We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (420)
Filter reviews
420 results
Traveller rating
384
32
0
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
384
32
0
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yogurt cakes butter jam places to visit stayed longer enjoyed our stay carolina goats tuscany
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 420 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Paolo and Carolina gave us a very warm welcome at their B&B. Every detail is thought of, from the homemade cake at breakfast to the very elaborate advice about where to eat. They are very thoughtful. We loved lounging at the big pool and the rooms are decorated in a beautiful old Tuscan style.

A stay at this B&B is an absolute MUST.

Paolo and Carolina, Thanks for the memorable stay!

Sintia& Jeroen

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liefveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Carolina and Paolo are very sweet people, and they have created a pleasant B and B. If you are looking for a spa, or fancy hotel type accommodations, this is not your place. However it is a tranquil and inviting rennovated farm house. Breakfasts are truly Italian, not elaborate, leaving one with an appetite for lunch (this was a plus for us). Paolo and Carolina were very kind to us. They gave us great recommendations, and when they heard we were having car troubles gave us their cell phone and told us to call them if we got stranded and they would come and collect us. They insisted we call them from the road, as they were generally worried about us. They were relieved when we told them we made it to Florence. I think they are very special people, and while the facilities are pleasant (including the geese that welcome you and the friendly nearby falcon), they are the main draw.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirklandboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We wanted a countryside B&B as a base from which to explore both Umbria & Tuscany by car, without having to move. Al Gardino degali Etruschi fitted perfectly. Chiusi itself is an interesting place well placed to get to/away by rail or highway but a car is needed to fully experience the area.
After our first day of driving in Italy & a few unexpected adventures on the way down from Venice we arrived late,stressed & cranky to a genuinely lovely warm welcome from Carolina& Paolo. Right away the vibe kicked in.
One could stay longer here. We should have made an extra day just to relax by the pool or patio or in the lovely old rambling gardens that wrap around the house in a sort of protective way. The renovations have been done properly, adding modern amenity without detracting at all from the gracious look & feel of this fine old Tuscan country home. We loved our comfortable room, its traditional bedcover the shiny terracotta floors, old ceiling beams & dappled morning sun through the oak outside our window.
Carolina & Paolo are great hosts, well connected & knowledgable about special places & restaurant suggestions. We couldnt have asked for any more & our stay at their home was a highlight of our long trip through Italy & France. We wish them all the best with this venture.They are certainly making a fantastic go if it.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Purely by accident we found this B and B on "BandB Planet" and made a 2 night reservation. We subsequently changed this to 5 nights and did not regret the decision.
Located about 5 km (3 miles) from the Chuisi train station this Band B is idealy located near the old Hill Town of Chuisi - full of Etruscan history (check out the Museum) as well as the modern "lower town".
It is also ideally located close to (easy driving distances) to many Tuscan Hill a few. The Tuscan landscape is stunning to drive through.
Carolina and Paulo are wonderful hosts.Full of suggestions for day trips and where to eat locally. Both are hard workers and make you feel right at home. Rooms are large, clean and comfortable, and the "great room" is a delightful evening gathering place where hosts and guests can socialise and get to know one another. Our nights there saw a few bottles of local wine and Lemoncello enjoyed by all.
While nestled between a busy highway and a major rail line the facility is amazingl quiet. Even with open windows the quietness is pervasive.
Both Carolina and Paulo are justifiably proud of the surrounding groomed gardens and pool area (closed when we were there in October - no surprise). Lots of seating areas, contemplation nooks and just quiet spots to get away from it all!
Try to get to know Tanguy and Camilla the resident guard geese who will welcome you from their enclosed area near the parking lot!
While "breakfast" is provided be advised that while entirely adequate it is a "light" breakfast. Cereal, milk, yogurt, juice, brewed coffee (warm milk on request) tuscan bread (tuscan bread is baked with no salt and is usually in our experience almost stale no reflection on our hosts) butter jam and jelly.
Every day there is a new "cake" or baking item available. Also they will supply a cheese and meat platter upon request.
Entirely adequate. Just dont anticipate bacon and eggs and lots of warm toast!!
Carolina speaks wonderful English while Paulo in his exuberence manages to communicate as only Italians can!!
We loved every moment of our stay and hope to return.

Room tip: All rooms are on 1st Floor (2nd for Americans and others not familiar with European floor numbering) but Paulo is ready and able to carry your luggage (within reason) up the centuries old worn steps to your accomodation.
Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harold70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

It was great to see Carolina and Paolo waiting to welcome us on the steps of the house and offer us a great cup of coffee and cake. The rooms were very comfortable and offer a sense of peace and wellbeing. The small gift of local honey and a hand written note in the room made you feel special. Both Carolina and Paolo a special effort to point you in the direction of local places to eat (try the Osteria Da Gagliano) and see. After a great nights sleep you are offered a good breakfast. Try this place if you want to feel special and to relax after a busy day exploring the area.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews