We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed stop”

The Orchard Farm Stall
Ranked #5 of 11 Restaurants in Grabouw
Price range: US$2 - US$10
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: One word... "Traditional" Not even an hour out of Cape Town, The Orchard Farm Stall is the first farm stall on the left on the corner of Oudebrug Road and the N2 in Grabouw. Facing out over the shaded parking lot, its pathways strewn with climbing roses, is the farm stall, clean country-style restrooms, a coffee shop/restaurant, a bike & car wash and a charming gift shop. The Orchard's traditional bakery is fantastic! On offer here are a variety of chunky farm breads, real croissants, mouthwatering pies, scones, muffins, old-fashioned apple tart and their famous chocolate mousse & baked lemon cheese cakes. Everyone's taste is catered for here! The shelves are lined with local honey, homemade jams and preserves including orange marmalade, passion fruit jam, pear and ginger preserve, pineapple jam, apricot jam, strawberry jam and quince jelly. There are local and imported teas on sale, any number of local arts, crafts and admirable gifts. There is an array of the usual - chips, sweets, cold drinks - that we've come to expect from farm stalls. There is a lovely indoor and outdoor playground, a jumping castle and a kiddies train for the little ones. The grassy surrounds of the farm stall make a perfect spot to sit and picnic if you're so inclined. The perfect stop for you and your family. Fresh drinking water and a large sprawling green lawn is available for pets too!
Reviewed 13 March 2018 via mobile

Situated on the N2 and the turn off to Grabouw, The Orchard offers plenty parking right next to the farm stall. Relax inside or out and enjoy good coffee and maginificant pies. The food is fresh and delicious, and the farm stall interesting. Will stop here again and again.

Thank francoisroux10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Orchard F, Public Relations Manager at The Orchard Farm Stall, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your great review francoisroux10.

A very good choice of words might I add which you used to sum up your recent experience here at The Orchard:

"Plenty Parking" "Relaxing" "Good Coffee" "Magnificent Pies" "Fresh and Delicious Food".

We certainly look forward to your next visit. And again and again...

Safe travels,

The Orchard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2018

We dropped in in the morning to have a quick look if we'd have lunch here later, and were warmly welcomed. We were invited to make a booking and could even have our pick of tables. Our hostess recognised us when we came back and we had a great table in the outside shady area. The Farm stall is easily accessible from the N2 and there is lots of (secure) parking. The garden looks great and there is a lot to do for kids, making it a family place. The service was very friendly, funny and personal. The food was very good, both in quality as well as quantity. Also, it is priced very friendly. You need not go hungry when you leave here. I had the boot which was delicious.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stalex24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Orchard F, Public Relations Manager at The Orchard Farm Stall, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Stalex24

Thank you for your great review!

We are so glad that you decided to book with us for a later return lunch. We are indeed an easy "hop-on hop-off" the N2 stop for the whole family.

We're very pleased that you got treated to our warm hospitality, good food and friendly service from our staff.

Pop in again soon and say hello.

Safe travels,

The Orchard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

Excellent choice of banting meals as well as a wide variety of other meals. Tasty food and super friendly staff. Well worth as stop!

Thank Skin Care E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Orchard F, Public Relations Manager at The Orchard Farm Stall, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear karinupstairs

Thank you for such a great review! Very pleased especially that we were able to accommodate your banting diet meal requirements.

Visit us again soon for some more tasty food and super friendly service from our staff.

Safe travels,

The Orchard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018 via mobile

We went for Sunday lunch and the food was good, prices were not too high and the service was good. I will go back there again.

Thank HewanMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Orchard F, Public Relations Manager at The Orchard Farm Stall, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2018

Dear HewanMc

We're very pleased to learn that you recently enjoyed a Sunday lunch with us here at The Orchard Farm Stall. Thank you for your great review and rating based on your experience.

The Orchard looks forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Safe travels!

The Orchard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018

We stopped at the Orchard two weeks ago and bought Apple Crumble, Brownies and Macaroons for my son's birthday celebrations. What a huge disappointment to find that the Apple Crumble was black on the inside with mould. The Macaroons were hard, a clear indication that they were also old. Not to mention the disappointment of not having snacks for the celebrations. We were extremely disappointed and contacted Orchard Farm Stall. They promised that the manager would contact me. It is now two weeks later and I am still waiting for somebody to make contact with me.

    • Service
    • Food
Thank avosloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Orchard F, Public Relations Manager at The Orchard Farm Stall, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear avosloo

Thank you for your review which we have since been in contact with you about.

To reiterate, we do try our utmost best at all times to deliver a high level of food quality control and to maintain a great level of customer service in a clean, friendly, family-orientated environment.

The Orchard deeply regrets that you had this unforeseen experience and we can assure you that it was once-off. We generally receive such great feedback and reviews so this has really saddened us.

However, thank you again, your feedback has played a pivotal role in assisting us with the implementation of even stricter quality control measures which we hope you may one day get to experience and write home about.

Safe travels,

The Orchard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Orchard Farm Stall also viewed

Grabouw, Overberg District
Elgin, Overberg District
 
Grabouw, Overberg District
Grabouw, Overberg District
 

Been to The Orchard Farm Stall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing