We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel la Villa
Nearby Hotels
Lo Spedalicchio(Bastia Umbra)
US$91
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Turim Hotel(Bastia Umbra)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cristallo Hotel Assisi(Santa Maria degli Angeli)
US$79
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Santa Maria(Santa Maria degli Angeli)
US$82
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cladan(Santa Maria degli Angeli)(Great Value!)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valle Di Assisi, BW Premier Collection(Santa Maria degli Angeli)
US$128
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Raffaello Park Hotel(Santa Maria degli Angeli)
US$80
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Campiglione(Bastia Umbra)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Santa Lucia(Bastia Umbra)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Panda(Santa Maria degli Angeli)
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
49
46
34
3
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
46
34
3
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfleetway travelcookery lessonhired a carhalf boardchefstationcleanlinessportionsbonusbalconyspellominsreceptionistrometownsmenuairport
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Hotel good, breakfast good, staff lovely, evening meal could do with some . Improvement and be hotter but for the . Money
/we . Paid the hotel couldn't have been getting much out of it , New Owner had taken over while we were there so I'm sure it will get better and better, no tea and coffee in rooms and heating doesn't go on till november so bear . In mind when booking , rooms cleaned daily , and ten to fifteen minute walk to station to visit other places in umbria ,hotel were very helpful in taking us to airport to pick up hire care 10/15 mins away and picking us up when dropping back no extra charge .

Room Tip: Room 101 has balcony
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jennypenny45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016

I have just been reading some of the latest reviews and found some to be very unfair. We recently stayed at this hotel and had a lovely time. Although the hotel had a few problems with the internet and water system it was overall a good place to stay. The staff were very pleasant and Sophie helpful and very friendly. She always had a chat when we were passing. Our room was fine and we had a balcony overlooking the hill town of Assisi. The hotel had nice grounds and a clean swimming pool. Although the menu was a bit repetitive we could always find something we liked. We thoroughly enjoyed our cookery lesson from Annamaria and we were also taken to a ceramic workshop, which was very interesting. The hotel doesn't claim to be 5star. It is trying to build a good reputation after coming under new management. The whole holiday was extremely reasonable and I think it was very good value. We also travelled to the airport in Rome by taxi and the gentleman who drove was very friendly and helpful. That was all included in the price.
Bastia is very central to many of the lovely towns around. The trains were great and always on time. The girl at the station was exceedingly friendly and helpful and travelling to Assisi, Spello, Perugia and Spoletto was easy. They were well worth visits.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gardens or car park.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2016

We stayed at this hotel last week on a Fleetway travel deal; the price was very inexpensive indeed for a half board offer and so we did not expect too much. The location in Bastia is invaluable for its train station, which we used to visit various hill top towns....Spello, Spoleto, Assisi, Foligno and Perugia.......very cheaply on trains which were clean and punctual. The walk to the station from the hotel was about 15 mins but along a busy road without pavements for the most part. Bastia itself was a disappointment in that we found little to recommend it save the train station, which allowed us to ignore Bastia and spend our time in nearby ( very splendid) hill top towns. The hotel is very pleasant indeed in terms of the rooms and public areas, although upon arrival we requested a map of the town and were informed that the printer was not working and we would need to wait; a map was never forthcoming sadly. The food at breakfast was perfectly fine for the price we paid, with only a few mornings when niggles arose such as stale breakfast rolls, or fruit which was unripe and thus not wonderful. The three course dinner which was included in our (very cheap) deal was variable in quality; some dishes were fine but others were of very variable quality, and sometimes luke warm upon arrival at the table. Several diners sent food back as unacceptable, although we felt that for the price the hotel was trying to do its best. The waiters were most pleasant and did a good job, especially as they sometimes had to take the brunt of diners' complaints. To be honest we recognised that having paid so little, we should not have expected more than was on offer; this holiday enabled us to visit several other splendid places in a very beautiful area and offered a clean and comfortable base for the week. So pretty good value in fact.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosieaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 November 2016

Thank you for your review. I am very sorry for the map you asked but the day you asked if you remember there was a girl and she was at the reception only 1 day. Unfortunately she promised everybody forgetting that I did not know where she found a map we could print and I did non succeed in finding this website. That is the reason why you never received the map. Regarding the food we are working on this. Thank you once again and maybe we will met again.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Bastia is a great location to get around and visit many of the beautiful towns situated on hill tops. The trains are frequent, punctual and will take you to Rome or Florence if you fancy a couple of hours on a longish distance journey. Just remember when you visit some of the nearby smaller towns, the railway stations are not in the centre of town. They tend to be a short walk or bus ride away.

The Hotel la Villa is only a short drive from the airport and approximately a 10 min walk to the railway station. The hotel is a blend of the old and new - it has some great old traditional features mixed with some modern introductions. Our room was clean, small & compact and overlooked the garden (with swimming pool). I guess a slightly bigger room would have been nice. The hotel also has plenty of car parking, in case you hired a car. There are shops and supermarkets nearby.

We found all the staff that we met friendly and courteous - Some were more experienced than others. They all spoke pretty good English and were helpful when needed. We were promised some maps of the areas when we arrived, but they had run out of printer ink so we never got one.

The food was mediocre at best, which is not what we expect when in Italy. Breakfast was fine with a reasonable spread of continental options. However, evening dinner was disappointing on most nights.

We were really looking forward to some good Italian pasta sauces, stews and local produce - considering we were in the countryside. The only food we enjoyed over the week was the gnocchi, chicken cacitore, pasta in a garlic tomato sauce, pizza and lamb chops - obviously on different nights. The desserts were by far the best. There was also a lack of consistency in portions, not everyone received the same amount and sometimes the food arrived warm, not hot.

We felt the menu was over elaborated (4 courses), maybe a smaller selection of some great pasta, stews, roasted meats and pizza might have been better.

Overall, our stay was comfortable and enjoyable for the price we paid. However, we think they can improve on the food massively and some areas if customer service. Tea and coffee in the rooms would have been great and some organisation and communication on check out day would have been appreciated.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MistryMistry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 November 2016


thank you for reviewing our hotel and your suggestions as they are very important for us!

We are sorry to read that we have to improve food quality but you can trust that we will work on that or better already doing so!
We thank you for choosing la Villa
KInd regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Booked through Fleetway travel on line....This is a hidden gem....not sure if I want to tell everyone about it as want to keep it a secret...Hotel la villa was an old villa before being converted to a hotel and still has many of its old charms. We hired a car as wanted to explore. It is approx 8 mins away from the airport and very easy to find. We fell in love with it the min we walked through the door. The grounds are beautiful and it even has a pool. Good secure parking...near train staion. Our room had its own balcony which overlooked the gardens, t.v, air con and a fridge . Room beautiful, bathroom fabulous, Food to die for, staff fantastic especially our receptionist who was Dutch and speaks perfect English and was a great help when asking about local places festivals etc. We went on my birthday and for our 25th wedding anniversary....as in all hotels you passports are kept and details recorder for a brief period, then returned.....she had realised it was my birthday whilst doing this and after dinner they brought me prosecco and a large pudding to share for two,to wish me a very happy birthday... made my day. A bonus is a free cookery class with the chef which looked great fun, but is optional. We had half board. Breakfast offered everything...cold meats, cheese sausage....hot bacon sausages scrambled & boiled eggs, warm rolls and croissants.....pastries, cereals, yoghurts, fruit...juices and coffee..help yourself to as much as you wanted. Eve meal comprised of 3 courses all home made food and good portions. Cleanliness excellent our room was serviced every day without fail. Loved the staff all friendly, helpful and polite. Yes I would reccommend. It's charm really gets to you.... Thankyou

Room Tip: We didn't ask for the balcony but got it...if you can, request it
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank friendtribe63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews