We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chianti Surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2017

I booked the Hotel Belvedere, a small hotel since 1989, from a booking website, and trusted that what I could see would meet our needs on our Tuscan Vacation. I can honestly say it far exceeded our expectations, both in comfort and service.

A renovated working farm, originally from the 15th century, it has charm, history and comfort aplenty. The food was so wonderful, we actually ate there most of our nights in Chianti - great variety of local dishes, fresh, fresh, fresh, along with outstanding service by all staff at the Hotel, made this a wonderful surprise for us and made our trip that much more fabulous.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have newer renovated baths - good to request if size of shower is important!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIANTIHOTELS, Direttore at Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Dear Sunny S,
Thank you for taking the time to post your impressions of our small Country Hotel Belvedere di San Leonino in detail on tripadvisor.com. Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and you were so satisfied with our services, or food as well as the infrastructure of our house.

We hope the memories of Chianti stay with you for a long time and we hope to meet you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 605 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2017 via mobile

We really loved staying here. The hotel is set in beautiful countryside overlooking vineyards and rolling hills. It has a great pool which was a little cold when we were there but would be great in the Summer months. The quietness of the hotel and grounds was amazingly relaxing. We ate dinner in the hotel a couple of times and the food and service was excellent. They weren't serving lunch when we were there even though a menu was available in the bar. There was only one thing that wasn't to my personal liking and that was the rustic furniture. The wardrobe had a safe inside but the wardrobe was so wobbly it couldn't have been very secure for a determined theif! Despite this the room was clean and the bathroom was absolutely fine for a fussy person like me. Outside we had a table and chairs, 2 sun beds and a couple of deck chairs - enough private seating for anyone.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jack0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIANTIHOTELS, Direttore at Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Dear Jack0810,
We kindly thank you for your wonderful review of Belvedere di San Leonino, which is of extreme importance to us as it is one of the few ways we have to understand if our service and facilities are up to par with the high standards we set for ourselves.
If you loved your stay so much during one of the colder months....immage how it will be in spring and late summer....sipping a glass Chianti wine at the pool with its 360 ° panorama, have the licht lunch on the panoramic terrace and enjoy dinner in our outside garden-restaurant with view on the sunset....could it be more romantic?
From your comment we are not able to see which room You occupied, but for your next stay we reccomend to contact us directly, so we can help you choosing the right room for you!.....so we will be waiting to meet You again in San Leonino!
We are

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

If I could give this wonderful place more than 5 stars, I would do it. Among the rolling Tuscan hills covered with vineyards. The stone building overlooks the vineyards and has a good sized pool and lots of places to sit out and enjoy a cocktail or relax with a good book. Our room was spacious and furnished with antiques. The bathroom was a good size and very clean. The staff were super friendly and welcoming. I wanted a photo printed and they had me e mail it to them and printed the photo for me. The breakfast was tasty and delightful. We had a group dinner one night and it was spectacular. There are lots of options to take walks in the area. The room was peaceful and quiet for a great night's sleep. This place is super special and you should plan an extra day to relax, go on a walk, swim and enjoy the property. Stay here!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHIANTIHOTELS, Direttore at Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Steve S,
Please allow us to heartly thank you for having shared your wonderful thoughts with all of us!
We are truly delighted to learn that you have entirely appreciated your experience at Belvedere di san leonino and it is really a great honor for us to read your amazing comment. We all do our utmost to create memorable experiences for all our dear Guests and please be assured we will share your kind words with the entire Staff.

Thanking you, we sincerely look forward to welcoming you soon back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Great place to stay in Tuscany ! They make you feel like a true guest ... everything was perfect. Beautiful clean large rooms and wonderful views of Tuscany. The food here was delicious . Good location to stay when exploring Chianti , also not far from Sienna.
Loved everything about my stay here

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donnamg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

Very pretty rustic farmhouse setting. Nicely appointed rooms, beautifully located on a hill with incredible panoramic valley views. Nice amenities include a pool, hot tub, winery and restaurant. Staff is very helpful. Rooms are incredibly clean. My only comments for improvement based on their price point: pillows are too firm. Glad we picked this location as our temporary Tuscan home. It felt like that, pretty without pretense. Reasonable buffet breakfast with international clientele.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Robyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castellina In Chianti
6.8 km away
Locanda Le Piazze
Locanda Le Piazze
#1 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
399 reviews
6.4 km away
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
Hotel Colle Etrusco Salivolpi
#2 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
554 reviews
5.7 km away
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
Hotel Palazzo Squarcialupi
#4 of 10 in Castellina In Chianti
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12 km away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
708 reviews
10 km away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
581 reviews
9.2 km away
Tenuta di Ricavo
Tenuta di Ricavo
#1 of 1 in Ricavo
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino

Address: Localita San Leonino, 23, 53011, Castellina In Chianti, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Castellina In Chianti
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
#2 Luxury Hotel in Castellina In Chianti
Price Range: $138 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Belvedere di San Leonino is situated near the 11th century church of the same name and surrounded by vineyards and olive groves, cypress trees and woods. Located in the heart of the Chianti region, the land of the famous Black Rooster wine, it has a splendid 360° panorama stretching from Siena to Monteriggioni, San Gimignano and Volterra over the Elsa valley. Siena is approximately 15 minutes away, Florence and San Gimignano 50 minutes, the Tyrrhenian coast, Lucca and Pisa little more than an hour away. Many of our guests use Belvedere di San Leonino as a base for their daily trips to the coast, and Tuscany and Umbria's historical towns and museums. Others prefer to rest in the quiet and peaceful Tuscan hills here in all their famed beauty. Belvedere di San Leonino offers 29 rooms with authentic furniture in rustic tuscan style, terracotta floors and old beamed ceilings. Each room has a private bathroom, minibar, satellite TV and a dial-out telephone. A beautiful garden, large outdoor swimming pool in a panoramic position and private parking are available to guests. Our staff speaks English, German, French and Dutch. Arrivederci a Belvedere di San Leonino ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Belvedere Di San Leonino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belvedere Di San Leonino Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing