We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The almost perfect overnight stay and with a superb kitchen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2017

We were "doing" Chianti and needed a quiet overnight stay - two couples together. We chose Belvedere without any prior knowledge but based on favourable Trip Advisor reviews. The reviews did not do the place justice. The location on a hillside provides stunning views and favourable sun conditions. Bulidings were in traditional rustic Tuscan materials and developed on the basis of an old farm - evidenced for example by the lounge room originally having been a stable - while the dining room had been a pig farm. All developed with elegance and good taste, and kept emaculately. The stunning pool added a perception of luxury, while the garden with an abundance of neatly nursed flowers added this aura of approachable, almost romantic perfection.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice. No noise anywhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lasse36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

We had a great 2 days here. The property is wonderful as was our room. The staff was fantastic. The food was very good and we loved their wine. Just an overall excellent experience! Stay here if you have a a chance.

It is a bit remote, so having transportation would be important.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank goneinaheartbeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

This was our second stay at this wonderful country inn and I would go back in a heartbeat. The setting overlooking the Chianti vineyards is serene, morning or evening. We booked three rooms for a 5-night stay for ourselves and three adult children (all of whom raved about the hotel). Room sizes vary since this is an old building, not a cookie-cutter modern hotel, but all were more than adequate for our needs. The restaurant at the hotel is excellent, with a wide variety of appetizers, pastas, mains and sides, with different specials each day. Their prices for food and wine were very reasonable. We planned to eat at the restaurant on two of our five nights, but by the end of our stay we asked ourselves, "Why would we drive to another place when this is so nice." The swimming pool is a great bonus, especially after a day of touring or wine tasting. The breakfast was quite comprehensive, with scrambled or hard-cooked eggs, bacon, a variety of meats cheeses, fresh homebaked pastries, fruits and cereals. The bar staff was very hospitable and accommodating. The staff was very helpful with directions, recommendations and special requests. We would definitely plan to stay at the Hotel Belvedere di San Leonino on our next trip to Tuscany.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lousav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

I had a wonderful experience at Hotel Belvedere! It is a very special, beautiful villa in the Chianti region. It felt rustic but with wonderful details. The pool was a great retreat after wine tasting during the day and the dinners were delicious with top notch service. A special message for Karim - who was a wonderful, professional, charming server. I would go back in a heartbeat!

Stayed: August 2017
Thank CJSNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

My friends picked this place for us to unwind from a big Europe trip and we weren't disappointed. We loved the outdoor sitting area that allowed us to enjoy our wine, nibbles with an amazing view of the surrounding landscape.

Yes the buildings are old and very country like so you need to be open minded with the shape and size of the rooms. We enjoyed ourselves and had a great time exploring various towns nearby.

Staff were lovely and the restaurant on a summer evening was great.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tasia15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellina In Chianti
6.8 km away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
398 reviews
6.4 km away
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
554 reviews
5.7 km away
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
#4 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12 km away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
708 reviews
10 km away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
581 reviews
9.2 km away
Tenuta di Ricavo
Tenuta di Ricavo
#1 of 1 in Ricavo
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino

Address: Localita San Leonino, 23, 53011, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range: $139 - $356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Belvedere di San Leonino is situated near the 11th century church of the same name and surrounded by vineyards and olive groves, cypress trees and woods. Located in the heart of the Chianti region, the land of the famous Black Rooster wine, it has a splendid 360° panorama stretching from Siena to Monteriggioni, San Gimignano and Volterra over the Elsa valley. Siena is approximately 15 minutes away, Florence and San Gimignano 50 minutes, the Tyrrhenian coast, Lucca and Pisa little more than an hour away. Many of our guests use Belvedere di San Leonino as a base for their daily trips to the coast, and Tuscany and Umbria's historical towns and museums. Others prefer to rest in the quiet and peaceful Tuscan hills here in all their famed beauty. Belvedere di San Leonino offers 29 rooms with authentic furniture in rustic tuscan style, terracotta floors and old beamed ceilings. Each room has a private bathroom, minibar, satellite TV and a dial-out telephone. A beautiful garden, large outdoor swimming pool in a panoramic position and private parking are available to guests. Our staff speaks English, German, French and Dutch. Arrivederci a Belvedere di San Leonino ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Di San Leonino Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing