We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional. A perfect place to be in Tuscany,”
Review of Villa Somelli

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Somelli
Reviewed 21 September 2015

We've stayed at Villa Somelli twice and it is exactly what you would imagine the perfect vacation in Tuscany would be. Breathtaking views of the castle, a vineyard selling wine just a short walk down the country road. Five bedrooms, your own pool for morning swims or evening under the stars. A beautiful garden framing the lovely walk down to the pool. And of course a bottle of wine from the vineyard as the sunset falls. Francesco is a remarkable host, friendly and elegant. We'll return again and again.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RonL40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

We spent a very nice time in the top appartment of the tower. The appartment was clean and beautiful an had everything we needed. The garden and the pool are perfect for relaxing and in a typic tuscany style. With the free bikes it took us 10-15 min. to get to empoli station from where there are regulary and cheap train connections to beautiful places like pisa, florence, livorno or viareggio (all reachable within an hour). Overall the place offered very good value for the money. But our host Francesco is the thing that made this experience really unique. He was friendly an polite and gave us precious tipps about where to go and what to do. He even drove us to a restaurant when it was raining and returned our rental car because we left earlier the the office opend! Thank you very much Francesco, you did much more for us then I ever expected.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmpoliVillaSomelli, Manager at Villa Somelli, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013
Google Translation

Siete benvenuti.
Grazie
Francesco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed in one of Villa Somelli's apartments for about ten days. The apartment was for 6-7 people, and quite large, with the exception of the tiny kitchen. It could have done with some more furniture (e.g., some more chairs or a second sofa) and kitchen utensils (e.g., a kettle); overall, though, it was fine. The owners were friendly and helpful. The best reason to stay here is the location - it was very quiet; the surrounding landscape is beautiful (the swimming pool has a great view); and Empoli is centrally located, and hence convenient for day trips to Tuscany's more famous tourist sites. You do need a (rental) car to get here though, or at least bicycles - a one-way taxi trip to Empoli station costs €15.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mriwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

We had an excellent holiday, everything was perfect, a very beautiful place, with excellent service. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RachelOddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Very beautiful rooms and fantastic country!!! The owner is available to take you for a round in that wonderful country and can gives you advices on the nightlife of the town.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank massimocosimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Empoli hotels
4.7 km away
EmpoliHotel
EmpoliHotel
#2 of 4 in Empoli
166 reviews
2.7 km away
Hotel Il Sole
Hotel Il Sole
#1 of 4 in Empoli
61 reviews
3.6 km away
Sincresis
Sincresis
#4 of 4 in Empoli
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
I Massini
I Massini
#2 of 9 in Empoli
58 reviews
3.9 km away
B&B Boccaccio
B&B Boccaccio
#6 of 9 in Empoli
7 reviews
3.1 km away
Hall
Hall
#1 of 9 in Empoli
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Somelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Somelli

Address: Via Maremmana Secondo Tratto 35, 50053 Empoli, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Empoli
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Empoli
Price Range: $114 - $498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Somelli 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa Somelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing