We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice small luxury hotel in the center of the old town.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Ascoli Piceno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 October 2017

This was a lovely, small luxury hotel that offers parking (which many don't) at a reasonable price. Our suite was very spacious with a comfortable bed and large shower. It could have used a bit more storage space for clothes (one of the three chairs in the room should be replaced with a small bureau or armoire with shelves for clothing). The spa was also very nice and beautifully decorated. The staff was very pleasant and helpful as well.

Room Tip: Suites are very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 1,145 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2017

We recently stayed at this delightful hotel.
The staff were welcoming from the moment of our arrival. The accommodation was very comfortable and reasonably priced. The location was very central to the city's attractions
In all a very pleasant stay in an interesting location. To be recommended without qualification!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017

If you are going to Ascoli Piceno, I'd strongly recommend you stay at this gorgeous, moderately priced, perfectly located, historic hotel.
The staff were all wonderfully friendly, helpful and efficient, and always ready with big smiles. The breakfast was delicious, though very Italian in that there weren't any hot foods or many savories - this is not an English or American breakfast, nor should it be in Italy! The fresh squeezed juices made to order were a very special treat.
I was a little disappointed with the spa, as it's quite small and the steam room and Jacuzzi were not very hot. No big deal for me, but I would say that the spa should not be the reason you come to AP or this hotel. I wish there were a gym, especially with all their talk of health (in the food and spa).
My room was large, beautiful and quiet with good AC and wifi. Only negative was a VERY strong mildew smell throughout and what looked to be water damage to the walls of the bathroom (presumably the same source as the smell). I'm allergic to mold and mildew, and I had some trouble breathing at night.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank eh555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

This place is special. It's got all the charm of an historic Palazzo, but the elegance and top notch service of a leading hotel. The people are amazingly helpful, the restaurants are abundant and within walking distance, and the city is one of the most fascinating that we have been to in all of Italy!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _ecclou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Nice hotel in the Centre of Ascoli as a base for exploring the beautiful region. Breathes the typical old but rich style, coupled with all the necessary comfort.

Nice clean rooms with attentive and helpful staff. At the same time a nice formula for starting from 11 am (in same locally and breakfast) a good dish to order with attention to local products (wide range and open up to 24 hours).

A must for those who want to discover The Marche from one central point. We have, during our 6-day stay, eventually 3 days pulled out to Ascoli to know, in substance, (nice town).

A must.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DENK-roho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ascoli Piceno
0.3 km away
Hotel Residenza 100 Torri
Hotel Residenza 100 Torri
#2 of 13 in Ascoli Piceno
400 reviews
0.2 km away
Palazzo Guiderocchi
Palazzo Guiderocchi
#4 of 13 in Ascoli Piceno
445 reviews
0.2 km away
Albergo Sant'Emidio
Albergo Sant'Emidio
#3 of 13 in Ascoli Piceno
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.4 km away
Smeraldo Suites & Spa
Smeraldo Suites & Spa
#3 of 56 in San Benedetto Del Tronto
1,015 reviews
0.2 km away
Cantina dell'Arte
Cantina dell'Arte
#9 of 13 in Ascoli Piceno
62 reviews
13.7 km away
Villa Picena
Villa Picena
#1 of 3 in Colli Del Tronto
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti

Address: Corso Trento E Trieste 35, 63100, Ascoli Piceno, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Marche > Province of Ascoli Piceno > Ascoli Piceno
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Ascoli Piceno
Price Range: $113 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo dei Mercanti is a hotel in Ascoli Piceno situated in the city center. There are many great attractions nearby, including Piazza del Popolo, Ascoli Piceno Duomo, Church of St. Francis and Ventidio Basso Theater. Also close by are Cattedrale di Sant'Emidio and Piazza Arringo. Highlights include a health club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Palazzo dei Mercanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing