radiators from the 1960's. woke up 3am frozen, condensations dripping down the mirror., furniture old and warn out. Not enough power points, had all 3 electric blankets running on extension power leads, fire risk. shower dribbles. smallest kitchen (if you could call it that) i've ever seen. hot pools ok but no facility to put in cold water as they were extremely hot, kids couldn't get in.
Service was fine until i decided we weren't going to spend another night in a fridge with little sleep. they disagreed with us and said they would not refund us any money. Said no one had ever complained before, but when we went down the road to another motel they told us heaps of people leave there complaining.
Overpriced and poor attitude.

Room Tip: none, all run down
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank travelaudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2015

Maybe we struck an off-day here but the service was lacking and the room was very average, although it was clean. The hot pools were relaxing and the kids enjoyed them, however we were glad to only spend one night there. More positively we found it a good spot to stop overnight on our way to Mt Ruapahu and it was a great 40 minute drive across to the ski-fields in the morning.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TheTs_VIC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tokaanu
7.6 km away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
0.6 km away
Braxmere
Braxmere
#1 of 1 in Tokaanu
113 reviews
0 km away
Tokaanu Lodge Motel
Tokaanu Lodge Motel
#1 of 1 in Tokaanu
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Motel

Address: State Highway 41 | Rd1, Tokaanu, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Tokaanu
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tokaanu
Price Range: $114 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rainbow Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Rainbow Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing