We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (493)
Filter reviews
494 results
Traveller rating
244
194
45
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
244
194
45
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews air con pool area dining room curing degrees gym german fango padua
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 494 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2017

Hotel metropole is a trip back in time, from the reception and waiting staffs blue jackets and ties, dining room chandelier and pianist, to Romanesque exterior pool facade. The setting is Abano Terme, which is a rural town with hotels on each corner - some classic, some cement blocks, some white, some terracotta, some green! Metropole has old style rooms with heavy curtains and beautiful Italian tiled bathrooms. Downstairs is the fango/mud bath rooms (1 bath included in the price) and outside are 4 thermal pools ranging in temperature from 28 to 34 and one freshwater pool at 24 degrees, in which the oldies do breaststroke. Children are allowed (we had an interconnecting room at the same price as adults) but are expected to be quiet by the other guests. A lot of older German, French and Italian people float around in the waters, curing their ailments and enjoy the hydromassage jets. It is slightly surreal. The breakfast is excellent - we didn't try the buffet or alacarte meals. The gym was a 'sauna' with no air conditioning. Of our 2 rooms the air con worked in one. Wifi worked well. The staff were excellent and fluent in German, French, and English with good recommendations for local more kid friendly restaurants. Having a car or being up for some bike touring is ideal so you can explore the local towns of montselice, este and padova and wine tasting in the euganean hills. This hotel is one of the most expensive. Emilia who takes the water aerobics, bike riding tour and yoga is excellent. The bakery in the side street opposite was great for snacks and drinks to take on picnics.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms overlook the street, Rear rooms are subject to music from the terrace and whipper snappers in the morning.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GranitaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
direzione_metropole, Direttore at Hotel Terme Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Dear guest,
thank you for your review , we are happy that you had a beautiful and unforgettable staying at Metropole.
You have explained in a very simple but attractive way, what the clients can do and enjoy a thermal holiday.
For the gym area (made new this year) , we have made a mistake , the hydraulic technician has forgot bring the air condition line in this area, but in January when we closed the hotel for some new restyling, we will put the air condition in the gym area.
We hope to meet you soon again and in the meantime , the Metropole’s team wish you all the best.
The manager
Aldo Casagrande

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017

My room was very quiet, the spa service was very good, and all the amenities were excellent. The mud bed were done by very professional people and also the massages . Extra activities like aqua gym was very well done by Emilia. the park was very large with a lot of fitness centers. The food was excellent and if you are not a great eater you could ask for half portions

Room Tip: I was at the six floor and was very calm and pleasant and air conditioning was perfect
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Liliana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
direzione_metropole, Direttore at Hotel Terme Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Dear guest,
We are glad that you enjoyed your holidays at Hotel Metropole and we thank you for the nice review.
We hope to join you again at Metropole for a relaxant holiday
The manager
Aldo Casagrande

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for one night on our way through Italy. I cannot remember when I was so disappointed by a 4-star hotel:
- sound insulation in rooms is very bad. You can hear when your neighbors go to the restroom which is awful.
- it seems our room 320 was located close to some technical room or equipment because for the whole night we were hearing some rattling sounds from behind the outer wall.
- it is impossible to fully turn off the air conditioning in our room. It keeps turning back on again. I spent an hour wrestling with it until I finally figured out a workaround is to lower the temperature on the thermostat until the whole thing turns off.
- we ordered rooms with full board but only 2 types of hot meals were offered to us on breakfast (scrambled eggs and small sausages). Everything else was billed additionally.
- the breakfast was attended by elderly people in swimming suits and bath robes. In my opinion, only swimming pool bar should be allowed to be visited with no clothes on.
- the only restaurant on site serves lunch and dinner for just 1:15. That is a very tight time slot even for Europe.
- there is literally no room service menu available. To find out was is offered for today you have to call the reception each time. I wonder what is the problem with printing out the menu for the whole week for example and putting it in guest rooms. Or at least having some food that can be ordered any time a day.

I do not recommend visiting this property.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
3  Thank Кирилл Ю
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
direzione_metropole, Direttore at Hotel Terme Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Dear mister Kirill,

We were surprised from your review, over the last Christmas period we were fully book and this is the first big complain for our hotel. We are sorry that you didn’t find the right location for your holidays and referring to your points, we put in evidence that :
• We have two regular clients coming since 10 years, which they take always the junior suite 220 and 420. The two suite are one above and the other under your junior suite 320, but they never said to us that there are some noise problem coming from the bathroom
• The night between 4 and 5 January we had a very strong wind during all the night and some of the Christmas illuminations disconnected from the attack’s point, so they beat on the external wall of the hotel. We sorry for the noise caused, but it was really a very strong wind , very unusual for Abano .
• If you just said at the reception that you have a problem with the regulation of the heating, we could have sent our technical or our bell boy to give some more information about our system, to regulated the temperature direct from the room
• In the breakfast room there are more than 100 products ( from brioches, cakes to cheese, cold cuts, champagnes and all the typical products for breakfast) that you can choose from the buffet , for hot meals at breakfast we have 2 types of eggs, sausages two types, toasted bread , besides we have a special small menu à la carte for the plates not included , like smoked salmon, special omelet , exotic fruits
• The breakfast room is near our spa center , so the clients can come with bath robe , but not in swimming custom
• The entrance time to the restaurant a is from 7.45 to 09 p.m., but you can stay in the restaurant until 10, 10.30 o’clock
• We have rooms service from 7.30 a.m. in the morning, till 12 p.m.in the night . At the breakfast time, lunch and dinner time, you can order all you like and prefer, in the other time there is a bar room service with sandwich, toast ham and cheese , fruits and small cakes.

Like we told you at the beginning, we didn’t have any particular complain , rather we had a lot of compliments, for the service, the food and for all the nice entertainment we had organized during this Christmas period.
We sorry that you didn’t fill in the right place, but said just after 1 night the hotel is not recommended, it seems to be too much.
Anyway thanks for your review, that’s always help us to improve our service for the clients.
The manager
Aldo Casagrande

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2016

Last year in September I was the 3rd time at the Spa (Fango) and massages and the experience has always been great, the staff is professional, friendly and always helpful. The facilities (four outdoor and one indoor swimming pool) beautiful landscaped gardens and the food is fantastic. I am hoping we can fly over again this year because it really helped us, it was the first time for my husband and he enjoyed it too.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the gardens and pools have balconies are quiet and not very large.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helga B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
direzione_metropole, Direttore at Hotel Terme Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2016

Dear Helga,
it’s a pleasure to read your review, we are glad that you find the right place for your holidays .
September is a very nice month to spend a thermal holidays in Abano.
Thank you for your details about our services and hoping to meet you soon at Metropole, we send our best regards form all the Metropole team and Borile family.
The manager
Aldo Casagrande

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2015 via mobile

I was there just for a business dinner. So hopefully my experience there is unique. I was very disappointed with the service. The waiter was very agressive and he took away dishes before we has finished. He did not want to serve the available choice on the menú, he tried to have all of us (8 persons ) eating the same thing. food was terrible, nothing yo do with a 4 Star S hotel. I won't never go there, nor our customers.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
Thank AnnaMariaDalPonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
direzione_metropole, Direttore at Hotel Terme Metropole, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2015

Dear Miss Dal Bianco,
we were surprise from your review.
From you company we had more than 30 people in the hotel and they were happy with the service and quality of meals, especially for the breakfast and the Spa areas .
We are sorry that you fill like we wont to serve the same dishes to everyone, maybe was a misunderstanding with the waiter.
If you look to the reviews from our clients , you can see that they were happy with our services and restaurant, you just came for 1 evening and maybe you have choose the wrong dishes for your taste.
When our clients don’t find or like any dishes from the menu, we are always at their disposal to propose many other choices.
You live not so far away from Abano, we would like to invaded you to taste again our restaurant, for sure you will find the right menu for you.
In awaiting to have you as welcome guest , we send our best regards
The Manager
Aldo Casagrande

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews