We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Starcross
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Croft Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Starcross B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2017

Very welcoming, nothing too much trouble. Lovely room spotlessly clean . Only here for one night this time but will return for a fuller experience. Room had lovely views, short walk to local eateries for dinner. Thank you

Room Tip: Lovely views of the estuary
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnfc65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2017

Many thanks for your very kind review, Much appreciated.
Glad that you enjoyed your short stay,It was equally nice to meet you and enjoyed your company.
Looking forward to seeing you here again, until then stay well safe happy.

P.S. (On a personal note Many many thanks for your sympathy & kindness on my recent family berevement too - your words of kindness & literature has helped greatly being so very far away from my homeland)
Thank you once again
Best wishes always
Col Kenny
The Croft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

What a lovely guest house. My family and I came to stay for a weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The proprietors were fabulous hosts and the breakfast was absolutely gorgeous with plenty of choice. The rooms were clean and welcoming. The hotel is pretty central to everything with fantastic views. Would highly recommend and will definitely be back again

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2017

Many thanks for your very kind review Much appreciated.
It is always so nice to meet and share good company with lovely friendly and genuine happy guests.
Thank you for being such lovely guests and you are always very very welcome to pop in if you are ever passing by or better still staying here again
Best wishes always
Stay well safe happy always
Best wishes
Col Kenny & Pets & Friends
The Croft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2017

Our second year for an overnignt stay visiting friends at nearby caravan park. Lovely room with view all spotlessly clean. Colin & Ken are so friendly and welcoming. Breakfast as before was excellent. Looking forward to next year.
Mike & Kim Lewis

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2017

Hello Mike & Kim,
Many thanks for your kind review much appreciated.
So nice to see you again on your second visit and stay with us. Always nice to see you and seems like it was only a few months we last saw you, time certainly does fly.
Thank you once again for your very kind and complimentary comments.
Thank you in return also for being such lovely friendly, clean, genuine happy go lucky guests makes for happier home.
Stay well safe happy always
Best wishes
Col Kenny
The Croft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017

We only stayed for one night to stay close to our daughter/son in law and grandchildren staying down the road in caravan. Lovely location overlooking harbour and lovely gardens. Colin who runs the B&B was so welcoming and friendly. We felt right at home straight away. Didn't have chance to speak to Ken who cooks the breakfast but it was delicious and plentiful- cereals fruit yogurt toast and full English. Our room was big and spotlessly clean with harbour view. There is also a nice homely lounge area with a small bar if you fancy a night cap or quiet evening - I don't drink so Colin made me a nice green tea. If we are down that neck of the woods will defo stay again. Thanks Colin - Rach and kev from Caerphilly

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank coopraccaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2017

Hello Rach & Kev,
Thank you so much for your very kind complimentary review, Much appreciated.
It was a brief time we spent with you but had loads of quality as we enjoyed our chat and bar beverages (Mine Non Green Tea lol)
Lovely to have met you both thank you also for being such lovely genuine friendly guests.
You fitted well into our circle of regulars.
Please do always pop in if ever you are passing the door always open to you
Best wishes always
Col Kenny
The Croft

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017

My wife and I have just returned from our fairly regular visit to the Croft. It's hard to fault anything about this charming B and B in a wonderful location near to our family in Starcross. Stunning views of the harbour can be viewed from most of the bedrooms and the Ship PH is just across the road serves great food. Colin and Ken have become great friends over the past couple of years and we can't wait for our next trip there. The rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable with amazing attention to detail. Ken's breakfasts set you up for the day and are taken in the light and airey dining room overlooking the garden. Nothing is too much trouble for Colin who always goes out of his way to ensure that your stay is perfect in every way. B and B's just don't come any better than the Croft and if you're waiting for a negative comment to balance this review - don't - because there are none ! If you're visiting this part of Devon, look no further than the Croft for an enjoyable stay and happy holiday memories. Maureen and Rog

Room Tip: All rooms are nice but a harbour view is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank maureenandrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroftCockwood, Owner at The Croft Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2017

Many thanks for very kind review Maureen & Roger, Much appreciated.

It is always so nice to see you here, and sharing your company when you are visiting family locally, and nice that we can be just as close to them as yourselves.
We are very lucky indeed to have many many regular guests whom become friends as you both are to us.
With guests like yourselves it makes for a happy house atmosphere and we in return thank you for that.
Our chirpy dry humoured quotes and tales we enjoy too.
You keep your room so so tidy and always so polite & considerate, breakfasts are a pleasure to serve and thoroughly enjoy and relish every moment you are here staying.
(Long my it be so).
You will both always be our friends and very welcome to come and stay even if were not a Guest House Business.
Have a wonderful Easter and best wishes.
Stay well safe happy and smiling.
Thank you once again
Col Kenny Ellee & Badger
xx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Croft Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Croft Guest House

Address: Cockwood Harbour | Starcross, Starcross EX6 8QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Starcross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Starcross
Price Range: $63 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well appointed,beverage making facilities,Showers & en Suite facilities.All rooms with wall mounted TV’s & Free Wi-Ficonnection available.Welcome folder information on surrounding areas & the local amenities.Breakfast menu of varied choices served in spaciousDining room overlooking private gardens.Safe off road free private car parking for both cars & boats.Comfortable lounge with fully Licensed bar, where you canRelax & enjoy large screen TV screen or browseInformation leaflets & plan your days.A 5 minute walk to two of Devon’s finest pub/restaurantsThe Anchor Inn & The Ship Inn, where you can sample Local seafood for which the area is renowned.10% Discount on all meals (Guests of Croft)Your own keyNo Restrictions - Friendly well behaved pets welcome ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing