We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“55 Minute Bus Journey into Florence ”
Review of Hotel First

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel First
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Calenzano
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

Ok hotel - perhaps built '70's/80's has been through a facelift or two.... on the cheap- the tiles in our bathroom had been painted-over but now peeling in places, crack in shower tray, hairline crack in washbasin, towel rail only just hanging onto the wall. Breakfast - nothing to get out of bed for, amongst the offerings: a tray of Basic Brand yoghurt (not appealing), diluted concentrate fruit 'juice' (think Ace from Lidel) serve yourself coffee machines & hideous table decoration. On the PLUS side - despite reviews I had read here on TA-
1) the staff were perfectly charming & helpful: booked us a cab, served us poolside (coffee in the morning & Amaretto late in the evening) & kindly placed anti mosquito candles around & about to protect us
2) the pool was spotlessly clean
This hotel MIGHT be a good option if you need to be near the airport....... sadly it is NOT a good option if you wish to be in Florence proper - the no: 2 bus - just 150m frm hotel- has 4 buses an hour only costs €2 BUT took us 55 mins ( hotel told us 20mins on a good day- which may well be 24th Dec!!!)
Unfortunately at 10:30pm we were told bus no longer runs- return to hotel cost us €35 by cab. Return to Florence centre next day cost €55 !!!!
We decided- £ better spent on accommodation actually IN Florence.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank TBJELLYROLL3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2017

On a three night stay, we used this hotel as base while watching the Italy Moto GP. I cannot describe how dirty the room felt, coat hangers sticky, carpet sticky, hole in wall with bare wires, the hair dryer was hanging off the wall and sparked when my wife used it. Towel rails falling off the wall. The staff try but really this place needs pulling down and redeveloped....soon. Cannot comment on the food as we were not going to eat here ever. It has to be said our room was a lot cleaner after the first night and the hotel was fully booked.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CliveCFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

My wife and I spent a week travelling Italy and when we stopped in Florence we stayed here. It was our honeymoon.

We booked the hotel because it was cheap and it meant we weren't expecting much. However, we were pleasantly surprised and even stayed longer than we planned to.

The restaurant and food was really good and the breakfast was particularly good.

My only criticism was that the front desk wasn't always manned and made it difficult to find someone.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jesse M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

I only stayed one night . It's a large hotel with a high number of guests.
Rooms are okay, small and you can hear whatevers going on next door! The breakfast is fairly average.
I wouldn't want to stay here a whole week!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016

I stayed here for one night with my travel group. That's awful that bath towel was used and dirty. Food was not flesh at all in the breakfast. The room and bed were so dirty that some of our mates got itchy skin that we believed were stung by fleas. Never ever stay at this hotel anymore.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank May L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calenzano
0.7 km away
Hotel Valmarina
Hotel Valmarina
#4 of 8 in Calenzano
94 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel 500 Firenze
Hotel 500 Firenze
#2 of 10 in Campi Bisenzio
460 reviews
2.2 km away
Ibis Firenze Prato Est
Ibis Firenze Prato Est
#1 of 10 in Campi Bisenzio
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 km away
Hotel La Selva
Hotel La Selva
#3 of 8 in Calenzano
280 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Miro
Hotel Miro
#5 of 8 in Calenzano
107 reviews
4.8 km away
Ibis Firenze Nord Aeroporto
Ibis Firenze Nord Aeroporto
#1 of 4 in Sesto Fiorentino
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel First? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel First

Address: Via Dino Ciolli 5, 50041, Calenzano, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Calenzano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Calenzano
Price Range: $69 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel First 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel First is an elegant and comfortable 4 stars hotel in Calenzano with 127 rooms, internal parking, swimming pool, a great convention center and a restaurant. Hotel First is situated in Dino Ciolli street, 5 in Calenzano, next to motorway exit Calenzano/Sesto Fiorentino and only 1.5 km Firenze Nord exit away. The location allows to reach easily the highway, Designer Outlet of Barberino del Mugello, Florence and Prato city. Hotel First represents the ideal solution for business trip and also leisure travel. Important meeting rooms can seat up to 420 guests, is just 1.5 km from Highway A1 and A11 and 4 km from Firenze-Peretola Airport. The proximity of Designer Outlet of Barberino del Mugello (15 minutes by car) and Old Town of Florence(20 minutes by car) makes it an ideal choice for leisure travel dedicated to shopping or sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel First reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 1st
First Hotel Calenzano
Hotel First Province Of Florence/Calenzano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing