We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Devon,s hidden gem.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Starcross
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Croft Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Starcross B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2015

Due to my wife falling seriously ill whilst on a family holiday I was forced to overstay my holiday,I looked for alternative accommodation,after trying in vain to find accommodation I was told to try the croft, the door was answered by Ken,I was invited in introduced to Colin and and checked in,room 9 a twin room for 2nights Colin must be physic as the next day my son was flown home from Germany so he could visit his mum in hospital and the second bed was needed. Ken,s breakfast,s alone are worth 11/10 and Colin,s hospitality ,friendliness,and genuine attention to detail is something very rarely found ,my son said he had the best nights sleep in months . you enter the croft as strangers and leave as friends ,on my next trip to devon I will put the croft 1st choice for a place to stay,Thank you Ken & Colin Don,t ever change, regards Martin & ryan.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2015

Many many thanks for your kind review Martin & Ryan.
I do hope that all is well with your wife and you arrived safely back home.
It was such a pleasure to meet you both and although the circumstances were not happy ones to begin with, that by the end of your short stay we ended up being pals and someday would be lovely to meet your wife.
Also many thanks for your kind donation to the Military charity that was so kind and heartfelt thanks to you both.Good to also share a few jokes too and a little of the military banter too!
Stay well safe and happy and pop in whenever your passing though youre most welcome.
Best wishes Hope the flag is flying Ryan!
Col Kenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2015

Stayed at this guesthouse one more time, location easy to get to just about 15 mins from M5.
The room was of very high standard, bed very comfortable all you would need such as on suite, t.v, wifi.
Breakfast your spoilt for choice fresh fruit, dried cooked breakfast by Ken to a high standard, you could order food by Colin to any little quirky desire you had.
Any how over all take the dog leave the kids enjoy, relax and go home refreshed.

Room Tip: Room 9 but all rooms nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroftCockwood, Manager at The Croft Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2015

Thank you so much for your kind review Deborah - It was nice to see you again and glad alls going well for you. Hope to see you again down again maybe living this way at some point then well be neighbours too.
Stay well safe and happy always and glad that you did get some "Relaxation" during your stay
Thank you once again
Col Kenny & The pets

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2015

recommend by another B/B after booking mix up, how lucky we were ! Colin and Ken so welcoming and entertaining. ! Breakfast superb, so much choice. Lovely room, everywhere very clean. Look forward to a future visit .

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Harbour great view, but might to suit everyone as on main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lainey54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2015

Lovely to have met you both Gary & Elaine - worked out nicely having stayed with us after your initial booking at Dawlish.
At least we all had a great laugh and became pals too.
Hope your journey back home went safely and look forward to seeing you both again should you ever be this way.
Thank you so much also for the lovely card a very nice thought and gesture.
Best wishes always stay well safe happy always
xx
Col Kenny and the pets (Oh and the stoat is back lol) !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2015

WE stayed a couple of nights over the May day Bank Holiday the weather wasn't up to much but the hotel was very good clean and Colin and Ken were very friendly and helpful breakfast was excellent and we were able to take our cocker spaniel Sadie at no extra cost I would like to thank them for their hospitality would stay again if that way

Room Tip: all rooms are very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tricia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2015

Lovely to have met you all and glad your trip home was a safe one.
Thank you so much for your kind review much appreciated.
Enjoy your summertime and moreso the new Premiership football status - Hopefully my team will be playing yours if we can stay up in the top flight.
Best wishes all round and special hi to "Sadie"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2015

Stayed here a week ago, its really a good place to stay. Owner very friendly, Breakfast was great,even cooked our dog a little breakfast. Nice setting just across from harbour. Left my shoes there and the owner brought them up to the caravan site that we had gone to. Would definitely recommend and will return.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Bustercaerphilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2015

Many thanks for your kind review much appreciated - It was lovely to meet you all and so nice to have a laugh too.
You are always welcome to pop in whenever your down and around at the campsite you can even have a go at throwing the mace and I am sure "Buster" would like a welcome bowl of water and a treat .
Stay well safe and happy always Best wishes
Col n Kenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Croft Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croft Guest House

Address: Cockwood Harbour | Starcross, Starcross EX6 8QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Starcross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Starcross
Price Range: $63 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well appointed,beverage making facilities,Showers & en Suite facilities.All rooms with wall mounted TV’s & Free Wi-Ficonnection available.Welcome folder information on surrounding areas & the local amenities.Breakfast menu of varied choices served in spaciousDining room overlooking private gardens.Safe off road free private car parking for both cars & boats.Comfortable lounge with fully Licensed bar, where you canRelax & enjoy large screen TV screen or browseInformation leaflets & plan your days.A 5 minute walk to two of Devon’s finest pub/restaurantsThe Anchor Inn & The Ship Inn, where you can sample Local seafood for which the area is renowned.10% Discount on all meals (Guests of Croft)Your own keyNo Restrictions - Friendly well behaved pets welcome ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing