We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot understand the rave reviews”
Review of B&B Tranquillo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
B&B Tranquillo
Ranked #54 of 228 Agrigento B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 May 2012

I called the B&B Tranquillo as they had requested before we got there to tell them what time we would be arriving. When we got there, we had a little bit of difficulty parking in the very small lot and even finding someone to show us to our room. When we finally got in, the room was large and clean, but we had no towels, soap,etc. The third bed was not made up and when the gentleman brought in the linens, he handed them to my daughter to make up the bed. He did make up the bed when she handed them back to him. He was on the phone constantly and seemed annoyed when we asked him any questions. My daughter asked for his help in parking the car and he reluctantly went with her to find a spot on the street.
He asked what time we wanted breakfast and showed us the kitchen next to our room where he told us he would bring the breakfast the next morning.He knocked on our door and took us into the kitchen. There was a paper bag with our name on it, which contained 3 very sweet, cold croissants. There was no cereal, juice or anything else. When we asked for coffee, he pointed to the espresso machine. He had a woman with him and there ensued a rather long conversation with her. She finally made us 3 small coffees, showed us the milk in the refrigerator, and left after locking up the coffee. There was a room adjacent to ours and they had left the same paper bag for them. Since the coffee had been locked up, I guess they did not even get any coffee. The B&B Tranquillo must have completely forgotten what the second B represents. This was the most unsatisfactory place we stayed in during our 14 days in Sicily or in fact anywhere on our travels in Europe.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AgiBridgeport_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beb_tranquillo, Proprietario at B&B Tranquillo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

We were informed by telephone on the time of arrival, but did not specify who would come one day earlier than expected. So they found the room was clean but devoid of towels and linens for the bed.
We turned immediately to solve the problem giving him the room complete in the shortest possible time.
Please note that we have worked to recover their passports have forgotten Trapani hotel, we parked the car because they could not do it, the night they lost the keys to the building and we have ensured that they had a couple of keys to their return.
Surely we have done what other facilities do not usually show as all the other reviews.
The next morning was available in the kitchen all you need to make a hearty breakfast, including coffee, milk, biscuits, yogurt, orange juice, fruit, croissants and pastries.
Please note that coffee and cappuccino is made by an automatic machine, and that breakfast is prepared individually by our guests to enable them to be able to perform at any time.
They left a huge number of dirty dishes, lights, and the door opened.
Certainly, our reviews show the availability and attention to all customers who have stayed in our house, surely these people do not know the meaning of the double B, so we encourage you to choose a future for the 6-star hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2012

Everything about our stay here was wonderful made more memorable by the warmth, generosity and thoughtfulness of our host, Pino. Due to the infrequency of busses that day heading towards Scale del Turchi, Pino offered to help get us there and made sure we could find our way back to Agrigento via public transportation. He even packed us a nice lunch. Our ensuite room was very clean, quiet and comfortable with superb WiFi connection and good air-con+heating. Breakfast was generous. Coffee delicious. Kitchen well equipped. Close to the city center, grocery, train, and bus station. If you like walking it took us about 30 mins to reach the Valley of the Temples. We had to leave early the next morning for the train but Pino made sure we had nice hot pastries to take with us (of course!). We highly recommend B&B Tranquillo. Such hospitality is rare!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polkterrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Our large, comfortable room appeared to be the former living room of a modern apartment. It had easy access to a kitchen shared with another room, which was vacant during our stay. We were only there two nights so we didn't do any cooking (except for using the juicer and coffee maker), but it was fully equipped. Fruit, water, cookies, crackers, etc., are always available. Breakfast was delivered to the kitchen, so we could eat when and what you want. We had sandwiches and sweets. As others have written, the owner was absolutely wonderful. He offered to drive us to a restaurant, detouring to give us a look at the temples at night, which was spectacular. If you're traveling by train/bus, this is an easy walk from the station.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Just want to "ditto" the accolades on B&B Tranquillo. The owner, Giuseppe ("Pino") retired a few years ago & dedicated himself to creating this great little apartment. It's on the ground floor, and made more welcoming by many pots of herbs and flowers on the little "porch" outside the front door.
Everything about the apartment is spotless and first class, with high-quality workmanship and all the latest gadgets, including a 1-cup-at-a-time coffee maker, so that you can have a quick espresso or cappuccino any time you want!
As others have said, the host asks when you'd like to have breakfast and roughly what you'd like to have, and he delivers it the following morning. (I especially loved the wonderful ricotta-filled cannoli!)
It's a bit of a hike between the apt and the train and bus stations and restaurants. But Pino had provided fresh oranges, cookies, milk, cheese, pasta, oil, breakfast cereals, etc. so we located a grocery store and just cooked "at home" at night, to avoid hiking up the hill to a restaurant.
Pino drove us all the way to the Valley of the Temples so we wouldn't have to take the bus, and wanted to buy us a guidebook and coffee there! He doesn't speak English, but my husband and I speak some Italian, so communication was no problem. His son is usually available by phone if not in person.
After connecting easily to the internet, we suddenly could NOT connect the next day. When we called Pino, he came over immediately, and showed us a simple solution: Just unplug the router (by the bed, near the window), wait 10 seconds, and plug it in again -- then it worked perfectly.
It's a great little apartment, and PINO is the highlight! I'd recommend B&B Tranquillo to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoomerWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

This B&B is in a very quiet section of town (in fact, it is quite difficult to find or to drive to). The other big plus is the host; he was incredibly helpful (he drove us to a restaurant and spent half an hour trying to find a self-service laundry; alas, he failed on this). The minuses: spotty internet access, the room wasn't quite warm enough (but we were visiting in January, so this probably won't affect the reader of this review), and we ran out of hot water during our showers. None of these minuses are at all major, and I would certainly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramsey39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agrigento hotels
5 km away
Hotel Costazzurra Museum & SPA
8.9 km away
Antica Perla Residence Hotel
5.7 km away
Kore Hotel
Kore Hotel
#1 of 1 in Villaggio Mose
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 km away
Roba degli Ulivi B&B
Roba degli Ulivi B&B
#1 of 2 in Montaperto
52 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel Villa Athena
Hotel Villa Athena
#1 of 23 in Agrigento
1,791 reviews
8.2 km away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Tranquillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Tranquillo

Address: Via Acrone 30, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Region: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 228 B&Bs / Inns in Agrigento
Price Range: $61 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 400 meters from Central railway station of Agrigento and 800 meters from the bus terminal building is easily accessible for those arriving by car or public transport. The B&B has four rooms: one double and one triple room with ensuite, two triple rooms share a bathroom. The rooms are furnished in modern style and equipped with TV, air conditioning, WIFI Internet, bed linen and bath towels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your B&B Tranquillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Tranquillo Agrigento, Sicily

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing