We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cozy, quiet spot in Chianti”
Review of Rocca di Cispiano

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Castellina In Chianti
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rocca di Cispiano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We enjoyed a week at Rocca di Cispiano. We are a family of 4 (children 7 and 9) and they spent their time swimming in the lovely, clean pool, petting the cats and finding interesting insects. It was peaceful and beautiful with rows and rows of grape vines, happy olive trees and a wonderful view. The location was perfect, short driving distance to many great towns and villages. The nearest town, Castellina, was one of our favorites (the BEST gellato!). The staff were kind, friendly and very helpful. Simone is, I think, the groundskeeper and responsible for the wine making on the estate. He was always there to help us in any way he could. Svetlana, our contact, helped us making reservations for horseback riding and a cooking class at the neighboring estate, Il Cellese.

Rocca di Cispiano is managed by the people who own this neighboring estate, Il Cellese. At Il Cellese (only 400 meters from our place) there is a great restaurant open Mon, Wed. and Fridays. Silvia is the chef - she and her cousin Sergio, run this marvelous place. Recently restored, it mixes old and new in such a cool way - bursts of color in with traditional stone walls and structures.

In the shadow of this great place, Rocca di Cispiano seemed a little rundown and forgotten. We never met the owner and it seemed less well maintained. We had the apartment La Torre. But the bedrooms were lovely - clean and cozy, I felt very comfortable and slept well. The views from the bedrooms where great, just what I had hoped for! Very nice dishes and wine glasses, clean and nice towels, very spacious apartment.

The downside was that the kitchen was difficult to work in, no oven and quite old. The bathroom had a bad shower and was actually not the same as in the photos on the website, it had been modified and is much smaller now with only a shower and no tub. The sitting room was weird with one uncomfortable sofa which sat 3 (while the apartment could sleep 5) and no other sitting chairs. There was a TV, but no batteries in the controller (but we wouldn't have watched TV anyway). I suppose much of this could have been fixed had we complained, but we didn't - it was still very nice, we had a great time, but these few things bugged us a bit.

The wine was amazing!! Any time we wanted more bottles, Simone was able to help us! We spent the sunny afternoons playing in the pool and drinking our lovely wine or walking the grounds.

We really loved our week, would stay for sure again but maybe in a different apartment!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoccadiCispiano, Proprietario at Rocca di Cispiano, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2017

We are really sorry for the incoveniences you found during your holiday and at the same time we are very glad you spent anyway an enjoyable week!
From last year the management is passed to us, the owners...we made a lot of changes, being careful to the details and trying to improve ourselves day by day!
Now, Rocca di Cispiano shines its light and I really hope to have you here again for a wonderful and unforgattable holiday!
Best regards.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2012

absolutely fantastic! Our holiday at the gorgeous rocca di cispiano could not have been better. the calm and isolated paradise provided all we needed - tranquility!.... The accommodation was good and with attention to the small things that make you feel hommy. The view couldn't be surpassed ! If we will come again again on a future trip, we would definitely book in rocca in cispiano again.... see our pictures, and imagine ....untill you'll be there .....:)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itay A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoccadiCispiano, Proprietario at Rocca di Cispiano, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

We are very excited for these wonderful words! Thank you so much!
From last year we changed the management and we have a lot of news for our guests!
We are working hard to improve ourselves every year and we will be really happy to have you here again for another beautiful holiday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The good: I took a risk in booking this property with nearly zero online reviews, what a great decision! The estate is beautiful, views are beautiful (I mean beautiful), right in the middle of all the wine and olio action. The manager Simone was great. Not much English but that added to a wonderful italian experience. Bottle of wine was waiting on us as we arrived. Room was big and clean. Simone provided a great tour and tasting. Pool was immaculate. Simone jumped on every task we gave him. Near a small town that was also great. Full kitchen and fridge, plenty of towels.
Not as good:there were quite a few cats running around, hallway leading to Bella vista smelled like cat urine (not in our room though!), about a half mile of unpaved road leading up to the property, wifi was dodgy, rock walkway by simone's room are very slippery, dogs on a neighboring property barked a lot. How to check in and where to go was not clear, finally another resident told us to knock on the door to Simone's residence. No hot water one morning but fixed in minutes by Simone. Bed was european hard.

All in all we wished we could stay longer and would visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank scottel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoccadiCispiano, Proprietario at Rocca di Cispiano, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2017

Sometimes risking we arrive to new and beautiful things, and I'm really happy you spent a great holiday and thank you so much for the many positive things you said!
From last year the management is changed and we are trying to improve a lot of things.
Now we have 3 new cats, but we can keep them under control!
Wifi is new and it works much better than the last years!
There is a special room for the check in open everyday from 9 am to 20 pm and we try to be always available for any kind of problems, also on our mobile phones!
All the beds are new to ensure our guest an optimal rest!
We'll welcome you gladly again if you would spend another beautiful holiday in Tuscany!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Absolutely fantastic localisation in heart of Tuscany, all the typical tuscan villages, towns and cities at your fingertips.
Friendly, competent, and well informed staff (ciao Simone!) always ready to help, all in all an unforgetable experience. We even resigned from another hotel (already booked) just to stay a week longer in Rocca di Cispiano. Our room (Il Nido), although small, was clean and cosy, with an incredible view on tuscan hills and very big pool. To the the many advantages belongs also the wine produced on site (a bottle of which is a welcoming gift).

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MARTAiJAKUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Isabelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Castellina In Chianti hotels
2.8 km away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
397 reviews
5.0 km away
Castello La Leccia
Castello La Leccia
#1 of 37 in Castellina In Chianti
201 reviews
5.7 km away
Querceto di Castellina
Querceto di Castellina
#5 of 37 in Castellina In Chianti
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Tenuta di Ricavo
Tenuta di Ricavo
#1 of 1 in Ricavo
222 reviews
2.7 km away
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
#3 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
541 reviews
7.9 km away
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocca di Cispiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocca di Cispiano

Address: Loc. Cispiano, 53011, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Castellina In Chianti
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rocca di Cispiano 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Immersed in the green hills of Chianti , 480 meters above sea level , the Rock of Cispiano is an authentic terrace on Tuscany . The ancient village , after a restructuring that has always taken account of the architectural requirements and careful to respect the history and traditions of this land , offering a higher level of receptivity . Each apartment , housed within the historic core , is equipped with every comfort for a pleasant stay . The apartment complex has a large swimming pool with individual equipment for each apartment , features a barbecue for guests and a large car park . You can also bring along pets. The property offers its guests a well-equipped self-service laundry . ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing