We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My horrible experience”
Review of Hotel First

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel First
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Calenzano
Reviewed 8 November 2016

I stayed here for one night with my travel group. That's awful that bath towel was used and dirty. Food was not flesh at all in the breakfast. The room and bed were so dirty that some of our mates got itchy skin that we believed were stung by fleas. Never ever stay at this hotel anymore.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank May L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2016

Great hotel for business trip. I've spend two night's with breakfast. Breakfast was very good. Free parking near hotel. Wi-Fi should be better. Typical "motel". Great price to stay for a couple of days. Nothing more.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _admiral1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

I dunno how this is listed as 4 star hotel. Avoid if you can. Pros were good breakfast, easy to catch bus to city center, and decent size room. Cons were poor wifi in room, unfriendly customer service, and dirty pool.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Hinzz786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for three nights with a friend and we received an unfriendly welcome from the reception staff who didn't not give us any information about the hotel and buses, instead we had to find this out for ourselves. One of the day's my friend was ill and the hotel staff were very unhelpful when we asked for some hot water to make tea as there was no kettle in the room. The hotel is extremely far away from the city centre which was a hassle taking an hour and a half bus journey every day, reducing our time to see the city. The swimming pool looked quite dirty at the bottom so we didn't use it. On the last day we requested a wake up call for 7.15am to catch the bus early to get to our next destination, however we did not even receive one at all. Luckily we set alarms on our phones or we would have missed the bus completely, when we confronted the reception staff no apology was offered whatsoever. However, the room was very clean with wifi and air conditioning and the breakfast selection was quite good. Overall we would not stay here again as there were too many problems.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Madeleine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while we were in Florence on honeymoon. The hotel is 25 minutes by train or 45 minutes by bus from the city centre. The train station is about 500m walk from the hotel, but you need to keep an eye on the train schedule otherwise you could wait for a long time for the train. The No 2 bus stops right outside the hotel and takes you to city centre, but keep and eye on the schedule too. It's away from the tourist hotspots, so it's pretty quiet. And there is a shopping centre right next door if you wish to spend your Euro on cheaper gifts, instead of buying in the expensive tourist attractions in the city.

We arrived and the reception staff were extremely unfriendly. They kinda looked scared to help us, but they didn't welcome us or say anything. I just took out our documents, gave it to them and they gave the key, just informing us of the breakfast time and location and room location. Nothing more said. Maybe it was because we were foreigners. We didn't feel welcome at all.

I've read previous reviews of this hotel, and we decided to stay after I attempted to cancel the reservation based on the reviews. But we were pleasantly surprised by the room, the best we had in Italy so far. It's modern and stylish (no tea or coffee facilities) , the bed was perfectly comfortable, the bathroom was clean and neat and had everything we needed, even a toothbrush and razor. They shower door didn't seal though, so water ran all over. They have a stocked bar fridge too if you need a drink or snack. There is air-conditioning but it doesn't work.

If you need to have dinner there, there’s a restaurant at the hotel, the shopping centre next door as well as Burger King not too far away.

Breakfast was great too, and they have a good variety. The coffee was great too.

I would stay here again, but only for the hotel room and not the staff.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calenzano
2.2 km away
Ibis Firenze Prato Est
Ibis Firenze Prato Est
#1 of 10 in Campi Bisenzio
755 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Valmarina
Hotel Valmarina
#5 of 8 in Calenzano
94 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Miro
Hotel Miro
#4 of 8 in Calenzano
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Hotel 500 Firenze
Hotel 500 Firenze
#2 of 10 in Campi Bisenzio
466 reviews
4.5 km away
Hotel Villa Stanley
Hotel Villa Stanley
#3 of 4 in Sesto Fiorentino
340 reviews
8.7 km away
Hotel La Selva
Hotel La Selva
#3 of 8 in Calenzano
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel First? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel First

Address: Via Dino Ciolli 5, 50041, Calenzano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Calenzano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Calenzano
Price Range: $67 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel First 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel First is an elegant and comfortable 4 stars hotel in Calenzano with 127 rooms, internal parking, swimming pool, a great convention center and a restaurant. Hotel First is situated in Dino Ciolli street, 5 in Calenzano, next to motorway exit Calenzano/Sesto Fiorentino and only 1.5 km Firenze Nord exit away. The location allows to reach easily the highway, Designer Outlet of Barberino del Mugello, Florence and Prato city. Hotel First represents the ideal solution for business trip and also leisure travel. Important meeting rooms can seat up to 420 guests, is just 1.5 km from Highway A1 and A11 and 4 km from Firenze-Peretola Airport. The proximity of Designer Outlet of Barberino del Mugello (15 minutes by car) and Old Town of Florence(20 minutes by car) makes it an ideal choice for leisure travel dedicated to shopping or sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel First reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 1st
First Hotel Calenzano
Hotel First Province Of Florence/Calenzano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing