We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay pre cruise”
Review of Sunbay Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunbay Park Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Civitavecchia
Reviewed 12 November 2017

Sunbay Park room 214
Our travel agent booked us into this hotel for 1 night pre cruise
Our room had a balcony that looked out to the marina, and the yacht club to the left
We found this delightful and in the evening it was very picturesque all lit up

The room had a real Italian feel with decor and was rather quaint
The bathroom had a bath and shower and toiletries were provided

We ate lunch at the restaurant - a tasty carbonara for me, and a seafood risotto for my husband , bottle of water and small beer each for €37
The staff were polite, though not as attentive to us as they were to fellow Italians who dined there

The hotel was not very busy, and was very quiet and peaceful

When travelling we always look for different, and embrace the culture of where we visit.
We enjoyed our stay at the Sunbay Park. We don’t get hung up on star ratings and treat this as a guide
Location wise you would need a taxi into the main part of Civitavecchia and there is limited things to do near to hotel
For us it was a winner and served a purpose for 1 night pre cruise

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2017

Surprised that the 4 stars were given to this venue. It can hardly have 2. Worn out, old, renovated poorly. Uncomfortable bed, poorly equipped room. Staff working hard to trying to please. The only nice thing is the view of the sea and a marina in front of the hotel.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Garlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

Quiet, relaxing and beautiful view!
All rooms seem to have a balcony overlooking the marina and Mediterranean. The restaurant had many splendid choices and great service. The seafood bruschetta could win awards...
Definitely caters to a different clientele than your typical American tourist, which added to the charm. The restaurant hours are challenging (closed 3 to 730) and there is not much to walk to outside the grounds. Swim in one of the pools or in the sea or just relax in one of the many pool side chairs available...

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rusty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

This was a one night stay, prior to a cruise.

This was indeed a nice place, the location is splendid, closer to the sea is not possible.

Reception was quick and effective, rooms ready on a late arrival. Breakfast was included, and acceptable. Charming hotel, but old and worn. Nice beds and mattresses.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Bjørn Egil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

This review was suppose to be for Hotel San Giorgio. We had booked a one night stay at Hotel San Giorgio as a pre-cruise hotel due to location near the train station, center of town and port. I checked my email during our layover in Montreal and found that the hotel had electrical and plumbing problems and had cancelled my pre-paid room. They offered two options: a stay at Sunbay Park Hotel or a refund and we could book another hotel on our own. Due to the time constraints of the layover (and a quick check by phone showed that some hotels had no vacancies for when we arrive) I opted for them to book for us. The Sunbay is located far from town. As a hotel, the rooms were a bit worn and could use a remodel. Because it is in a remote location, your dining options are limited. There is a pizza restaurant, snack bar and boutique hotel restaurant a few blocks away but otherwise it would be a long walk along a busy street into town. We took all our meals at the hotel.

The pizza we order at the Sunbay Sea Pizzeria was oven baked. The crust was chewy, hot and delicious. However the toppings disappointed. The pizza was suppose to include clams, squid, octopus, shrimp and mussels. We didn't see or taste any shrimp or squid but overall a tasty lunch. However the beer was not cold and the service was awful. Long wait to order and ordered a gelato after our meal but it never came after a 10 minute wait. We finally got up and paid the waiter rather than try to flag him down.

The pluses, the air conditioning and the dinner. The waitress was friendly and the service in their more formal terrace dining was great. The food was very good to great depending on what we ordered. They do include a free breakfast buffet which had a nice selection of cold dishes and a few hot items.

Overall the location is too out of the way and the service and wi-fi are spotty. Definitely not a good hotel for a pre-cruise stay if you want to explore the town. You can ask for a cab or walk but we chose not to. Also check out was at 11 am but our complimentary shuttle from Hotel San Giorgio to get us to the port didn't arrive until 12:30. Definitely felt that it wasn't an even exchange in the rate we paid for the other hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ty E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Civitavecchia hotels
2.6 km away
Hotel San Giorgio
Hotel San Giorgio
#1 of 10 in Civitavecchia
774 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Borgo del Mare
Hotel Borgo del Mare
#4 of 10 in Civitavecchia
263 reviews
2.8 km away
Hotel Traiano
Hotel Traiano
#3 of 10 in Civitavecchia
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Hotel De La Ville
Hotel De La Ville
#8 of 10 in Civitavecchia
231 reviews
3.6 km away
Hotel Traghetto
Hotel Traghetto
#2 of 10 in Civitavecchia
345 reviews
5.1 km away
Tenuta dell'Argento Resort
Tenuta dell'Argento Resort
#5 of 10 in Civitavecchia
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunbay Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunbay Park Hotel

Address: Via Aurelia Sud Km 67,500, 00053, Civitavecchia, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Civitavecchia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Civitavecchia
Price Range: $103 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunbay Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunbay Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbay Park Civitavecchia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing