We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$165
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
EmpoliHotel(Empoli)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$80
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Il Sole(Empoli)(Great Value!)
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hall(Empoli)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
I Massini(Empoli)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sincresis(Empoli)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
38
10
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
10
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssan gimignanomartintowerpoolsbedroomtraintuscanyaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We spent a very nice time in the top appartment of the tower. The appartment was clean and beautiful an had everything we needed. The garden and the pool are perfect for relaxing and in a typic tuscany style. With the free bikes it took us 10-15 min. to get to empoli station from where there are regulary and cheap train connections to beautiful places like pisa, florence, livorno or viareggio (all reachable within an hour). Overall the place offered very good value for the money. But our host Francesco is the thing that made this experience really unique. He was friendly an polite and gave us precious tipps about where to go and what to do. He even drove us to a restaurant when it was raining and returned our rental car because we left earlier the the office opend! Thank you very much Francesco, you did much more for us then I ever expected.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmpoliVillaSomelli, Manager at Villa Somelli, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013
Google Translation

Siete benvenuti.
Grazie
Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed in one of Villa Somelli's apartments for about ten days. The apartment was for 6-7 people, and quite large, with the exception of the tiny kitchen. It could have done with some more furniture (e.g., some more chairs or a second sofa) and kitchen utensils (e.g., a kettle); overall, though, it was fine. The owners were friendly and helpful. The best reason to stay here is the location - it was very quiet; the surrounding landscape is beautiful (the swimming pool has a great view); and Empoli is centrally located, and hence convenient for day trips to Tuscany's more famous tourist sites. You do need a (rental) car to get here though, or at least bicycles - a one-way taxi trip to Empoli station costs €15.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mriwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We had an excellent holiday, everything was perfect, a very beautiful place, with excellent service. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachelOddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Very beautiful rooms and fantastic country!!! The owner is available to take you for a round in that wonderful country and can gives you advices on the nightlife of the town.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank massimocosimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We've stayed at Villa Somelli two times. First time for three weeks in June/July 2006, and then again in July 2011. The Villa is a very nice and idyllic place. The house itself is beautiful, and the garden with it's pools even more. What makes it stand out, is the very friendly and helpful people who runs it. They will help you with anything you need. We had great help with car hire, shopping opportunities, find nice restaurants, where and when to go sightseeing and so on. They also helped us to organise our wedding we had in the area last summer.
Villa Somelli is ideally placed if you want to take a deep dive into Tuscany. You can reach most places within 30-45 mins by car or train. That includes for instance the Chianti Valley, San Gimignano, Pisa, Florence, Lucca or the seaside resort Tirennia.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
Thank Morten R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews