We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family stay in toscany”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Al Giardino degli Etruschi
Ranked #1 of 14 Chiusi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We were looking for a place in toscany were we would find:

- beautiful landscape
- nice and friendly surroundings
- quietness
- time with our children, without city-speed
- Good food , and the chance to cook it ourselves, og to try local supper

We found it all with Carolina & Paulo, at this beautiful b&b.

Though we have to say it was more than a usual b&b, because of the big nice pool, the great beds, and the outstanding surroundings. And both Carolina and Paulo, gave us good advices about where to go on daytrips or where to eat, etc.

Being from Denmark, we missed breakfast with more fruit and healthy bread - but hey, thats italy - and every morning Carolina and Paulo met us with warm smiles and good black coffee.

As other guest have written, the train is a bit of a "downer" the first few times, but we more or less forgot about it, as we enjoyed the pool or local wine on the terrasse.

Oh - and we rented the "apartment", perfect for a family!

We hope to come back one day - and should you ever go there yourself - give our warmest hugs and smiles to Paulo and Carolina - and thank them for the best tomatos ever tasted :-)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2012

Paolo and Carolina gave us a very warm welcome at their B&B. Every detail is thought of, from the homemade cake at breakfast to the very elaborate advice about where to eat. They are very thoughtful. We loved lounging at the big pool and the rooms are decorated in a beautiful old Tuscan style.

A stay at this B&B is an absolute MUST.

Paolo and Carolina, Thanks for the memorable stay!

Sintia& Jeroen

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liefveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Carolina and Paolo are very sweet people, and they have created a pleasant B and B. If you are looking for a spa, or fancy hotel type accommodations, this is not your place. However it is a tranquil and inviting rennovated farm house. Breakfasts are truly Italian, not elaborate, leaving one with an appetite for lunch (this was a plus for us). Paolo and Carolina were very kind to us. They gave us great recommendations, and when they heard we were having car troubles gave us their cell phone and told us to call them if we got stranded and they would come and collect us. They insisted we call them from the road, as they were generally worried about us. They were relieved when we told them we made it to Florence. I think they are very special people, and while the facilities are pleasant (including the geese that welcome you and the friendly nearby falcon), they are the main draw.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirklandboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We wanted a countryside B&B as a base from which to explore both Umbria & Tuscany by car, without having to move. Al Gardino degali Etruschi fitted perfectly. Chiusi itself is an interesting place well placed to get to/away by rail or highway but a car is needed to fully experience the area.
After our first day of driving in Italy & a few unexpected adventures on the way down from Venice we arrived late,stressed & cranky to a genuinely lovely warm welcome from Carolina& Paolo. Right away the vibe kicked in.
One could stay longer here. We should have made an extra day just to relax by the pool or patio or in the lovely old rambling gardens that wrap around the house in a sort of protective way. The renovations have been done properly, adding modern amenity without detracting at all from the gracious look & feel of this fine old Tuscan country home. We loved our comfortable room, its traditional bedcover the shiny terracotta floors, old ceiling beams & dappled morning sun through the oak outside our window.
Carolina & Paolo are great hosts, well connected & knowledgable about special places & restaurant suggestions. We couldnt have asked for any more & our stay at their home was a highlight of our long trip through Italy & France. We wish them all the best with this venture.They are certainly making a fantastic go if it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Purely by accident we found this B and B on "BandB Planet" and made a 2 night reservation. We subsequently changed this to 5 nights and did not regret the decision.
Located about 5 km (3 miles) from the Chuisi train station this Band B is idealy located near the old Hill Town of Chuisi - full of Etruscan history (check out the Museum) as well as the modern "lower town".
It is also ideally located close to (easy driving distances) to many Tuscan Hill a few. The Tuscan landscape is stunning to drive through.
Carolina and Paulo are wonderful hosts.Full of suggestions for day trips and where to eat locally. Both are hard workers and make you feel right at home. Rooms are large, clean and comfortable, and the "great room" is a delightful evening gathering place where hosts and guests can socialise and get to know one another. Our nights there saw a few bottles of local wine and Lemoncello enjoyed by all.
While nestled between a busy highway and a major rail line the facility is amazingl quiet. Even with open windows the quietness is pervasive.
Both Carolina and Paulo are justifiably proud of the surrounding groomed gardens and pool area (closed when we were there in October - no surprise). Lots of seating areas, contemplation nooks and just quiet spots to get away from it all!
Try to get to know Tanguy and Camilla the resident guard geese who will welcome you from their enclosed area near the parking lot!
While "breakfast" is provided be advised that while entirely adequate it is a "light" breakfast. Cereal, milk, yogurt, juice, brewed coffee (warm milk on request) tuscan bread (tuscan bread is baked with no salt and is usually in our experience almost stale no reflection on our hosts) butter jam and jelly.
Every day there is a new "cake" or baking item available. Also they will supply a cheese and meat platter upon request.
Entirely adequate. Just dont anticipate bacon and eggs and lots of warm toast!!
Carolina speaks wonderful English while Paulo in his exuberence manages to communicate as only Italians can!!
We loved every moment of our stay and hope to return.

Room Tip: All rooms are on 1st Floor (2nd for Americans and others not familiar with European floor numbering...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harold70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiusi
3 km away
Il Patriarca
Il Patriarca
#1 of 10 in Chiusi
660 reviews
10.3 km away
Hotel I Due Cigni
Hotel I Due Cigni
#2 of 28 in Montepulciano
810 reviews
2.9 km away
Hotel Rosati
Hotel Rosati
#3 of 10 in Chiusi
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 km away
Agriturismo Casa Fabbrini
Agriturismo Casa Fabbrini
#1 of 7 in San Casciano dei Bagni
280 reviews
2.2 km away
L'Albero di Gameli
L'Albero di Gameli
#2 of 14 in Chiusi
289 reviews
35.4 km away
Casa Portagioia
Casa Portagioia
#1 of 12 in Castiglion Fiorentino
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al Giardino degli Etruschi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al Giardino degli Etruschi

Address: localita Dolcianello,32, 53043, Chiusi, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Chiusi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Chiusi
Price Range: $97 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Al Giardino degli Etruschi" is a lovely bed&breakfast in the tuscan countryside, surrounded by nature but easly reachable from the motorway.Its position makes it an ideal starting point for your visits to the most important art cities but also for a walk through the fields or even for horse and bike rides.We have 5 beautiful rooms all of which are furnished with taste and provided with private bathroom with shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Al Giardino degli Etruschi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing