We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Arathena Rocks Hotel(Giardini Naxos)
US$122
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Athena hotel(Giardini Naxos)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Assinos Palace Hotel(Giardini Naxos)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Diamond Naxos-Taormina(Giardini Naxos)
US$229
US$175
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$222/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

B&B A Casa Di Amici(Giardini Naxos)
US$91
B&B.it
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Atahotel Naxos Beach(Giardini Naxos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
ApartHotel Kalaskiso(Giardini Naxos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Aparthotel Baia di Naxos(Giardini Naxos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Baia Otello(Giardini Naxos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
88
49
9
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
49
9
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssandy beachbus stopmount etnanikecoachsunbeds
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Booked the Kalos but given room in Hotel Nike (adjoining hotel). Lovely sea view, clean with daily change of towels. All staff really friendly especially Dario and Daniela the waiters. Adequate breakfast with choice of pastries, cheese and ham, fruits and eggs. Outdoor area generally well tended but the pool between two hotels is not in use and is a regrettable eyesore. Lovely to swim off the rocks and snorkel. Great views of Etna from some rooms. Nice stroll gets you to main beaches, harbour, good restaurants and cafes. 3 Euros return to Taormina by bus from end of hotel road. Well worth the trip for outstanding views. Hotel Kalos and Nike both serve as a calm oasis and would love to to revisit. Recommend.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank twiggi_cp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016

After reading other reviews I think I am in the minority but staying at the Hotel Kalos was not my idea of a holiday. The hotel definitely needs a complete refurbishment as everything is very worn, dated and patched up. Whilst the bedrooms are very clean we only had one bedside light in a twin bedded room and there was only two drawers so we had to "live out of our suitcases". The pillows were virtually impossible to sleep on and need replacing. One was solid and it felt like trying to sleep a block of concrete and the other had hardly any filling in it at all. We were staying on b & b basis but booked evening meal on two nights. The buffet for the starter course was excellent with plenty of choice of salad and vegetables but the main courses were inedible. I ordered swordfish roulade which turned out to be a slice of bread rolled up with a bit of fish inside. My friend ordered pork and both dishes were only served with a spoonful of carrots. Looked and tasted dreadful.
On the positive side the hotel has a superb location and it if was refurbished to a high standard that would definitely make it the best place to stay in Giardini Naxos. The other positive was the excellent and friendly staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they are the best thing about that hotel. It definitely isn't worth a 3 star rating and would not stay there again.

Stayed: September 2016
Thank Meryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

The Kalos is situated at the Southern end of Giardini Naxos & you should be aware that is now part of the Nike hotel next door and joined to the Kalos because reception is at the Nike. The hotel is on the rocky waterfront & guests can use the pool of the hotel adjacent. The rooms are a good size nice and clean with regular maid service. The breakfast is decent with plenty of choice. Giardini Naxos is close to Tourmina which is an excellent day out with stunning views. Happy to recommend.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Just returned from ten day holiday at the Kalos. I would echo a lot of what Jane R said below - she provides a good summary of the hotel.

For us the location was really wonderful. You could walk into Giardini Naxos itself in ten minutes which was fine for an evening out, although if you wanted to do this during a very hot day, it may seem a bit of a slog, particularly if carrying water. We found a couple of supermarkets - only small ones and one was in a back street by one of the churches. Apart from going in for a cocktail or the supermarket we didn't bother with the beach at Giardini Naxos as we're not sand lovers and preferred the rocky "beach" at the hotel, giving sand free access to the sea (but take beach shoes and not really suitable for small children).

Having hired a car, the location worked well for us to take several trips to Taormina, up Mount Etna, and also to Siracuse. Taormina is well worth a visit, having the spectacular amphitheatre ruins, many posh shops and tremendous views. Mount Etna was extremely interesting - bit hairy driving up there and going up and down on the cable car. Siracuse was also fab - the old town and the archeological park. See separate reviews.

We recommend room 306 at the Kalos - for its incredible balcony that wrapped around the back and side of the hotel. Although not a sea view room officially, we had sea views on two sides plus a spectacular view of Etna. The only thing I would say is that the aircon was a bit fierce and very noisy - like a running bubbling tap all the time and we were cold at night (tried turning up the temp but to no avail). There was a small fridge and a free handy safe. We couldn't get wifi there unfortunately although we could in the restaurant and seating area outside. The hotel was kept extremely clean by the very hard working and friendly staff.

The main guy in the restaurant was also very friendly and they all worked very hard. The food itself was very good, particularly the breakfasts. Something for everyone. We were half board and sometimes had lunch there too and the prices were reasonable.

A great time in a great place!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Judelephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2016

Room and Hotel
Lovely, welcoming staff at this hotel. Don’t know his name, but lovely guy working in the restaurant – from dawn to dusk it seemed to me. Always smiling and friendly.
Very nice room with balcony and sea view and view of Etna to the right. Simply decorated but largish. Lovely clean bathroom with free toiletries (shampoo sachets, hair net and soap). Strong hot shower. Wardrobe with the usual inadequate 7 hangers for 2 people! Large mirror with dressing table and chest of drawers beside each bed. Air con was free and great and there was also a free easy to use safe in the wardrobe. Wifi worked in the rooms and out on the sun beds and was also free. Couldn't fault the room.
Hotel has its own beach, however it's very rocky. There are several places you can lower yourself in to the sea (via metal steps) without killing yourself but there are rocks everywhere from the moment you get in. Loads of good sunbeds (complete with head cover attachment so that you can read without being blinded by the sun), also lots of umbrellas and small tables to put your drinks on. You can use the lovely large pool at the Arathena Rocks Hotel next door (you can easily get there from the beach side from the Kalos Hotel - very short walk and then 3 steps up through a hole that's been made in the wall. However, there are signs everywhere saying that although you can use their pool, you can't use their sun beds - found this a little disappointing.
We were told that the Kalos hotel and the Nike hotel adjoining it are now owned by the same person - believe before that they were separate hotels, though the Nike hotel signs are still up everywhere. There's a large outdoor eating area and a lovely little covered area by the sea where you can carry your breakfast out to.
Meals
Breakfast was good - yoghurts, cereals, free coffee and juices, toast, fried eggs, frankfurters and what looked vaguely like bacon (if you like bacon that looks like it's been boiled). Very large display of cakes, jams, marmalades, fresh bread rolls and loaves of bread, cold meats and cold cheese.
Evening meals were very good - large selection of different salads as a pre-starter. You have to select what you want the next nights from a printed list. There was always a choice of different types of pasta as a starter or soup. Bit of advice, although the soup is listed as a starter choice, it's always out with the salads so you can have it anyway and then choose a pasta starter from the list as well. Mains meals were good - choices of chicken, fish, pork etc. Dessert is a buffet selection where you can go help yourself. Mostly, they were delicious. You order drinks with your meal and then pay for them all when you leave. A couple of times, we went down to dinner about an hour after 7pm when it officially starts and if they've run out of salads etc, then it doesn't seem like they replenish anything. Same for breakfast - if you want your hot frankfurters and bacon, don't leave it too late.
Location
Quiet, dead end road - however you have to walk round the harbour each time you want to go in to town, however, it's quite a nice walk. It's a good ten minute walk in to the town (the town is actually one long road with bars, restaurants, tacky tourist shops, lidos. We found only two places that sold Tobacco, both touristy shops from the outside but they have a big T for tobacco above the shop. Don't go thinking that you can stock up on lots of tobacco before you leave - we tried that and one shop had run out of Golden Virginia altogether and the other one only had 2 pouches left. They sell it in 40g packs as the highest amount - costs 7.80 euros. I believe there is an actual Tobacco shop somewhere but we couldn't find it. You can buy tobacco at the airport from a tiny shop and it costs the same there.
If you turn right out of the hotel, at the end of the road turn right and there's an interbus bus stop. It costs 3 euros return per person to Taormina and you can buy tickets on the bus. Times are a bit limited - in the morning the bus only goes at 9.05, 10.05 and 11.05 and then not again until 1.05. They do run in the afternoon but can't remember those times. There is also a touristy 'City by See' bus that costs 20 euros each for 24 hours and that stops pretty near the Interbus stop. You can get on and off it as much as you like and it goes to Taormina and also Castelmola (divine castle and town above Taormina – you must go there). We didn't bother with this expensive bus option and just used the Interbus service. It drops you off at the bus station in Taormina (takes about 20 - 25 mins) and then you have to walk a short way up to get to the town. From the bus station, you can get hourly buses up to castelmola. Also, from the station, there are lots of regular buses back to Giardini Naxos (at least half hourly) but they terminate at the bus station in Recanati, which is about 1km walk from the port/harbour area where the Kalos hotel is. If you want a bus back to the stop near the Kalos hotel, then these run sporadically from the bus station in Taormina - think it was 1.30, 3.30 5.30 or 7.30.

There only seems to be one supermarket in Giardini Naxos - Deco, where you can buy cheap wine and water etc and it's a bit of a hike back to the hotel if you're carrying litres of water. Couldn't believe that there weren't any other places you could get water nearer. You can buy it at the hotel but it's 2.5 euro for a litre and it's 45 cents for 2 litres at the supermarket.

Room Tip: Sea View is worth it
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews